We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, Failure on Transportation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1031 East Apache Boulevard, Tempe, AZ 85281 (Formerly Tempe University Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
Timbuktu, Mali
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good hotel, Failure on Transportation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed this week at the hotel and found it lived up to the reviews as a nice hotel at a decent price. One of the reasons I stayed here was because of their airport shuttle service. The driver who picked me us Tuesday night was prompt, friendly and knowledgeable. Check-in and the rooms were as to be expected.

However, the following morning I was planning to use their shuttle once again. Upon arriving in the lobby I learned the morning driver was sick and his replacement wouldn't arrive until 12:00 Noon. So, I had to call a cab. Sure, it was only $10 bucks, but I was still perturbed due to the time for the cab to show up. My question is:

1) Why don't you have a better Plan B when an employee is out due to illness?
2) If your Plan B is requiring the guests to call cabs, why don't you take the initiative and see if any cabbies would be willing to wait at the hotel.

Room Tip: Skip the 'free breakfast' and walk a block down to the D'Lish Cafe. Very solid breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Bill L~

Thank you for taking the time to write a reveiw. We enjoy hearing about our guest experiences and use them as training tools. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We appreciate the concern you had about the transporation and were glad that you were able to use it when arriving at the airport.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and hope that you will give us another chance when traveling to Tempe.

Take Care!
Angie Mago
Regional Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
9
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Iowa
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here for three days while visiting Tempe on business. the service was good, the staff was friendly, the rooms were nice. However, there are problems:
1) On Friday night there was noise in the hallway till the wee hours of the night.
2) the internet went out early one evening and wasnt reset until the next morning in spite of calls to their desk and support organization who insisted things were working
3) the AC unit will not run if the outside temperature is lower than the desired setting. This created issues with the room being stuffy on a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Dont stay near the end of the hall where rowdies come in through the back door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Frank H

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We enjoy what our guest have to say and also use the feedback as ways we can improve our service. I will be passing on the issues to our general manager and hope that you will give us another try the next time your travel needs bring you to Tempe.

Take Care!
Angie Mago
Regional Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swarthmore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We booked for the Buffalo Wild Wings Bowl the last weekend in December. Glad we booked well ahead. Great location close to Sun Devil Stadium. Easy to get to everything in Phoenix and also to some family in Chandler, AZ. Flew in from Philly with very late check-in. Desk staff was hospitable and understanding of our timing. Complimentary breakfast was average although their biscuits were pretty good. But if you want a really delicious breakfast head out the door to Scottsdale's Scratch Pastries. Totally french and perfectly filling. Coffee there was magnifique.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side AWAY from the new university construction would be quieter. Contractors started wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
ML B -

Thanks for the feedback. We value what our guest have to say. I am glad you found our property in a great location... Hopefully your team won....

I will make sure and pass along the kind words to our front desk staff.. You did mention breakfast... Did you try the Cinnamon Rolls??

We hope to see you back in Tempe the next time your travels bring you this way.

Take Care!
Angie Mago
Regional Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is located close to the ASU campus and light rail, which made it very convenient to get around. The fitness center, while small, had nice equipment that functioned well. The outdoor pool and hot tub were the perfect temperature, even in January.

The staff, while friendly, was less than attentive at times. When we arrived at 2:40 p.m., the first thing out of the desk agent's mouth was a rather abrupt, "check in isn't until 4 p.m. but I can see if we have any clean rooms." It was as if we were being reprimanded for showing up before the "official" check-in time. Since we were there only 1 hour and 20 minutes before 4, I felt that was uncalled-for. There are more tactful ways to approach that situation, especially since there were clean rooms available. Moot point, so why potentially antagonize the guest for no reason? First impressions can go a long way.

Also, another disappointment was the absence of the signature cinnamon rolls at breakfast. They are wonderful and something I look forward to when staying at Holiday Inn Express. Unfortunately, they seemed to have run out early prior to the next food delivery. The initial staff person that I approached was very matter-of-fact and not apologetic at all. They just seemed poorly prepared, as many of the breakfast items were still being stocked well after guests began arriving for breakfast. Also, while not a huge deal, this property did not provide the evening cookies that many Holiday Inn Express hotels do. Another small touch that was missing that can be a nice end to one's day.

I would probably stay here again because of the convenient location, but I would have lower expectations for service and amenities.

Room Tip: Request the top floor. The building is wood frame construction, so having someone overhead can be v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Jon M -

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We value the feedback as it gives us direction on areas that need improvement.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the location to be convenient. We also now have a shuttle that will take you places if you don't want to ride the light rail and will be starting shuttle service to Sky Harbor very soon.

I am sorry you experienced some issue with the breakfast as this isn't typical service we provide. We do hope that the next time you are in Tempe you will give us another chance.

Take Care!
Angie Mago
Regional Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Within walking distance to the university, also close to several restaurants. I asked them to downgrade me to two queens from a king and it was no problem. My room was immaculate. it looked like a brand new hotel. Shower and sink were clean. Didn't turn on the tv but used internet and had no problem. Lots of towels. Very quiet, very comfortable. The breakfast included hot and cold choices, with juices and coffee/tea. The night manager, Davin, was very professional, friendly and so helpful.He got my a cab arranged for a 5 o'clock departure to the airport. Nice price and value.

Room Tip: Quiet and within walking distance of the university. Stayed on 2nd floor and the elevator was alway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Lis K ~

Thank you so much for your kind words! We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix University Tempe.

We are pretty proud of property as we recently won the 2012 IHG Renoviation award. I will pass along the kind comments about Davin.

You did mention that you had a cab called for you. Well, when you stay with us again if you are in Tempe we now have a complimentary shuttle that will be able to take you to the airport.

Thanks again!
Angie Mago
Regional Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Sky Country
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were upgraded to a King Suite which was a very ample space. The staff was friendly, the bed very comfortable, the room clean and inviting, no issues with the internet. Breakfast was as expected, hot and tasty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Shediver ~

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about our property. We love to hear what our guest have to say about our property. We are glad you found our staff to be friendly. We hope that the next time you are traveling through Tempe you will think of us again.

Take Care!
Angie Mago
Regional Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cordova, California
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Well here we are in Tempe this week, and at another Holiday inn. I have to say I had a wonderful night sleep. We got here in the late afternoon in the heat of the day. Check in went well. got to our room, and it was very nice. We had a King suite, and it was roomy. As I said I had a very good night sleep. The room was cool, and quiet.
My husband had to work, so I had a day planned at the pool with a book. I went down to the pool, it was green. Not good, but that's was ok, I could still go back to the room with my book and read. Then the tv went out. I know I was reading, but I like background noise. It was out for about 1/2 hour then it was all ok.
All in all, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
leahtots ~

Thank you for taking the time to write a reveiw! We love to hear what our guest have to say. We are glad you got a wonderful night and got the sleep you needed. We appreciate the comments you had about the pool as it gives us direction on improvement.

We look forward in having you as a guest in the future.

Take Care!
Angie Mago
Regional Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University

Address: 1031 East Apache Boulevard, Tempe, AZ 85281 (Formerly Tempe University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New in 2012, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe - University is exquisitely designed in modern styling. With convenient access to I-10, we are within walking distance to Arizona State University as well as the popular Mill Street District featuring a wide variety of shopping and restaurants. Guests will appreciate our close proximity to Tempe Town Lake, Tempe Market Street that has some of the well know names all in walking distance and the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport. In addition we are located not to far from many corporate business such as Limelight networks, US Airways headquarters, Microsoft, Rockford Fosgate, Hybrid Designs, Quiktrip Division office, First Solar, and Salt River Project to name a few. Coming to town for Spring training? We are located closely to the ballfields. So the next time you are traveling to Tempe Arizona how about giving the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University a try.We now have a complimentary shuttle that will run our guest to different venues within a certain mile radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tempe Arizonia - Asu Hotel Tempe
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Tempe Arizonia - Asu
Comfort Inn At Asu
Comfort Inn Tempe
Tempe Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.