We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Service, Special Notes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 South Priest Drive, Tempe, AZ 85282 (Formerly Fiesta Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
August Savings in Tempe!
Ranked #11 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Humble, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fine Service, Special Notes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I'm a frequent business traveler and I prefer to stay within the Hilton chains.
I appreciate the level of care and service that all brands within the Hilton family provide.
I stayed at the Doubletree Tempe in July of 2014.

This hotel was fine and very clean. I have no major complaints. I had one issue with my room, wherein the air conditioning was not blowing cold. Service was outstanding, and the issue was remedied by moving me to a different room immediately. We ate breakfast in the restaurant and the food was excellent as is the standard at Doubletree hotels. All in all, a fine experience with no major waves one way or the other.

Some notes that I have about this hotel for those looking to book:

-All of the rooms are outside. You check in at the lobby which has a large sitting area and entrance to the hotel and ballrooms. Then you must walk outside to reach your room. For some, this is not a big deal. When we arrived, it was about 108 degrees farenheit, so going into the lobby, then back outdoors to reach the room was a bit of a surprise, but nothing insurmountable. It is the desert after all.

-There are three levels with stairs everywhere, and it is likely faster to head up stairs rather than wait for the older elevator. The elevator is near the lobby doors, but also outside and small.

-The feel of the hotel overall is sort of a low ceiling, atomic ranch style home. The rooms have been refreshed, but the hotel feels a bit of its age on the whole. It feels sort of stylish and aged all at once.

-The A/C units are loud, but this typically does not bother me personally. Rather, I like the white noise. For some, it might be inconvenient. It may also be that they were just working especially hard in the heat during my stay.

-Location is excellent; about 10 minutes drive from the airport rental car facility, far enough from a highway not to be loud, and about 5-7 minutes drive from the 'Mill Avenue District' next to ASU, where a huge variety of restaurants and bars can be found. The hotel has a free shuttle to Mill Ave as well.

We booked this hotel for location + price when compared to other area Hilton family hotels. I would have no problems returning to this hotel in the future, but it might not be my first choice in the Tempe area purely because of the outside access to the rooms.

Hope this helps anyone out there.

Room Tip: Facing the pool might be a bit loud. There was a large group in the pool when we arrived and they co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    100
    34
    14
    6
See reviews for
46
38
14
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel was great, especially the staff and free coffee in the lobby in the mornings (and those cookies!!!). Only issue we had was how loud the A/C was in our room. Otherwise, great visit. Conference chairs were very comfortable for the 3 days / 8 hours we sat in them. Had an excellent meal in the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We chose this property for it's location. Very clean, standard room. Pool and fitness center is very nice. On property breakfast was expensive, but there is a Denny's across the street. I have stayed here twice and enjoyed both stays.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Doubletree is always a safe bet but this one is great! Great staff and location...great beds. The pool is beautiful and is open until midnight. parking is free and we were only 12 min away from the baseball park. Easy on and off the freeway and the staff was so helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Point, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very well maintained hotel. Excellent service by everyone at the hotel, from the moment that I arrived. The only negative was that the air conditioner was very loud. Large rooms, nice pool area. Good workout room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed 2 nights there... this property should be branded by super8 or another low grade motel. Rooms were very outdated and bathrooms in dire need of upgrades. Air conditioner was very noisy.. Staff was extremely friendly and courteous. Pool was nice but in need of repair, as the cool deck was chipping and popping up everywhere. Beds were new, and very comfortable. overall though i was not thrilled.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Deniese M-thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations. We have review your comments with our engineering staff, as we are constantly striving to improve our guests’ experiences. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Thank you,
Ian Hawthorne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stay here if you want a decent hotel with the BEST staff. This hotel is nice enough. If you stay at Double Tree hotels as often as I do, you will be more than satisfied by the hotel, itself. However, this hotel stands out because of the amazing staff. Honestly, I travel on a weekly basis and the staff at this hotel is amazing. Everyone went above and beyond and made my stay memorable. As much as I travel, that is a hard task.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Annaka W-thank you so much for a perfect five out of five review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Tempe.

Thank you,
Ian Hawthorne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe

Address: 2100 South Priest Drive, Tempe, AZ 85282 (Formerly Fiesta Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Tempe
#10 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate a tradition of warm hospitality and creative service at the recently renovated DoubleTree by Hilton in Tempe. Located near I-10 and minutes from Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport, this spirited hotel puts you near Arizona State University, Mill Avenue, and downtown Tempe. Enjoy the variety of recent enhancements to our guestrooms, lobby area, and restaurant. At this unique Tempe, Arizona hotel, comfort and service come together in an exceptional setting, with Frank Lloyd Wright design-inspired architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiesta Hotel Tempe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.