We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staycation in Sunny Tempe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Buttes, A Marriott Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Buttes, A Marriott Resort to your Saves list
The Buttes, A Marriott Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Westcourt Way, Tempe, AZ 85282 (Formerly Wyndham Buttes Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Staycation in Sunny Tempe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the resort last night. The staff was very helpful and were able to upgrade our room. Please keep an eye for specials on Travelzoo and Hotel Tonight. We had a wonderful buffet on Sunday morning in the Market Cafe. The lobby bar is a great spot for a drink. The resort also has someone playing music by the pool in the afternoons. I understand the feedback from other reviewers, but believe The Buttes is a great value for families.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    273
    107
    45
    38
See reviews for
141
192
40
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Awesome stay! We had a room right next to the pool, my husband and son swam under the moonlight last night. The staff was super nice. I loved the stand up shower and spa feel to the room and shower area. Loved it here, definitely will be our place to stay when traveling from Tx to California.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for the review. Please come and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for a few nights in June for ASU orientation. We were both pleased with the resort's beauty and comfort. Comfy beds, lagoon pools, and nice touches such as coffee stations by the exits in the AM and lemon water & cucumber water in the afternoons. We will surely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your move in experience with us. We welcome new student and families visiting for ASU. Thank you and we look forward to hosting your stay while your child continues their path to success. Thanks! See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Although affordable, the are much better resorts in the area that are better overall. Our room was dirty some black substance all over the bathroom floor, the shower's temperature regulator was broken, so it wouldn't get warm and a power strip and lamp wouldn't work. The pool was barely average, with cigarette butts all over the ground. Nasty! Also, the bathroom near the lobby has mold growing up the wall.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
We are sorry to hear that you stay with us was not to your liking. Your feedback is helpful and we thank you for taking the time to let us know why your stay did not live up to your expectations. We will share this with the appropriate teams to address the areas needing to be addressed. Thank you and again sorry for a disappointing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, California
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The setting is beautiful - that is until you realize evcerything is "that" far away from everything else. It started at the top of the hill when we went to check-in and got yelled at by a valet person because we were supposed to back-in. Duh! Where's the sign? We were greeted at the front desk by someone's youngest brother who was trying to be professional. Aftrer being assured we had a resort view (not a freeway view) room, we drove back down the hill to the North Room Circle and around and around looking for a parking space. Found one only a block or so away (of course, the cost was $10 a day for that privilege). There were no luggage racks so we carried and pulled our luggage to the entry only to find we MUST walk through the under-shelter smoking area to get to the elevators to our room. Cough, cough. We got to the room to find it was on the freeway side. We called the desk and were informed there were no other rooms with a pool view but they would try to find something. After standing there in the middle of the room, exhausted for 20 minutes we decided to cancel the visit and go someplace more welcoming. As we called the front desk, someone arrived with a key to another room but we had already decided to leave. They offered us the sun, the moon, and the stars but it was just too late. We have been staying at Marriott properties for more years than any of the staff there is "years old." We have never left a hotel under the same conditions, ever. That hotel should not bear the Marriott name.

Room Tip: Don't stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
It is truly disappointing to recieve such a review at a property that is as beautiful as ours. The hotel itself is built into and wraps around the mountain. We do our best to service our guests with the best service. We do have teams around to ensure that our guests are well taken care of. This is why we encourage a bellhop to escort you to your room to help with the luggage and find the closest parking to the guest room to prevent such a review. I am sorry we did not do better reading your cues so that we could have responded more appropriately. We really do put a lot of time into looking at what we offer and what we can do to ensure a guest enjoys every bit of the hotel while receiving 5 star service. We can do better and thank you for the feedback. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Wow!!
Just what we needed after our month long trip to the USA.
Following the Sat Nav with only about two hundred yards to go and still on the freeway, I was a little worried - until we turned into the drive - what an Oasis - beautifully manicured gardens with orange blossom and local cacti blooming bright red fruits.
This is one of Marriotts most spectacular properties set into a mountainside - literally - it is carved into it.
Coming after a long drive in the Arizsona heat, the lobby area was a cooling bliss with iced lemon water on hand and water cascading down the front of the rock face inside was mesmorising.
The room was fabulous with views onto the pool. The pool area, well what can I say?? In a word - Paradise - green & lush with mountainside views, plenty of water features and beautifully set out - fabulously designed and obviously by an archetect who is very talented.
I loved the pool service, very attentive waiters with a good menu and reasonably priced cocktails and lunch snacks - they also kept us topped up with free iced lemon water.
Plenty of soft towels at the pool and very comfortable beds with fabulous water misters to keep you cool in the Pheonix heat of 110F.
The Dinner restaurant was ok - typical American "Fine Dining" which we always find a bit too overworked, pricey and twee. The breakfast on the other hand was superb with an omlette / egg station and plenty of choice with fruit cereals bacon sausage etc etc.
We wanted a relaxing few days by the pool with plenty of cocktails and that is exactly what we go - Paradise.
AND........all on points - I DO love Marriott!!!
PSAlthough it was free on points I would gladly pay here though and will DEFINATELY be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for the 5 star review. We appreicate your stay and thank you for sharing how lovely the property is with others to see. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed here about 1 1/2 years ago after we got married. We thought it was wonderful...but perhaps we were a bit star struck.

We came back for a 3-night weekend staycation because we remembered that we really liked it, but ended up not really enjoying it much. I guess the price is pretty good as they are trying to draw people in. The advertised price is $98...which, when you include taxes and parking fees it comes to about $122 per night. OK...so it is a resort, but I didn't find the room to be very resort like. In much less expensive hotels like Super 8 or Best Western, the price of the room includes things like Hot Breakfast, free internet, and free parking...and often times a large bathtub. We ordered room-service breakfast one morning...very expensive. I had eggs benedict...which I thought was terrible. I have only had eggs benedict once before and thought it was marvelous...but that was a long time ago...so maybe they aren't as good as I remembered. My husband ordered scrambled eggs, ham and hashbrowns...he was happy enough...and I must agree his ham was good. We both also has a glass or OJ... So for the two breakfasts and 2 glasses of OJ...we were charged $50. That seems like a lot for a mediocre (at best) breakfast.

Getting past that...we were there to have a quiet, relaxing vacation, but that is not what we got. First of all we were put in a room pool side. Very noisy for at least 12-16 hours a day. Music blaring, people talking...not quite what we had in mind. After a day of that we requested a room change. They were very nice and sent a bellhop to take care of us right away. (That was impressive) We got a room far away from the crowd and felt relief...until the next morning. At 7:30 in the morning the neighbors...checking out I guess, made a lot of noise. Opening and closing their door over and over...They were using the door lock as a stopper so we heard a constant banging against it... I don't know what they were doing, but that door opened and closed hundreds of times. Not to mention the loud laughing and talking of what sounded like at least 6 people in the room. Finally around 11:00 am they checked out never to be heard again. Just about that time the yard crew came in and began their work with their power equipment. By that time I was pretty frustrated. What I really wanted was a quiet weekend with my husband, what I got was anything but. I was ready to check out that day because I figured it would be quieter and more relaxing at home, however, once booked, if you check out early, they still charge you for an extra day anyway. So we stayed the last day. It did get a bit quieter as Sunday is a checkout day...and there were fewer people. We went in to get some Ice Cream from the sundries store...but just couldn't stomach paying $8.50 for a pint of ice cream...so we went to Chili's and enjoyed getting away from the hotel for a while.

The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly...that was a saving grace, but the experience was stressful. If you are wanting a party atmosphere...this might be the place for your next summer staycation. If you are looking for peace and quiet...not so much. Maybe in the fall and winter months when the locals are staying home. All in all...I was very disappointed. We considered some other resorts for our get away, but because we had such good memories of our previous stay, we chose to return. All in all...we were very disappointed.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, definitely request to be far from the pool area. Sundays are good also as the we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time leave such a detailed review. I am sorry that the value of what you are accustom to and the food was not to your liking. We do our best to provide exceptional service and amenities. I can assure you that we will share your comments with the appropriate teams to ensure the items you brought to our attention that need to be addressed are. Again we are sorry for your disappointment in your stay and if you would like to reach out to the property direct to discuss further, we are always available. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Buttes, A Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buttes, A Marriott Resort

Address: 2000 Westcourt Way, Tempe, AZ 85282 (Formerly Wyndham Buttes Resort)
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tempe
#4 Business Hotel in Tempe
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Buttes, A Marriott Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impressive Mountaintop Conference Resort with view of Phoenix & Valley of the Sun located in center of historic Twin Buttes area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Buttes, A Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buttes, a Marriott Hotel Tempe
Marriott Hotel Tempe
Marriott Hotel Buttes
Marriott Tempe
Tempe Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.