We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Diamond in the Rough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Buttes, A Marriott Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Buttes, A Marriott Resort to your Saves list
The Buttes, A Marriott Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Westcourt Way, Tempe, AZ 85282 (Formerly Wyndham Buttes Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Diamond in the Rough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Just returned from a family visit to this beautiful resort. There is a lot to love here: Gorgeous surroundings. Friendly, helpful staff, from the front door, to the front desk, to the restaurants. A nice 'dual' pool. Many hot tubs (although these were not too useful in late June heat). A nice casual restaurant with great inventive food for both breakfast and lunch. A nice more formal restaurant (although in AZ this still means you can wear your golf shirt to dinner) with a great chef and very creative menu.

The location would be great if you're going to Angel's spring training games - their spring training facility is right next door.

So what's missing? Well, a couple of things. First, do NOT be fooled by the term "Junior Suite". These rooms are deluxe rooms - one single room (no separation) that's simply a little larger than a normal room. This 'mis-marketing' was quite disappointing. Second - the property itself does not live up to its potential. It's sad to see such a grande dame resort looking a little shabby. A little investment in refreshing the whole facility would go a long way toward getting this back to 5 Stars.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to recognize the great staff service received during your stay at the Buttes. We are glad you enjoyed the staff and property for the most part. We are continuing to renovate and improve the property. We still have more to go. I am sorry if you felt the studio suite was mis-leading. It is exactly what it is called, a studio room. It is about 2.5 times larger than a normal room and the bed is in the room; however the location and size of room is very accommodating for long term guests or larger parties. These rooms have a huge bathroom and bathtub compared to other rooms as well as seating areas for guests to enjoy. We will revisit how these rooms are marketed and appreciate your feedback. Again we are sorry if you were led to believe the rooms were different and we are happy you enjoyed the service from the Buttes team. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    321
    124
    53
    43
See reviews for
173
227
43
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

While I think it is was more interesting before Marriott acquired it, we mostly enjoyed our stay on memorial day weekend. Food was good but the restaurant closes at 2 pm daily which we thought was odd. Pool menu was decent but limited on the holiday. Rooms were nicely appointed and for the most part quiet in the halls. No life guards and no time limits in the pools so if you have a poolside room, as we did, we heard kids and adults until well after midnight, one night until 3 am.
Much better view but you have the noise to deal with.

Room Tip: we booked 4006 which was a parlor room and much larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing some feedback in regards to your stay in one of our Studio suites. I am sorry that you were bothered by noise from other guests at the pool. I do hope your interactions with the staff were pleasant. With it being so hot out and still light out late we do try to allow guests to use the pool later into the night. We do close the pool at 10pm normally but try to allow guests who are not noisy and behaving the luxury of enjoying the pool later. We should have closed the pool down if it was as noisy as described and for that I apologize. Our Market Cafe does close at 2pm but we still do serve a full menu in the Lobby Bar and Pool area. Dinner is later served at Top of the Rock. Overall we do hope that your stay was serviced well and we thank you for the feedback. We do hope you come again and thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This was the first year my family and I have taken advantage of this beautiful property. While we found the property antiquity suited our needs and expectations, The staff at the front desk and manager on duty Sean did not.

The air in our room went out over night causing it to leak all over our bathroom floor.

The staff never recognized that my husband could have really hurt himself when he sliped on the water from the air conditioner leak or made sure he was okay.
The staff felt a $25 resort would be sufficient compensation for us not being able to shower or use our bathroom for the time while the engineer tried to repaired the air conditioner, the 4 hours we were not able to spend in our room do to the heat, and the front desk blaming us for not recognizing the problem earlier.

While we had a great time at the pool I would be reluctant to book or recommend the property to friends and family because if a problem might arise the staff would be too concerned with losing money out of their pay check, then help make the guest have a satisfactory experience.

Room Tip: Ask for resort side for easy access to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We are truly sorry that your experience with the HVAC in your room was not handled correctly. We do our best to address issues when they are brought to our attention in a timely manner. Normally we would just room move the guest and take care of the situation as to not bother of hinder your stay. However if you would like to stay in the current room it does make it difficult to anticipate how long the repairs will take so that we are not of bother to you. We appreciate your feedback and next time we will do better in diagnosing how long the fix will take as to better assist you, our guest, and we will encourage a move out of that room. Lets face it, in this heat a properly working Air Conditioner in your room is a must. Thank you again for the feedback and I am sorry that you were disappointed in how the desk handled the situation. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My daughter (17) and I stayed one night here and I really enjoyed the grounds and the pool was awesome. I would definitely stay here again!
The gym was a little small but the equipment was top line. They actually have a treadmill where you can pick out the trails from all over the world to play out on HD screen while running-made me run an extra mile to watch the views!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback in regards to your stay here with us at The Buttes. We are glad you and your daghter enjoyed your stay. Come see us again soon for another girls weekend. The pool is absolutely lovely this time of year. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Nice hotel, great views, good pool, satisfactory rooms, excellent location in the southeast valley. good value. The only negatives for me were that the hotel is getting older and the food was mediocre in the main restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Your comments are appreciated and will be shared with the appropriate teams. We hope you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I've stayed here five times - always on business trips - for up to two weeks. This time was for five nights. The hotel is set on a butte, wrapped into the natural landscape of the rocky rise. The staff are outstandingly welcoming and helpful. The rooms are roomy, comfortable and well-appointed. Housekeeping kept it spotless and well supplied with coffee/tea/water supplies. There are two pools set into the rocky landscape to plunge into at the end of a hot day. Friendly waitstaff circulate to provide beverages on the deck. Natural rock outcrops form walls in the public spaces. the bar/lounge commands attractive views out over Phoenix. The breakfast buffet is very good and it is good to be able to trade the Platinum check-in bonus for an upgrade from the continental to full breakfast. I'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for the very kind review. We appreciate your stay with us each time and more importantly your time in sharing your experience for others to see. Your loyalty and Platinum status are truly valuable. Thank you again and we will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

It is a beautiful property built to organically meld into the desert hillside site in Tempe with a lovely layout of 2 connecting lagoon style pools and a handful of hot tubs strategically scattered around the gardens.
There are excellent views from many spots including the enjoyable nature walk to the top of the butte itself.
A plus for Spring Training fans, it is just steps to Angels Stadium.
The miss is the staff. With the very notable exception of Jessica, a wait person at Top of the Rock, their people are less than friendly. In some cases, such as the parking valet, they are even nasty and arrogant. Other fixable problems include the beds, which only so-so and the horrible stiff, overstuffed pillows.
The concierge never seems to be on duty for some reason. The road noise is loud on the outside rooms, so opt for a poolside room, if possible.The food is "off" in both restaurants but a dinner on the patio at Top of the Rock on a warm evening is worth it anyway.
I also miss the little things that have become standard at hotels in this price range like robes, shower caps, and chocolates on the pillows.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback. We will definitely recognize the staff that you mention and we will work on the perception received from the other staff. We strive for excellence and this experience is not the norm when it comes to our guest service. I am truly sorry that some staff did not seem so engaged. We hope you do choose to come stay again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tempe
Tempe Mission Palms
#2 of 47 in Tempe
4.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Graduate Tempe
#5 of 47 in Tempe
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buttes, A Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buttes, A Marriott Resort

Address: 2000 Westcourt Way, Tempe, AZ 85282 (Formerly Wyndham Buttes Resort)
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Tempe
#6 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Buttes, A Marriott Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impressive Mountaintop Conference Resort with view of Phoenix & Valley of the Sun located in center of historic Twin Buttes area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Buttes, A Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buttes, a Marriott Hotel Tempe
Marriott Hotel Tempe
Marriott Hotel Buttes
Marriott Tempe
Tempe Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.