We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Buttes, A Marriott Resort

Save Saved
You added The Buttes, A Marriott Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Buttes, A Marriott Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Westcourt Way, Tempe, AZ 85282 (Formerly Wyndham Buttes Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Tempe
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I had higher expectations for a four star hotel. What does a hotel have to have to get that rating anyway? Apparently not including parking, a refrigerator, drinking water or breakfast.
Most of the staff was friendly and helpful. Though there were exceptions--such as the valet who disdainfully approached my car and then looked at me in disgust when I said I was only quickly running in to ask the front desk a question. Or the front desk person who lied about there being a locked up fridge in the cupboard in the room, "There's nothing in there," she said. "That's not for guest use," when we pointed out that there was a cord and refrigerator coils at the back of the cupboard. Honesty would have been better. It's fine if the fridge was broken or they had discontinued that amenity, but being lied to was not appreciated.
For the price. I expected more than a pretty drive to the front and pool area. Though those were very nice. Especially the pool area. And we loved the drinking water stands at different locations around the property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We would like to apologize for the disconnection of service during your stay. Your feedback is helpful and will be shared with the team to ensure these kinds of behaviors are not repeated. We are very well known for having outstanding service. Should you come back to Tempe and give us another opportunity, please reach out to me as I would like to personally see to it that you stay is phenomenal. Thank you again for the feedback. We can do much better..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    260
    103
    44
    38
See reviews for
139
184
38
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yucaipa, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed one night, had a warm welcome from the girl at the front desk even though it was 12:30am when we finally arrived. The lobby was quite amazing with an indoor waterfall. The indoor hallway to our 1st floor room stunk like an old hotel that used to allow smoking, but once we were in our room it smelled ok. The room was simple and clean. The beds were more comfortable than most hotel beds, but the pillows were super thick, fine for me, but not for the rest of the family. The shower head had GREAT water pressure! We hit the café first thing in the morning and found the prices a little high, so we decided to buy our food a la carte and only pay for what we needed. Next we went down to the pool, it was summer so it was AWFULLY hot, too hot to sit in the shade by the pool, but comfortable in the pool, WHICH IS HUGE!!! They have a more "adult" side, where smoking is allowed and water volleyball and a more "Kid-Friendly" side that is awesome with a waterfall!!! Also, at 11am the water slide is open! The kids and I were very excited for the slide, but kind of disappointed after we slid on it, because it didn't really "slide" you more so had to push yourself down it. All in all the stay was wonderful and at the price we paid I would do it again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your stay at The Buttes. We appreciate your time and hope next time you have a chance to stay more than just one evening with us. The hotel has so much to offer, I know that if you enjoyed the resort in one night that a stay over the weekend will be absolutely relaxing. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon, but for longer.. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for a Saturday night on a Travelzoo voucher. It was a really good deal on the room with a $30 room credit towards whatever we wanted.

Pros: The facility was great. The patio room we stayed in was nice with a large shower. The pool area is really spectacular as long as you don't mind steps. The restaurant had an amazing view and the cafe was nice as well.

Cons: Despite the money we saved with the voucher, it was still ridiculously over priced. The food and drinks did not warrant the price tag (very mediocre), nor did any of the other services. Everything has a charge, including parking an wi-fi access (which was horrible because you had to continually sign in).

Summary: We went here hoping to feel like we got a decent deal and were pampered, but ended up feeling like we were nickle and dimed despite the "deal".

Room Tip: Bring your wallet...you're going to need it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We would like to thank you for providing feedback on your stay here at The Buttes. I am sorry that you found a lack of value during your most recent stay with us. We should have done much better making sure you were aware of all the promotions we have going on throughout the resort every weekend to help staycationers enjoy the hotel at a reasonable rate. We provide "quick bite menus" and Happy Hour in our outlets that both have great menu options all under $10. We have an "optional" Hospitality Fee that lumps parking, internet, and breakfast for $25.00 saving you $44.95 a night. Plus not to mention the $30 resort credit that is included in the travelzoo promotion. I am sorry if these savings and promotions were unknown. We would like for you to come back and see what we have to offer at a very reasonable summer rate. Thanks and we look forward to another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces,NM
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Buttes on July 4th holiday for a short weekend getaway. What I like most about the property is that it feels like you're not in the city but yet you are because of it's solitude.It has a more intimate feel to it. It's proximity to the airport, dining and shopping is a plus. Yes,the hotel is older but that's what create it's own character.It sits on a hill and overlooks the city of Phoenix. Since we are Marriott Platinum Elite members, we were able to avail free breakfast buffet for 2 at the Market Place. Breakfast was good with, sausages, fruits, juices, omelet station,waffles and hash browns. The waiters/waitresses are all wonderful and they ensure you're well taken care of. You can access the main property and market place through their skybridge located on the 5th floor which I thought is cool. The check in was a breeze and the front desk were very accomodating. Our room was located in the 4th floor which is nice and spacious overlooking the pool area. To top that, the beds are sooo comfortable which I enjoyed after a long drive.We can hear people talking and kids screaming from our room during the day but hey,they're having a good time, so we did'nt mind it one bit. The pool closes at 10pm which is great if you're in Phoenix and it has a party/barbecue like atmosphere to it. We checked the exercise area and it has ample equipment to what to what we need. The property also provide ice cold water all over the place to quench your thirst. Overall, we were very satisfied with our stay. I look forward to staying in this property again in the future. I'm adding this to my fav hotel resort list.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
It is a pleasure to hear how wonderful your stay was here in Tempe at The Buttes. We take pride in having the friendliest staff and clean accommodations. We thank you for taking time to share your experience here at our oasis and we look forward to seeing you again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake forest
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I thought I had made a reservation but I didn't click all the buttons. The Buttes staff was great not only did they get us a room they gave us a $50 discount. The property is beautiful and the views are excellent. The rooms are good size. The pools, bars and restaurant were great. Mostly the staff is super nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to get better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to recognize the amazing staff we have here at The Buttes. We take pride in providing the best and we look forward to seeing you again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

A group of us, all getting our own rooms stayed at the Buttes for the weekend to celebrate a few birthdays and Anniversaries in June. Overall, a terrific stay. Just a few blips.
The room was nice, spacious and clean. I had requested a fridge, no down bedding and both were in place. The bathroom area was pretty tight, so that two people trying to shower and get ready were bumping into each other. Very narrow and inconvenient, with closet door in the way and shower in the water closet room... not ideal. Bed was very comfortable and the hotel was mostly quiet. The pools were nice and although crowded didnt feel claustrophobic as the areas are nicely laid out.
My issue if I have one has to be the staff. They were not rude or uncaring, but they didnt seems to be overly officious or helpful. We had some questions about specials in the restaurant (our group would have preferred to stay on site and not leave the resort for dinner) but it seemed no one could answer our question (the restaurant is very pricey). So after deciding to go down to Mill Ave area for dinner, we were hoping that the hotel could provide us with transportation or secure it for us. But everyone we asked gave us a blank look, or said... yeah, no, i don't know, I don't think so... so we had to make our dinner reservations and try to call out own cabs. I later heard from the Hotel asst mgr who said this should have not been an issue, we should have been helped with all of this. The hotel has a car service and the front desk and concierge should have been on top of this when we asked.
For a Resort of this caliber (no resort fees but they charge you for parking, so really, same thing... and they TAX the parking! lol) it just seemed like the service wasn't up to snuff. The staff could have done a lot more to help. We had 7 rooms booked out in their slow season, it would have been nice for our 2 requests to be handled. But we took care of it. I would just suggest all staff refer questions they don't know the answer to, to someone who does. If this is part of their resort experience, the staff should know the offerings. Not just the beer specials at the pool.
Overall, the hotel itself was very nice. But next time I might try Scottsdale :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesnt overlook the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback in regards to your stay. We are glad that you had a great time and very sorry that we were not all on the same page when it comes to information and events going on throughout the property and city wide. We take pride in being experts at what we do and it looks like we feel short of this goal during your stay. I truly am not sure why so many different encounters with the staff left you with the lack of help you needed, this is uncommon. We have shared your comments with the team to ensure it does not happen again and we do hope you choose the Buttes on future stays in Tempe. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, IL
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed here a night on business this summer and enjoyed my stay. The resort is very quiet and feels like you are away from it all in the desert. The staff is very accommodating and the rooms are nice and quiet. There are multiple outdoor connected pools with a water slide. There is an adjacent conference area with large and small rooms and a nice restaurant that is in a separate building which is nice. Parking is free. There are trails that you can hike and a nice workout area. I would stay here again.
Summer rates are very affordable. The airport is fairly close to the airport for easy taxi access.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at The Buttes. We appreciate your 5 star review and look forward to being your choice selection when you visit Tempe. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Buttes, A Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buttes, A Marriott Resort

Address: 2000 Westcourt Way, Tempe, AZ 85282 (Formerly Wyndham Buttes Resort)
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tempe
#5 Business Hotel in Tempe
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Buttes, A Marriott Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impressive Mountaintop Conference Resort with view of Phoenix & Valley of the Sun located in center of historic Twin Buttes area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Buttes, A Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buttes, a Marriott Hotel Tempe
Marriott Hotel Tempe
Marriott Hotel Buttes
Marriott Tempe
Tempe Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.