We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Marriott” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Buttes, A Marriott Resort

Save Saved
You added The Buttes, A Marriott Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Buttes, A Marriott Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Westcourt Way, Tempe, AZ 85282 (Formerly Wyndham Buttes Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #9 of 46 hotels in Tempe
S.F. Bay Area
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unique Marriott”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I wish I would have had more time to explore and utilize this property. To summarize:
Pros:
Huge pool with cool slide/waterfalls
Clean rooms
Comfy beds!
Great service
Great views as built into side of hill
Short hiking trails right behind hotel(didn't get to explore) but will next time!
Free breakfast for Platinum and maybe Gold members as no concierge lounge
Cons:
Long hallways
Market Cafe breakfast was mediocre at best
All previous reviews of no black out curtains are true!! Bright mornings and bright nights with the property lights shining in.
I don't know if this is a con, but not really a lot around as far as shopping/dining. Angel's spring training field very close. Also, close to the airport.

Other than that, I will stay here again but ask for a room closer to the elevators.

Room Tip: Close to elevators and aways from the outside lights(if they know which rooms those are).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review in regards to our Unique property here in the middle of the desert. We take pride in the beauty the property has to offer, surrounded by an amazingly friendly staff and a great team to keep the property clean and beautiful. Thanks again and we hope to see you again. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    339
    259
    103
    42
    38
See reviews for
137
182
38
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Of the many different hotel properties I've stayed at over the years, this represented as one of the more unique. Coming off the highway and the few blocks in between don't give justice to the experience that opens upon driving the winding road up to the hotel lobby.

The property is built into a large rock formation (don't know a better word), and there is a nice bar/cafe near the front reception. While I didn't get a chance to enjoy the pool (s), they provide sweeping views of Phoenix to the North and South depending on which you use. The rooms are clean but pretty spread out, and there is no convenient way to reach your room without a bit of jaunt.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a 5 star review in regards to our unique oasis here in Tempe. We appreciate your stay with us and thank you for sharing your experience with others. We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

we'e been members of Marriott for nearly 30 years and have never before received the level of attention and care we
received when we stayed her in April 2013. And considering one of the nights was a free rewards night, it was even more appreciated. We were able to drive everywhere. The "two" Ambers - one at the reception desk and the other at the
great restaurant - and our bartender made the experience even better. Thanks to them. We will definitely return. Would like free WI-Fi in room.

Room Tip: We asked for a ground floor which was great for convenience to car but entailed more steps to pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave another 5 star review in regards to your stay here at The Buttes. We truly enjoy providing exceptional service for our guests. We look forward to future stays and again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We are very staunch Marriott supporters generally choosing their properties over others so much so that we have invested heavily into 2 Marriott Vacation Club memberships in Asia Pacific and recently in the USA.
Our recent experience at this property has most certainly made us change our mind.
My sister and I had 2 double rooms booked.We both checked in at exactly the same time. One of us was given a breakfast coupon for two while the other got nothing. On querying the discrimination ,the checkin clerk...Matt Ferguson...said and I quote..."stop begging for favors otherwise I will snatch the free one I gave" We asked to speak to the manager to express our protest about this rude,unacceptable behavior and were told that he was the Manager and the supreme authority. Next day my husband once again requested to speak to the senior manager...the second man at the counter...Warren...was worse. He said and I quote again.."If you do not like it here pack your bags and leave"
If this is the kind of staff Marriott puts in their front desk, we would rather look elsewhere for our future needs...thank goodness for the Sheratons and many others.
The hotel had a bad smell in the reception....the very ordinary rooms had a fire evacuation map on the door which did not include the room we had...obviously the management leaves much to be desired. The food served was stale.. poor standard...yet expensive
All in all the worst hotel experience in my 35 years of traveling.

VERY poor show Marriott....not expected from you..are you really choosing the right ones to take you forward or don't you care

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
I would like to personally apologize that this still in an issue from your stay in February this year. We again apologize that a gesture the hotel tried to provide turned into such a nightmare. You are indeed correct, 2 rooms were booked and one of those two rooms had a Marriott Rewards account attached to it. The month you stayed we were running a property specific promotion giving Rewards members (only) a scratch ticket at check in. This ticket would give a guest a chance to win one of three things (free internet, 1 breakfast voucher, or free parking). This was offered to you, a valued rewards member, and you are right, it was not offered to the second room as they were not a rewards member. This was not meant to be discrimination at check in and when the desk agent was accused of racism and then bantered for 4 breakfast vouchers, what was to be a nice gesture turned out to be quit a horrible experience. We have reached out to you repeatedly to explain how sorry we were and how this was a huge misunderstanding. I am sorry still that this is necessary to respond to months later. We do hope that you understand and again we are truly sorry, and have made sure to consider what happened during this experience is better explained to prevent such a horrible misconception to what we were trying to do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Buttes! It was close to the airport, centrally located to everything that we needed, and our 3 days were wonderful. The pool kept my son busy for hours, the slide was great, and the pool volleyball allowed us to meet other fun guests. We were able to sleep in b/c of the quiet rooms, and I love the rolling shades that kept out the sun in the am. The beds were comfy, breakfast buffet was amazing.
The service was great all around and the food was epic.
Grounds were well maintained, the staff helped with opening doors whenever possible, and were all around lovely. Great stay, we will visit again! I will recommend weddings to be hosted here b/c the setting is amazing. We even hiked up the trail and took pics from up there. lovely! Hopefully the remodel will incorporate wifi in the rooms.

Room Tip: Both rooms that we stayed in were great! 2nd and 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for another 5 star rating for The Buttes. We truly enjoy what we do, and we are glad that it has such a positive impact of guests like yourself who choose to stay with us. Thank you again. Your time, loyalty, and feedback and truly valuable and we look forward to servicing you in the future. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The Buttes was an amazing resort and the service impeccable! I can honestly say that I have never had service provided at a higher level. Each and every member of the staff that we met or conversed with treated us with warming smiles and honest intentions to help us in any manner necessary. In our first experience a bartender did not have the drink requested. She ran from the lower cafe bar to the top of the rock bar to get the drink requested. The second experience was a conversation with our server at the top of the rock restaurant. It was more than a customer server discussion. We had some difficulty with finding a local restaurant, and he connected us with another server that he believed would know what we were looking for. It was our favorite local food. The next morning we received a card under the door from the server, stating that he enjoyed our conversation and hope that we had a great stay! I can site three other such unique incidents in a four day stay. I can honestly say that not one staff was contrary. In regards to the facility, it was just awesome. The architecture was amazing as it integrated into the natural landscape. Just beautiful...it was hot in June, but the pool solved that for us... What an experience... Thanks Marriott team!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share how wonderful the staff is here at The Buttes. We take pride in the attention to details the staff expresses during all guest interactions. We do our best to address and assist all our of guest needs. When we personally cant our job is not done until we find someone on the team that can. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel seems very out of date. Pool was packed, the food was nasty and over priced however staff was so friendly.
The girl security officer did an amazing job at making our stay worth while. I wish internet/wifi were free and no parking free.
Black shades are definitely needed in the rooms.
But overall I would stay here recommend this property and stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Suites only
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing us to celebrate your birthday at The Buttes. We love hosting guest celebrations and being a part of the memories created. We appreciate your feedback, and even more your time in sharing how great the staff is here. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Buttes, A Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buttes, A Marriott Resort

Address: 2000 Westcourt Way, Tempe, AZ 85282 (Formerly Wyndham Buttes Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tempe
#6 Business Hotel in Tempe
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Buttes, A Marriott Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impressive Mountaintop Conference Resort with view of Phoenix & Valley of the Sun located in center of historic Twin Buttes area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Buttes, A Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buttes, a Marriott Hotel Tempe
Marriott Hotel Tempe
Marriott Hotel Buttes
Marriott Tempe
Tempe Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.