We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an awesome resort with outstanding service!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Buttes, A Marriott Resort

Save Saved
You added The Buttes, A Marriott Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Buttes, A Marriott Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Westcourt Way, Tempe, AZ 85282 (Formerly Wyndham Buttes Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #7 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What an awesome resort with outstanding service!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The Buttes was an amazing resort and the service impeccable! I can honestly say that I have never had service provided at a higher level. Each and every member of the staff that we met or conversed with treated us with warming smiles and honest intentions to help us in any manner necessary. In our first experience a bartender did not have the drink requested. She ran from the lower cafe bar to the top of the rock bar to get the drink requested. The second experience was a conversation with our server at the top of the rock restaurant. It was more than a customer server discussion. We had some difficulty with finding a local restaurant, and he connected us with another server that he believed would know what we were looking for. It was our favorite local food. The next morning we received a card under the door from the server, stating that he enjoyed our conversation and hope that we had a great stay! I can site three other such unique incidents in a four day stay. I can honestly say that not one staff was contrary. In regards to the facility, it was just awesome. The architecture was amazing as it integrated into the natural landscape. Just beautiful...it was hot in June, but the pool solved that for us... What an experience... Thanks Marriott team!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share how wonderful the staff is here at The Buttes. We take pride in the attention to details the staff expresses during all guest interactions. We do our best to address and assist all our of guest needs. When we personally cant our job is not done until we find someone on the team that can. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    310
    242
    93
    37
    31
See reviews for
123
162
37
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel seems very out of date. Pool was packed, the food was nasty and over priced however staff was so friendly.
The girl security officer did an amazing job at making our stay worth while. I wish internet/wifi were free and no parking free.
Black shades are definitely needed in the rooms.
But overall I would stay here recommend this property and stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Suites only
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing us to celebrate your birthday at The Buttes. We love hosting guest celebrations and being a part of the memories created. We appreciate your feedback, and even more your time in sharing how great the staff is here. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here several times now and still enjoy the beautiful, well maintained grounds - our most recent stay was just after Memorial Day weekend. The staff was extremely friendly and professional from the front desk to the servers by the pool. Some of our servers like Dan, Peter, Kelly and Tzitzua were very attentive to our needs and offered impeccable customer service. Jake, from Engineering, had to make a minor repair in our room - again, very courteous and professional. The front desk team was very warm and welcoming; Cheryl (manager) was very helpful and went out of her way to make sure everything was handled to our satisfaction. The large groups and crowds on the weekends definitely create some challenges for all (guests and staff). The middle of the week was very nice, quiet and the reason we'll go back. I agree with other reviews that the plantation type shutters are less than completely private. I hope these, the patio rooms and the somewhat dated furniture find their way onto the upgrade list before our next visit. Many thanks to the crew at the Buttes!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a raving review about the staff we have here. We do take pride in having the absolute best staff to service our uniquely beautiful property., We appreciate your loyalty and time, and we look forward to many more visits. Thanks again and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed at this property over Memorial weekend with my sisters just for fun. Although this property has been around for quite awhile, I think when Marriott took over they did a great job of updating just enough. While this is by no means a modern or extremely upscale resort, I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms and grounds are well kept. The staff friendly and attentive. A few things in particular impressed me. The fact that there is a very nice pool and a full service spa, but there is no resort fee. So many hotels that are truly not resorts seem to get away with these fees. The breakfast buffet is really a breakfast buffet, not just a few pastries and some cereal and juice (we also received two free breakfast buffets with our room, a big plus). The parking fee is only $10. And at the pool which is actually two pools connected by a little river the non alcoholic beverages were free!! The check in staff was very kind and upon arrival to our room when I found the toilet wasn't flushing properly, a maintenance worker was there promptly and got it working perfectly in less than 5. There are a couple of fun secluded jacuzzi's on the property as well as a water slide. The only problem we encountered was at check out they had charged us $90 for drinks and food by the pool that were not ours. The only thing I can guess is that it was done by the people staying in that room the day before we checked in or someone wrote the wrong room # on the tab. At any rate once the front desk employee could not find any signed proof it was our bill she removed the charges. A little frustrating and that was probably the only unpleasant staff member we encountered on our visit. I am glad we checked out physically or we would have been charged a large bill that wasn't ours. They should be a little more buttoned up when it comes to tracking room charges. Other than that we loved our stay and for the price would return for sure.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor facing the parking lot and although the view was not anything special we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback in regards to your stay. We take pride in having the cleanest hotel with the friendliest staff in the valley. I am sorry there was a billing dispute at check out. We do our best to make sure that the incidentals charged to rooms are accurate and charged correctly. We are thankful you brought this to our attention so that we could fix this out check out. I am sorry if the person that assisted you seamed unpleasant. I am aware of the situation you mention and the agent offered to pull the tickets for you to verify signature, this is just a timely process, so if there are other details that caused your experience to not be pleasant we are open to that feedback. At no time should you feel that any of our associates are not helpful or friendly. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We came here for a long girls weekend and had a great time.
The rooms were average. My biggest complaint about the rooms are they do not have blackout shades. The blinds allow light into the room when the sun comes up which mean an earlier wake up then I would have preferred. The room was clean although the bathroom was a little small.
The fitness center was great. Very clean and offered fruit, water, and cold towels.
The pool was beautiful. Everyone at the pool bar was very friendly and the food was great. On Friday when we were at the pool it was slow so we had to go to the pool bar to place our orders for the most part. The food was good. We went back on Sunday and they were taking poolside drink orders regularly and also handing out water which was a nice touch. The fact that half the pool was smoking seemed excessive especially since this seems like a very family friendly hotel.
The Top of the Rock restaurant had a beautiful view and everyone was nice. We went for happy hour and although the food was good the happy hour prices were still rather pricey.
Overall, our stay here was nice and I would probably stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at The Buttes. We appreciate you spending your "girls weekend" with us. We do appreciate your suggestions and will make note when renovation kicks off. Thank you again and we are thrilled you enjoyed the property. Thanks again and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A great setting. The resort is built into the rock hill, and lends itself to picturesque views from the restaurant. The staff is good. The rooms are very nice, just what one would expect from The Marriott brand. The pool area is inviting, and there are three jacuzzis throughout. My only complaints are that since there isn't a resort fee, the property charges $10 plus tax per day for parking, and the only free wi-fi is in the lobby. I wasn't aware of the parking fee until I arrived, and I normally read the small print whenever I make reservations. Also, our room location faced the rising sun, so at about 6 am, we were suddenly woken up by bright light. The rooms only have plantation shutters with no way to darken the rooms further. The louvers allowed ample light to peek in, which is great if you have no reason to sleep in, rest, and enjoy your vacation.

Room Tip: Request a room where the sunrise doesn't hit your room directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review in regards to your stay at The Buttes. We appreciate your suggestions and feedback in regards to your experience. We do look forward to being your destination spot each time you visit the Phoenix Tempe area. We will be glad to make sure your room faces the inside of the resort to avoid the early morning sunshine from waking you too early. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have been staying at the Buttes for 8 years. I just returned from being there for Memorial Day.
They rented out a large portion of this swank resort to ice hockey teams. The trash was in the pool. It seems the hotel did not have a plan on how to manage this type of group. There was not enough service by the pool.The hockey players drank heavily and spoke of urinating in the pool.
Trash was everywhere and in the pool.
The Buttes holds a special place in my heart. I now know not to stay their on holidays.

Room Tip: Patio room by the pool normally
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
We are truly sorry that the crowd was not to your liking while here over the holiday. We have hosted hockey here over Memorial Day weekend for some time now. We do appreciate the group, but they are indeed different than the average client we host during normal business season. Holidays for resorts like ours, with beautiful pools attract the crowd that likes to celebrate the holiday. We are again very sorry and we do hope that outside the Memorial Day holiday you choose our lovely property. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Buttes, A Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buttes, A Marriott Resort

Also Known As:
The Buttes, a Marriott Hotel
The Buttes, a Marriott Hotel Tempe
Marriott Hotel Tempe
Marriott Hotel Buttes
Buttes Phoenix
Marriott Tempe
Tempe Marriott
Buttes
Address: 2000 Westcourt Way, Tempe, AZ 85282 (Formerly Wyndham Buttes Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Tempe
#4 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Buttes, A Marriott Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impressive Mountaintop Conference Resort with view of Phoenix & Valley of the Sun located in center of historic Twin Buttes area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Buttes, A Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.