We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a beautiful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Buttes, A Marriott Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Buttes, A Marriott Resort to your Saves list
The Buttes, A Marriott Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Westcourt Way, Tempe, AZ 85282 (Formerly Wyndham Buttes Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here several times now and still enjoy the beautiful, well maintained grounds - our most recent stay was just after Memorial Day weekend. The staff was extremely friendly and professional from the front desk to the servers by the pool. Some of our servers like Dan, Peter, Kelly and Tzitzua were very attentive to our needs and offered impeccable customer service. Jake, from Engineering, had to make a minor repair in our room - again, very courteous and professional. The front desk team was very warm and welcoming; Cheryl (manager) was very helpful and went out of her way to make sure everything was handled to our satisfaction. The large groups and crowds on the weekends definitely create some challenges for all (guests and staff). The middle of the week was very nice, quiet and the reason we'll go back. I agree with other reviews that the plantation type shutters are less than completely private. I hope these, the patio rooms and the somewhat dated furniture find their way onto the upgrade list before our next visit. Many thanks to the crew at the Buttes!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a raving review about the staff we have here. We do take pride in having the absolute best staff to service our uniquely beautiful property., We appreciate your loyalty and time, and we look forward to many more visits. Thanks again and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    271
    107
    45
    38
See reviews for
141
192
40
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed at this property over Memorial weekend with my sisters just for fun. Although this property has been around for quite awhile, I think when Marriott took over they did a great job of updating just enough. While this is by no means a modern or extremely upscale resort, I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms and grounds are well kept. The staff friendly and attentive. A few things in particular impressed me. The fact that there is a very nice pool and a full service spa, but there is no resort fee. So many hotels that are truly not resorts seem to get away with these fees. The breakfast buffet is really a breakfast buffet, not just a few pastries and some cereal and juice (we also received two free breakfast buffets with our room, a big plus). The parking fee is only $10. And at the pool which is actually two pools connected by a little river the non alcoholic beverages were free!! The check in staff was very kind and upon arrival to our room when I found the toilet wasn't flushing properly, a maintenance worker was there promptly and got it working perfectly in less than 5. There are a couple of fun secluded jacuzzi's on the property as well as a water slide. The only problem we encountered was at check out they had charged us $90 for drinks and food by the pool that were not ours. The only thing I can guess is that it was done by the people staying in that room the day before we checked in or someone wrote the wrong room # on the tab. At any rate once the front desk employee could not find any signed proof it was our bill she removed the charges. A little frustrating and that was probably the only unpleasant staff member we encountered on our visit. I am glad we checked out physically or we would have been charged a large bill that wasn't ours. They should be a little more buttoned up when it comes to tracking room charges. Other than that we loved our stay and for the price would return for sure.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor facing the parking lot and although the view was not anything special we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback in regards to your stay. We take pride in having the cleanest hotel with the friendliest staff in the valley. I am sorry there was a billing dispute at check out. We do our best to make sure that the incidentals charged to rooms are accurate and charged correctly. We are thankful you brought this to our attention so that we could fix this out check out. I am sorry if the person that assisted you seamed unpleasant. I am aware of the situation you mention and the agent offered to pull the tickets for you to verify signature, this is just a timely process, so if there are other details that caused your experience to not be pleasant we are open to that feedback. At no time should you feel that any of our associates are not helpful or friendly. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We came here for a long girls weekend and had a great time.
The rooms were average. My biggest complaint about the rooms are they do not have blackout shades. The blinds allow light into the room when the sun comes up which mean an earlier wake up then I would have preferred. The room was clean although the bathroom was a little small.
The fitness center was great. Very clean and offered fruit, water, and cold towels.
The pool was beautiful. Everyone at the pool bar was very friendly and the food was great. On Friday when we were at the pool it was slow so we had to go to the pool bar to place our orders for the most part. The food was good. We went back on Sunday and they were taking poolside drink orders regularly and also handing out water which was a nice touch. The fact that half the pool was smoking seemed excessive especially since this seems like a very family friendly hotel.
The Top of the Rock restaurant had a beautiful view and everyone was nice. We went for happy hour and although the food was good the happy hour prices were still rather pricey.
Overall, our stay here was nice and I would probably stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at The Buttes. We appreciate you spending your "girls weekend" with us. We do appreciate your suggestions and will make note when renovation kicks off. Thank you again and we are thrilled you enjoyed the property. Thanks again and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A great setting. The resort is built into the rock hill, and lends itself to picturesque views from the restaurant. The staff is good. The rooms are very nice, just what one would expect from The Marriott brand. The pool area is inviting, and there are three jacuzzis throughout. My only complaints are that since there isn't a resort fee, the property charges $10 plus tax per day for parking, and the only free wi-fi is in the lobby. I wasn't aware of the parking fee until I arrived, and I normally read the small print whenever I make reservations. Also, our room location faced the rising sun, so at about 6 am, we were suddenly woken up by bright light. The rooms only have plantation shutters with no way to darken the rooms further. The louvers allowed ample light to peek in, which is great if you have no reason to sleep in, rest, and enjoy your vacation.

Room Tip: Request a room where the sunrise doesn't hit your room directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review in regards to your stay at The Buttes. We appreciate your suggestions and feedback in regards to your experience. We do look forward to being your destination spot each time you visit the Phoenix Tempe area. We will be glad to make sure your room faces the inside of the resort to avoid the early morning sunshine from waking you too early. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have been staying at the Buttes for 8 years. I just returned from being there for Memorial Day.
They rented out a large portion of this swank resort to ice hockey teams. The trash was in the pool. It seems the hotel did not have a plan on how to manage this type of group. There was not enough service by the pool.The hockey players drank heavily and spoke of urinating in the pool.
Trash was everywhere and in the pool.
The Buttes holds a special place in my heart. I now know not to stay their on holidays.

Room Tip: Patio room by the pool normally
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
We are truly sorry that the crowd was not to your liking while here over the holiday. We have hosted hockey here over Memorial Day weekend for some time now. We do appreciate the group, but they are indeed different than the average client we host during normal business season. Holidays for resorts like ours, with beautiful pools attract the crowd that likes to celebrate the holiday. We are again very sorry and we do hope that outside the Memorial Day holiday you choose our lovely property. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordy272
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Wow! What a great stay! I turned 21 and wanted a relaxing birthday getaway with one of my girlfriends for the weekend. We arrived Friday afternoon and Kent checked us in, what a nice guy. Later that evening he sent up some “beverages” for my birthday (how thoughtful). The entire staff of this place was always smiling and extremely friendly. However, the cooking staff at Top of the Rock Restaurant was outstanding! Gavino went out of his way to make my birthday memorable. He along with Esteban and Darren were wonderful. The filet mignon was delicious. Also Darren made a specialty drink which we named “The Darren” yum! The breakfast in the morning was also very well put together. Kevin the chef on Saturday was welcoming and happy. Amanda our server was very courteous and sweet. Overall my experience was a wonderful one. I can’t wait to come back and enjoy another fabulous weekend! Stay here if you are looking for a relaxing getaway.

Room Tip: My room was 2124 which had a cute balcony and was close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave another 5 star review in regards to your stay here at The Buttes. We truly enjoy providing exceptional service for our guests. We look forward to future stays and again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Setting stunning, bedrooms stunning, pool stunning, staff..out of this world, the gym had more than enough for me...and the weather..is heaven. All in all this is a fantastic hotel...the food outside of the restaurant is limited but still great. You also have a smoking and non smoking side of the pool which is a great idea. They have a mist spray around the bar area at the pool to cool you down and on Saturday and Sunday they had live music at the pool too. The music was not heavy it was just a guy with a guitar and he was real good. Location wise not far from the airport, shopping, restaurants...all in all great place you will not be disappionted. Oh how can I forget yoga on a saturday and sunday morning at the pool from 8 til 9 and the spa...all good.

Room Tip: I had a room facing out back which was fine although I could hear the traffic slightly so ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at our little oasis. We take pride in having a great staff and beautiful location. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Buttes, A Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buttes, A Marriott Resort

Address: 2000 Westcourt Way, Tempe, AZ 85282 (Formerly Wyndham Buttes Resort)
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tempe
#4 Family Hotel in Tempe
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Buttes, A Marriott Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impressive Mountaintop Conference Resort with view of Phoenix & Valley of the Sun located in center of historic Twin Buttes area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Buttes, A Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buttes, a Marriott Hotel Tempe
Marriott Hotel Tempe
Marriott Hotel Buttes
Marriott Tempe
Tempe Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buttes, A Marriott Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.