We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Tempe area!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tempe Mission Palms

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tempe Mission Palms to your Saves list
Tempe Mission Palms
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 E Fifth St, Tempe, AZ 85281   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
MIchigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best place in Tempe area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2007

This hotel is one of the nicest in the ASU/Tempe area. We have stayed her a number of times while visitin our college student. The hotel is close to MIll street and eating and shopping areas. It is within walking distance to many area and university events including track, football and basketball. The staff are very helpful and polite. The shuttle to the airport is efficient. The pool is the best in the area as it is private and has large chaise lounges and umbrellas, a cafe right there for food and drinks. There are beautiful plants and courtyards, and fountains surrounding the resort. I would highly recommend the resort when staying in the Tempe area.

  • Liked — The pool area and the buffets!
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    188
    26
    20
    11
See reviews for
98
107
48
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2007

We booked here for location, since we wanted to be able to walk to shops and restaurants along Mill Avenue. The beds were very comfortable and the air conditioning worked great. Very courteous staff helped with everything. One thing I found humorous was the same person served us drinks at the pool in the day, brought our room service close to midnight, and room service again early the next morning. He was a great guy.

Clean, friendly and comfortable. All that we were looking for.

Only minor ticks against;

Renovations are underway, but they do a great job of keeping it from being a distraction - its just that you can see the temporary barriers and paint overspray protection.

Also, if you aren't aware, it is in the flight path of Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport, so if your windows are open, you will hear the planes. Otherwise, the rooms have been sufficiently sound-proofed, and the planes don't fly from midnight to 6.

  • Liked — Location on Mill Ave
  • Disliked — Flight Path
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, TX
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

Spent 4 nights here in the middle of the summer and had absolutely no problems. Our room did not face the beautiful courtyard, but instead we had a view out at the butte next door and the swimming pool. Transportation from the airport on the free shuttle was no problem. It took them less than 10 minutes to pick us up after we called.

Location is nearly right on Mill Avenue with all of its shops and places to eat. Was surprised to find quite a few homeless there though. Just a few blocks to ASU and Sun Devil stadium.

Check-in was fast and friendly. The room was clean and the A/C worked great. Bathroom is kinda small, but more than adequate. The towels are large and soft!! Beds extremely comfortable. Wireless internet worked fine. TV was disappointing, on the small side and very few channels.

Had room service one night. Fast and efficient, but the food was only so-so. Pretty nice gift shop for a hotel this size. For a change, the vending machines on each floor worked! Pool area is relaxing and attractive with a snack bar, but it's not as large as it looks on the web site.

I would not hesitate to stay here again if I'm in Tempe.

  • Liked — Nice rooms, friendly staff
  • Disliked — TV
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2007

Was here for a conference in July and this hotel was great. The service was top notch, from the helpful staff in the business center to the security manager who personally knocked at my door to say I'd left my rental car lights on and then offered to go turn them off for me (it was pouring rain at the time, at night!) The setting is pretty with palm trees and sw stule---close to the hub of Mill Av. and mear ASU, airport close (but not all that airport noisy), a great pool, good sized rooms and decent wi fi access. Easy parking---included! THAT is a rarity these days! All in all, a nice spot and a pleasure to stay.

  • Liked — The business center
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2007

This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel, and both times it was great. The rooms are clean. The staff is very attentive and the location is perfect for visiting ASU and Mill Ave. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2007

I stayed for three nights. The stay was wonderful. The room, bed, and bath were all fine. There were no problems. I like the location. The people were very helpful. No problems at all.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

This is the 3rd time I have stayed at this hotel , and again, not a good experience. I specifically asked for a room in a quiet location but was given a room around the corner from a bar across the street. I was unable to sleep or even watch tv due to the excessive noise from the obnoxious bar patrons -- the foul language was unbelievable-- this is not a family friendly hotel as the surrounding neighborhood is very noisy at night (lots of drunken people, DJs blasting music till 2am).

You're better off staying at the Fairmont Princess Resort. It has some class and you can sleep in peace and quiet.

  • Liked — not far from airport, free shuttle
  • Disliked — hotel is located in a VERY noisy surrounding neighborhood
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tempe Mission Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tempe Mission Palms

Address: 60 E Fifth St, Tempe, AZ 85281
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#1 Business Hotel in Tempe
#2 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tempe Mission Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Tempe Mission Palms, located in the Mill Avenue District of Downtown Tempe and only 4.5 Miles East of Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport. Guests of the hotel can choose from our guestroom and suite accommodations , with elegant interiors designed to reflect the sprawling rose-colored deserts of the Phoenix, Arizona area. Featuring a variety of comfortable amenities and plush furnishings, our guestrooms and suites can accommodate couples, larger families and business travelers. RESTAURANTS & DINING: Serving our guests and the local community, our in-house Mission Grille serves traditional American and international cuisine. Diners can relax in the restaurant's elegant atmosphere and savor from a selection of artfully prepared dishes. The Mission Grille's regional cuisine gives our guests a taste of the special Southwestern fare iconic of the area, while Harry's Lounge is the meeting spot for enjoying cocktails and beers with friends and colleagues. TEMPE, PHOENIX & SCOTTSDALE ATTRACTIONS: Tempe's dry, sun-drenched days create the perfect environment for lounging on the terrace of our heated, roof-top pool, relaxing in a bubbling whirlpool or maintaining your exercise regime in our fitness center. Or take a break from the sun and head into the nearby downtown Tempe area or take a short drive to Phoenix or Scottsdale, dotted with shopping, restaurants, culture and special events. Our hotel Concierge can assist you in reserving a spa treatment, tee time or tickets for a local sporting event. •4 Miles from Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport•5 Miles from Scottsdale, Arizona•7 Miles from Phoenix, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tempe Mission Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel Tempe
Mission Palms Hotel Tempe
Mission Palms Tempe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tempe Mission Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.