We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tempe Mission Palms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tempe Mission Palms to your Saves list
Tempe Mission Palms
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 E Fifth St, Tempe, AZ 85281   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
Sleepy Eye, Minnesota
1 review
“Very Nice Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

It was a very nice hotel. The place was very clean, and my room was cleaned well, and the food was excellent in Harry's Place and the Mission Grille. Also the conference rooms were also very nice, and the snack bar that we had available to us for breakfast and snack throughout the day had many choices, lots of good food and drinks. I also used the pool and that was very well taken care of. I really have only good thingss to say about my stay.

Room Tip: The 4th floor was very quiet and I did not notice any outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TempeMissionP, General Manager at Tempe Mission Palms, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear MaryAnn,
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at Tempe Mission Palms. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed our facilities for your conference. We look forward to your next stay with us when your travel brings you back to Tempe.
Ken McKenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    186
    26
    20
    11
See reviews for
98
107
48
296
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I liked this hotel. Free Drink upon check in - Great location, expensive parking and somewhat stylish rooms. Looks like a converted hotel though. I'd say this is more of a business hotel than anything, but If I came back to Tempe (not sure why) I'd stay here

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I had to attend a two day conference at Tempe Mission Palms, so I decided to stay the night. I wished I could have stayed longer! I had an awesome room, great food and the front desk staff were awesome.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This place is amazing. Pool and fitness on the roof, beautiful courtyard, great food and reasonably priced drinks at the bar. The location is a definite plus. Right at Mill Ave. but yet never heard a noise at night. The location is a bonus, but the hotel sets itself apart from the rest. The hotel itself is great, but the employees are beyond awesome. I was there for a business trip and I never needed to google anything. The employees were always eager to help. They drove me places and explained anywhere I wanted to walk to. I never opened a door for myself. They were so polite and always had smiles on their faces. I love this place and I will definitely be back the next time I have business in Tempe or Phoenix!

Room Tip: The pool and fitness center is 2nd floor. If you can get 2nd floor, poolside it would be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TempeMissionP, General Manager at Tempe Mission Palms, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Mindi M,
Thank you for recommending Tempe Mission Palms on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your recognition of our hard working staff, and we were happy to hear that you were treated so well. We are looking forward to your next stay with us when you come back to the Phoenix/Tempe area - business or vacation!
Ken McKenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

This place was very nice, ppl were great, room service burgers were amazing, room was perfect (central AC) with a comfy bed and a nice size tv, shower was good and being 65ft from Mill Ave was a perk for sure, will be staying here again soon :) I also saw many family's enjoying thr roof top pool and resturant, so all in all, a great place to stay for all :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlstad, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Quite frequently go to Tempe to visit ASU. Mission Palms is very conveniently located and you don't need a car to get around. Given this I would recommend to stay at the hotel. The rooms are nice but some locations in the hotel can be quite noisy. If you can ask for a room high up and if possible towards the mountain side. Also, years of wear and tear does show; it can use a face lift. Breakfasts are nice and the bar is also OK.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TempeMissionP, General Manager at Tempe Mission Palms, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Anders_Gu,
Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay at Tempe Mission Palms. We were happy that you enjoyed our convenient location, and we thank you for recommending our hotel. You will be glad to know that we continually renovate our property each year, and we are sure you will appreciate the changes you see during your next visit. Thanks again for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.
Ken McKenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The only reason I give it a 2 is because they removed the "resort fee" from my hotel bill. This hotel was quite awful. When I walked in, there was a musty smell that permeated the lobby. It felt like I was breathing recycled air from an airplane. My room was large, but it was in great need of an overhaul. I went to the hotel restaurant to eat dinner- there were 3 people in the restaurant- I ordered one thing on the menu. I waited for 45 minutes before a server even asked if I was doing okay. i waited another 15 minutes for my meal. I'm not a picky eater, but this was completely inedible. I took 2 bites and gave up. They offered to bring me another meal, but at this point it was 10pm... so I declined. It was clear there was MAYBE 1 person working in the kitchen.

The walls were paper thin. When I arrived in my room, I heard kids wailing next door. They didn't want to go to bed (I could hear everything going on). Then, at about 3am I was jolted out of bed by very loud noises in the hall. Next I heard security, then I heard more noises in the hall. I could not believe how thin the walls were. I am a very heavy sleeper... so this was a surprise.

The bathrooms are nothing to write home about and the beds were average.

Additionally, there was a napkin shoved into my peephole in my room. it was an unusually large peephole, but the napkin was a weird touch.

For all the folks that say this place is amazing.. I'm really truly wondering if we stayed at the same hotel. I've stayed at AMAZING places in the Phoenix area.. some of my favorite hotels are there- so I was very surprised to hear this is considered a great hotel.


The only pro is that it's an ideal location if your are visiting/working ASU.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TempeMissionP, General Manager at Tempe Mission Palms, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Jessica 2830,
Thank you for your honest feedback about your recent stay here at Tempe Mission Palms. I want to take this opportunity to apologize and communicate that we are taking actions to eliminate the problems you mentioned.

It is our goal to provide every guest with the highest level of quality service and hospitality. We would like to assure you that your undisturbed sleeping comfort is of the utmost importance to us. I can assure you that after reading your comments, we will do our best to make the necessary adjustments to ensure that neither yourself, nor any other guest will encounter the same experience.

I know that does not change your experience but I hope that you can feel confident that we heard your concern and are definitely doing something about it. Thank you again for your review.
Ken McKenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tempe Mission Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tempe Mission Palms

Address: 60 E Fifth St, Tempe, AZ 85281
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tempe
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#2 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tempe Mission Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Tempe Mission Palms, located in the Mill Avenue District of Downtown Tempe and only 4.5 Miles East of Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport. Guests of the hotel can choose from our guestroom and suite accommodations , with elegant interiors designed to reflect the sprawling rose-colored deserts of the Phoenix, Arizona area. Featuring a variety of comfortable amenities and plush furnishings, our guestrooms and suites can accommodate couples, larger families and business travelers. RESTAURANTS & DINING: Serving our guests and the local community, our in-house Mission Grille serves traditional American and international cuisine. Diners can relax in the restaurant's elegant atmosphere and savor from a selection of artfully prepared dishes. The Mission Grille's regional cuisine gives our guests a taste of the special Southwestern fare iconic of the area, while Harry's Lounge is the meeting spot for enjoying cocktails and beers with friends and colleagues. TEMPE, PHOENIX & SCOTTSDALE ATTRACTIONS: Tempe's dry, sun-drenched days create the perfect environment for lounging on the terrace of our heated, roof-top pool, relaxing in a bubbling whirlpool or maintaining your exercise regime in our fitness center. Or take a break from the sun and head into the nearby downtown Tempe area or take a short drive to Phoenix or Scottsdale, dotted with shopping, restaurants, culture and special events. Our hotel Concierge can assist you in reserving a spa treatment, tee time or tickets for a local sporting event. •4 Miles from Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport•5 Miles from Scottsdale, Arizona•7 Miles from Phoenix, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tempe Mission Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel Tempe
Mission Palms Hotel Tempe
Mission Palms Tempe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tempe Mission Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.