We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Broc goes to ASU” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tempe Mission Palms

Save Saved
You added Tempe Mission Palms to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tempe Mission Palms
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 E Fifth St, Tempe, AZ 85281   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Kent, Washington
2 reviews
“Broc goes to ASU”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I booked this on the internet because it was close to my son's school and apartment.. I was very impressed with the service I received from the moment I drove up to the hotel to having a glass of wine at the pool. Everyone was very friendly and happy to assist when needed. I have recommended this hotel to many friends and family.

Room Tip: Had a beautiful view of the garden area. Highly recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TempeMissionP, General Manager at Tempe Mission Palms, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear beachgirll81,
Thank you staying with us when you visited your son in Tempe. We appreciate your recommendation of Tempe Mission Palms to your family & friends, and look forward to your return visits (we will be sure to have that glass of wine ready for you by the pool).
Ken McKenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    365
    164
    25
    20
    10
See reviews for
83
95
46
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I lived in The Valley for 20 plus years and were ASU season ticket holders. We always said how nice it would be to stay at this hotel and just stroll back from the stadium. Now living out of Arizona we finally did just that... Staff are amazing! Cheers to the valets who really set the tone for what you experience will be at this hotel. You can also take free shuttle from airport or light rail which can take you from hotel to any downtown event... Great hike up A Mountain right behind that gives great views, short walk to Tempe Beach Park, so many restaurants and bars. A few blocks walk to CVS where you can also get beer, wine, liquor, food, etc... 5 minute drive to Phoenix Zoo, Papago Park (awesome rock formations and former site of WWII prisoner camp), Phoenix Botanical Gardens). Room 2006 puts you right above outdoor bar, a bit noisy after a game. Lobby lovely as is inner courtyard. This is THE place to stay in Tempe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TempeMissionP, General Manager at Tempe Mission Palms, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Mary P.,
Thank you for staying with us when you returned to Tempe for the ASU football game. We were glad to hear that enjoyed our convenient location, and thank you for recognizing our hard-working staff. We hope you make it back to Tempe again soon, and stay with us again to cheer on your favorite team.
Ken McKenzie
Tempe Mission Palms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a football game weekend because its very close to the Sun Devil Stadium and close to Mill Ave. restaurants. The hotel is beautiful and our room was big and well-appointed. All of the staff were very friendly and efficient. The pool and spa were very nice. We would stay here again. Our one problem was that we booked the room 9 months in advance and requested a quiet room away from the elevator. We were given a handicapped room next to the elevator! We weren't told at check-in. The room, 2056, was difficult since you had to squat or bend over to use things. It was noisy on a Sat. night when people returned from the game and in the morning when they were checking out. We were given an adjustment to our bill since this was a problem with the reservation dept. who ignored our request. Definitely a great place to stay in Tempe.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have stayed twice at the Tempe MIssion Palms, and look forward to many more visits. The hotel is across the street from the Arizona State University Tempe campus, making it very convenient for our visits with son who is a student at ASU. The rooms are clean and comfortable, but nothing special. However, the service is outstanding! A special shout out to Karl the concierge who makes each of us feel like a VIP! We high recommend this hotel, and look forward to seeing you at the pool!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TempeMissionP, General Manager at Tempe Mission Palms, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Amy S,
Thank you for your recent review of Tempe Mission Palms on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your recognition of our super star concierge, Karl. We look forward to hosting your family when you visit your son at ASU - go Sun Devils!
Ken McKenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Loved the location, the rooms, just about everything in this hotel. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, the location is very convenient to restaurants and shopping and it is an short distance from the airport. Was disappointed the main restaurant was not open during our stay, but that wouldn't deter me from staying at this wonderful hotel in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Once again the Tempe Mission palms was a joy to stay at. The wonderful Courtyard, lobby and staff never fail to please. The location is ideal for walking throughout the Tempe area, climbing the "A", enjoying the riverfront or hanging by the roof top pool watching the 747's roll in over the butte. Price is more than reasonable for the quality room and wonderfully understated charm of this oasis in the city-perfect for anyone visiting the area and particularly ASU.

Room Tip: ask for courtyard view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Tempe Mission Palms is an oasis in the desert. I stay here every year during a conference and always make use of the facility. The rooms are great, especially a corner room that you could literally put your whole family into and still have extra room. The restaurant provides a good selection of food with a few local specialties. The Bar is warm and cozy, and they make a very good Moscow Mule!!! The location is key. Right in the heart of Tempe, this location is close to great shopping, restaurants, bars and ASU.

Room Tip: Go for a corner room, a little more expensive, but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TempeMissionP, General Manager at Tempe Mission Palms, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Mgruen,
Thank you for staying at Tempe Mission Palms, and coming back for your annual conference. The Moscow Mule is indeed a treat at Harry's Place, and we were glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for posting your review, and we look forward to seeing you again next year!
Ken McKenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tempe Mission Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tempe Mission Palms

Address: 60 E Fifth St, Tempe, AZ 85281
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#1 Business Hotel in Tempe
#2 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tempe Mission Palms 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Tempe Mission Palms, located in the Mill Avenue District of Downtown Tempe and only 4.5 Miles East of Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport. Guests of the hotel can choose from our guestroom and suite accommodations , with elegant interiors designed to reflect the sprawling rose-colored deserts of the Phoenix, Arizona area. Featuring a variety of comfortable amenities and plush furnishings, our guestrooms and suites can accommodate couples, larger families and business travelers. RESTAURANTS & DINING: Serving our guests and the local community, our in-house Mission Grille serves traditional American and international cuisine. Diners can relax in the restaurant's elegant atmosphere and savor from a selection of artfully prepared dishes. The Mission Grille's regional cuisine gives our guests a taste of the special Southwestern fare iconic of the area, while Harry's Lounge is the meeting spot for enjoying cocktails and beers with friends and colleagues. TEMPE, PHOENIX & SCOTTSDALE ATTRACTIONS: Tempe's dry, sun-drenched days create the perfect environment for lounging on the terrace of our heated, roof-top pool, relaxing in a bubbling whirlpool or maintaining your exercise regime in our fitness center. Or take a break from the sun and head into the nearby downtown Tempe area or take a short drive to Phoenix or Scottsdale, dotted with shopping, restaurants, culture and special events. Our hotel Concierge can assist you in reserving a spa treatment, tee time or tickets for a local sporting event. •4 Miles from Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport•5 Miles from Scottsdale, Arizona•7 Miles from Phoenix, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Tempe Mission Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel Tempe
Mission Palms Hotel Tempe
Mission Palms Tempe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tempe Mission Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.