We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and courtyard put it a step above average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tempe Mission Palms

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Priceline.com
and 6 more sites!
Tempe Mission Palms
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 E Fifth St, Tempe, AZ 85281   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Fremont, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Location and courtyard put it a step above average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This would be just an average hotel, but the location, service, and courtyard elevate it a step above average:
Pluses:
- Close to Phoenix airport but not too close
- Close to light rail
- Close to Phoenix Municipal Stadium for spring training games
- Shopping and restaurants within walking distance
- Hiking in Hayden Buttes Preserve accessible from the parking lot
- The courtyard is planted with orange trees--they smell fantastic and the scent permeates the entire lobby
- Room was very clean and the carpet was in excellent shape
- The staff was very friendly and helpful
- Our room was very quiet--no noise from our neighbors or from the St. Patrick's Day celebration on the street (although we were not in a street-facing room, so this also probably minimized the noise).
- Nice common areas to hang out in. The courtyard was lovely with flowering vines, the orange trees, a firepit, and a fountain. Also, a nice patio area upstairs near the pool with planters filled with succulents.

A few negatives:
- It is nice that the fitness center looks out onto the patio area behind the pool, but it seems a little small for a hotel of this size. Also the equipment was a little subpar--the treadmills definitely need an upgrade.
- No-slip adhesives in bathtub--hate those things, they always look disgusting
- The hotel is showing a little wear, the hallways smelled a little musty, the lobby is starting to look a little worn, paint in bathroom could use some touch-ups
- The parking situation was annoying. The hotel has self-parking but it seemed complicated and they discouraged using it, instead encouraging us to use the valet parking. The valets were very quick and there wasn't a charge for it, the only problem was that you have to tip the valets (which the front desk was careful to mention to us when we checked in). It would have been one thing if we could have just tipped once at the end of our trip, but there doesn't seem to be any provision for this--we had to tip every time we picked up our car. This meant we needed to maintain an endless supply of $1 bills (an inconvenience) and with leaving and returning several times a day for various activities, at $2-$3 a pop, the tips start to add up. There is a resort fee, it would have been nice if this fee covered tips for the valet.

Room Tip: Reserve a room facing inward into the courtyard. You'll have a nice view, windows that open, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TempeMissionP, Alison Brooks, Social Media Coordinator at Tempe Mission Palms, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Tempe Mission Palms. We were glad that you found our staff, common areas, rooms, and location to be pleasing, and that you were able to enjoy the quiet guest room as well. We will be sure to pass along your comments to all appropriate departments, as we do appreciate your honest feedback. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to have you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    339
    145
    24
    19
    9
See reviews for
79
88
43
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Been here a few times, its not the king of opulence or anything but it sure has great functionality for a big conference. Staff is plenty nice, room is nice and spacious though not stylish, great food stations around the courtyard and decent food in Harrys Bar. Breakfast bar is pretty good too. The pool is great and as an overall experience a very good one.

Room Tip: Away from the courtyard if you are there for a convention.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Excellent hotel. Hike the hill right behind it for a great view of Tempe and Phoenix. Great ambiance with the interior courtyard. Brunch was great. Best dried fruit selection by the oatmeal and yogurt of all time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TempeMissionP, Alison Brooks, Social Media Coordinator at Tempe Mission Palms, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Tempe Mission Palms. We were glad that you spent some time in our courtyard and enjoyed the brunch. "A Mountain" is definitely a favorite recreational experience of our guests, for both exercise and a great view of the Valley. We look forward to you staying with us again next time you are in Tempe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in late March while the orange trees were blooming. The rooms are decent. There is a good fitness area - free weights, cable system, mats, bike and tread mills. Pool area and patio as well. Restaurant food and wine was good. The area is full of places to eat all within until 10 minute walk. Starbucks is 1 block away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We booked our last two nights at the Tempe Mission Palms because we would not have a car during this part of our trip. We were very impressed with the TMP website and TA reviews. In addition, we liked that it was close to the light rail, ASU, lots of restaurants and had an airport shuttle. While it lived up to our expectations for all of that...it just, well, seemed like a hotel in need of a major update. The price (even with the Spring special) and overall quality of the experience did not match.
First impression: We arrived to some chaos at the valet parking area. There really isn't a lot of room in the drop off area with people arriving, dropping off, checking inn and the valet station guys seemed a bit understaffed. They were running all over trying to get cars moved, luggage moved, etc... Maybe we just arrived at a busy time. Check-in was fast and efficient and people were generally nice, but it didn't really seem genuine.
Room: Our room was spacious and quiet and I think had been recently redecorated. And yet...it just seemed tired. Paint was chipping, the lining on the bottom of the chair was coming off, a bedside light didn't work...The silk-like covering on the pillows has to go. The silk coverings might look nice, but.... Wi-fi worked fine -- but really, a "resort" fee to pay for it. Even the cheapest hotels we have stayed in offer free wi-fi (and free airport shuttles). We had a coffee maker, nice bathroom soap/shampoo and a small refrigerator. We arrived back at our room around 3 pm one afternoon and it was just being serviced.
Other: We did not use the pool or any other onsite amenities. We did use the airport shuttle. The ride was short.
Bottom line: The location is good but that does not justify the price. We are certain that the Phoenix/Tempe area offers hotels with better amenities for a lower price and you can drive to Mills St area if you want. There is just something missing...it is hard to pinpoint exactly what...but we always just had a "blah" feeling about the hotel. Nothing stood out as being really bad -- but nothing stood out as being really good either. We would not stay again as we cringed when we saw our receipt thinking how we just didn't really get what we had paid for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TempeMissionP, Alison Brooks, Social Media Coordinator at Tempe Mission Palms, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for posting a review about Tempe Mission Palms on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your honest feedback, and will use it to further improve our guest experience. We will be sure to pass along your comments to our front desk, valet, and housekeeping departments. Thank you again for posting your review, and we hope that you will give us another try next time you are visiting Tempe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a great location! My son had a college tour of ASU over Spring Break and this was the perfect location. We could walk to all of the restaurants and store on Mill. We enjoyed a day at the hotel pool. Walked to a concert and the ASU tour. We also walked up A mountain which was great excerise. The landscaping on the grounds at the hotel was beautiful and the staff at the hotels was very friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

While it really doesn't have to do with the accomodations, I need to start by saying this hotel had the best meeting food I've had in a long time. It was truly delicious. Whether it was a sandwich buffet, or a mexican meal the food was very, very good. I did not eat in the restaurant, these were meals catered to our meeting. I can still taste the fabulous tamales. But, I digress. Back to the hotel. Our servers were very courteous, helpful and anticipated requests.

The rooms were clean and pleasant with a lovely southwestern decor. There were plenty of plugs (a pet peeve) and lots of lighting. During the time I was there, the orange trees in the courtyard were blooming, creating a lovely fragrance that traveled into the lobby area. I would stay again at this hotel, had I business taking me to Tempe because in addtion to being nice, it is in a very good location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TempeMissionP, Alison Brooks, Social Media Coordinator at Tempe Mission Palms, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for posting such a kind review about Tempe Mission Palms. We were so happy to hear that you enjoyed the food during your meetings, as well as our guest room and courtyard. The orange trees this time of year are definitely an added bonus! We look forward to having you stay with us, and enjoy more tamales on your next visit to Tempe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tempe Mission Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tempe Mission Palms

Also Known As:
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel Tempe
Mission Palms Hotel Tempe
Mission Palms Tempe
Mission Palms Hotel
Address: 60 E Fifth St, Tempe, AZ 85281
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tempe
#1 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tempe Mission Palms 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Tempe Mission Palms, located in the Mill Avenue District of Downtown Tempe and only 4.5 Miles East of Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport. Guests of the hotel can choose from our guestroom and suite accommodations , with elegant interiors designed to reflect the sprawling rose-colored deserts of the Phoenix, Arizona area. Featuring a variety of comfortable amenities and plush furnishings, our guestrooms and suites can accommodate couples, larger families and business travelers. RESTAURANTS & DINING: Serving our guests and the local community, our in-house Mission Grille serves traditional American and international cuisine. Diners can relax in the restaurant's elegant atmosphere and savor from a selection of artfully prepared dishes. The Mission Grille's regional cuisine gives our guests a taste of the special Southwestern fare iconic of the area, while Harry's Lounge is the meeting spot for enjoying cocktails and beers with friends and colleagues. TEMPE, PHOENIX & SCOTTSDALE ATTRACTIONS: Tempe's dry, sun-drenched days create the perfect environment for lounging on the terrace of our heated, roof-top pool, relaxing in a bubbling whirlpool or maintaining your exercise regime in our fitness center. Or take a break from the sun and head into the nearby downtown Tempe area or take a short drive to Phoenix or Scottsdale, dotted with shopping, restaurants, culture and special events. Our hotel Concierge can assist you in reserving a spa treatment, tee time or tickets for a local sporting event. •4 Miles from Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport•5 Miles from Scottsdale, Arizona•7 Miles from Phoenix, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Tempe Mission Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tempe Mission Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tempe Mission Palms to your Saves list