We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Meeting Facility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tempe Mission Palms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tempe Mission Palms to your Saves list
Tempe Mission Palms
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 E Fifth St, Tempe, AZ 85281   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
“Great Hotel and Meeting Facility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Hotel was extremely nice and was close to many nice restaurants and shops. The meeting facilities, including lunch and the snack hut, were great. The staff was extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Courtyard view rooms can be noisy (jazz playing for events) but usually settles down around 12am eac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    187
    26
    20
    11
See reviews for
98
107
48
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We booked this hotel for one night when we were in Arizona. We wanted something fairly inexpensive but nice enough to enjoy for the day (we were flying out the next day). We absolutely lucked out with this hotel. Beautiful accommodations (the photos on the website are very representative), gorgeous pool, well-appointed work out room. The hotel is very modern and VERY clean. Plus, the parking and WiFi are free. As others have said, it's a fabulous location within an easy walking distance of pubs, restaurants and more. Book with confidence. This hotel is a jewel!

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard view; We did and it was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We arrived late and only stayed for one night so I didn't get a chance to go to the pool or experience what Tempe had to offer. The hotel is very close to the airport which was a bonus for us but noise from the planes could be an issue. I stayed here before 10 years ago and it looks like the lobby and the Mission Grille haven't changed and could do with an update. I liked my room, it was clean and modern and had a view over the courtyard. I didn't experience any noise although Tempe was very busy late into the night. I thought the breakfast buffet was good with a wide choice and the serving staff were polite and attentive. I would definitely stay again. My only issue was the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Summary:
This is a beautiful hotel with an awesome location in the heart of Tempe. The atmosphere here is really top notch, and I loved sitting outside for breakfast in the morning, and a drink (or 2+) at night. There are also a ton of restaurants and pubs around this hotel, all within easy walking distance. Just keep in mind that Tempe is a college town.

Pros:
- Location
- Overall hotel comfort and atmosphere (outdoor courtyard is neat!)
- Pool (a necessity in the AZ summer!)
- Tempe is a college-driven party town! (let loose!)

Cons:
- May pay a little more.
- Tempe is a college-driven party town… (college kids get old…)

I've stayed here a few times, and at different times of the year, and always enjoy my time! Consistent service, consistent experience!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Mission Palms is the perfect location for enjoying the restaurants on Mill Street and a football game at Sun Devil Stadium. We took the complimentary shuttle from the airport to the hotel and walked to restaurants and the game - no rental car needed! The staff was 100% friendly and helpful. The pool was relaxing and you can order food and drinks right to your pool-side chair. Our room was clean and well-kept. We occasionally heard other people in the hall or a door shutting, but overall it was fairly quiet. No complaints! Great stay at a great location!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southwest
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed here for 10 days in the "heat" of the summer. This hotel is right off of Mill Avenue where you'll find tons of restaurants and shopping. Overral the service was mediocre but with the location being what it is I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed for a conference. The service was excellent, the staff were friendly, helpful, and went out of their way to be of service to us. It was a delightful experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tempe Mission Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tempe Mission Palms

Address: 60 E Fifth St, Tempe, AZ 85281
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#1 Business Hotel in Tempe
#2 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tempe Mission Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Tempe Mission Palms, located in the Mill Avenue District of Downtown Tempe and only 4.5 Miles East of Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport. Guests of the hotel can choose from our guestroom and suite accommodations , with elegant interiors designed to reflect the sprawling rose-colored deserts of the Phoenix, Arizona area. Featuring a variety of comfortable amenities and plush furnishings, our guestrooms and suites can accommodate couples, larger families and business travelers. RESTAURANTS & DINING: Serving our guests and the local community, our in-house Mission Grille serves traditional American and international cuisine. Diners can relax in the restaurant's elegant atmosphere and savor from a selection of artfully prepared dishes. The Mission Grille's regional cuisine gives our guests a taste of the special Southwestern fare iconic of the area, while Harry's Lounge is the meeting spot for enjoying cocktails and beers with friends and colleagues. TEMPE, PHOENIX & SCOTTSDALE ATTRACTIONS: Tempe's dry, sun-drenched days create the perfect environment for lounging on the terrace of our heated, roof-top pool, relaxing in a bubbling whirlpool or maintaining your exercise regime in our fitness center. Or take a break from the sun and head into the nearby downtown Tempe area or take a short drive to Phoenix or Scottsdale, dotted with shopping, restaurants, culture and special events. Our hotel Concierge can assist you in reserving a spa treatment, tee time or tickets for a local sporting event. •4 Miles from Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport•5 Miles from Scottsdale, Arizona•7 Miles from Phoenix, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tempe Mission Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tempe Mission Palms Hotel Tempe
Mission Palms Hotel Tempe
Mission Palms Tempe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tempe Mission Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.