We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dirty hotel with terrible management” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Suites Tempe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Suites Tempe to your Saves list
Quality Suites Tempe
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1635 North Scottsdale Road, Tempe, AZ 85281 (Formerly Executive Suites Extended Stay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #34 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
Fontana, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“dirty hotel with terrible management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

we stayed at this hotel on our baseball spring training trip in Mar. 2013. It was the worst experience we have ever had. The hotel is old, outdated and very dirty. The owner is rude and could care-less if his guests are happy or not. They over-booked and tried to put 6 of us in a king bed/sofa sleeper room. Finally a very nice female manager (wish I could remember her name) came to the desk and ended up finding a 2 double bed room for us. My brothers room was very dirty with stains on the wall (which he swore was blood). We will never stay here again! I would highly advise everyone to stay away, then maybe the owner will invest some money to clean up & update the hotel. I really wish I had taken some pictures.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    21
    16
    17
    20
See reviews for
21
24
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

It’s a nice enough place. The rooms may be in need of a refurbishment, but they’re comfortable and certainly large enough. It’s definitely good value for money. There may not be any nice restaurants or bars within walking distance, but you’ll need a car anyways to get around. The action around Mill Avenue is only a 5min drive away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua Kona, Hi
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Grumpy man at desk when checking in. Rooms were dirty, furniture was falling apart, wallpaper peeling from walls, windows dirty, wi-fi was almost non-existant. Free coffee in lobby tasted at least 1 day old. Only good thing about this place was leaving.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here because of its central location, but it wasn't great. They charged for the breakfast, which was a typical hotel buffet. The bathtub/shower had black mold. And even though we had a non-smoking room, there were smokers right outside our door sitting on the patio smoking. Smokers need to be elsewhere from the guest rooms. It was nice to have 2 rooms--suite, but overall it wasn't great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer, WI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel was OK, clean enough and staff was friendly overall. But the room keys did not work well! We always had difficulty getting into our rooms even after we requested new key cards. The staff was nice enough to offer various "tips" for getting the keys to work, "pull the door toward you alittle, try putting the key in faster or slower". But none of these tips worked consistently. Several guests appeared to be having the same problem. Breakfast cost $3.50 per day for the same breakfast of plain scrambled eggs, little sausages and the usual array of breads and cereals you'd get with a free breakfast. Orange juice was really Tang. Housekeeping was adequate except that they did not consistenly clean the coffee pots and change the bag for ice. Not sure I'd repeat a stay here, but it was an inexpensive place to stay on the free trolley line. Took about 40 minutes on the trolley to get to Old Town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Where to begin. I travel a lot. This should be removed from Choice Hotels/Choice Privileges.
Wifi is non existent. Housekeeping non existent. Breakfast free everywhere else is an expense here for what is a continental breakfast (ripoff). Go to the Waffle House or Sunny's Diner. The shower curtain is bathing with you literally in the tub with you collecting mold. Nasty !
If you eat there the selection is buffet Indian food GROSS !
Needless to say I will never return here.

Room Tip: Get a room somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

THIS IS A PRE PAY HOTEL!!! This was not listed anywhere when we booked, so buyer beware! If you have any issues, too bad, they already have your money.

Centrally located, older hotel, but clean, carpet was OK, had one section of stain, not a big deal. Small pool and hot tub, fully wheel chair accessible if you need it. Good shower pressure, and a comfortable bed. The lamp shade in the living room was burnt almost 360 degrees around. One of the lamps in the bedroom did not work. and the garbage truck woke us up at 4:30 am 4 out of 5 days. The place was quiet except the garbage truck.

Has laundry facilities, and BBQs for the use of the hotel patrons.

I would have given it a better review except for the 6 dollar per night hidden fee. One fee was a 3 dollar occupancy tax. I would like to know what you think I am doing if not occupying the room and the second was a 3 dollar safe fee. I didn't want or need a safe, so to me this was a nickle and dime deal. For the petty costs they are charging I would have expected a better lamp shade. And does room service not even care enough to maybe say Umm, I should get this replaced? Breakfast was not free like the site said when we booked either.

I said average for room service and the restaurant as I never used them.

Staff was friendly, yes, but this hotel was way over priced. I may have felt better if it was not for the extra 30 bucks I was charged, that I had not accounted for. The manager was less than apolgetic for the extra costs. And it was not like I could have just walked away. Everywhere was booked.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Suites Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Tempe

Address: 1635 North Scottsdale Road, Tempe, AZ 85281 (Formerly Executive Suites Extended Stay)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Suites Tempe 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Suites hotel is conveniently located, offering easy access to many nearby landmarks and attractions. This hotel is just 1 mile from Arizona State University, home of Sun Devil Stadium, Frank Kush Field, Wells Fargo Arena and ASU Gammage performing arts venue. The ASU Karsten Golf Course offers 18 challenging holes for golfers of all skill levels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Suites Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites Tempe Hotel Tempe
Quality Inn Tempe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Suites Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.