We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 South 52nd Street, Tempe, AZ 85281   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #28 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Valencia, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Adequate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We've been coming her for several years for Spring training. We are Starwood members and used points to get a room on the club level. This gives us the benefit of accessing the club lounge. The lounge offers free breakfast, limited snacks and drinks throughout the day, and free appetizers. Compared to other Sheraton this club lounge was jut average. I think they could do better, especially the food offerings for appetizer hour.
The rooms were clean, and up to standard.
The pool was okay. They need to go through and clean up more often. On one visit, they had no towels available.
There is no poolside bar service. However the bar/restaurant is fairly close to the pool. The food menu was limited. I couldn't just get fries for my little girl, I had to get a whole meal and they were mostly spicy offerings. There are so many kids why not offer a kid friendly menu?
Parking is easy.
The location is close to several ballparks. Great vacation!

Room Tip: Club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    114
    80
    28
    23
See reviews for
64
90
59
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Truro, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is our third stay here and it is not what it used to be. The facility needs updating, if you have a room overlooking the pool (half the rooms do), the noise level is horrendous. The staff seems unable to control the noise level of guests throughout the evening. The restaurant used to be a quality meal, but not so much any more. We'll be finding another airport hotel next year. Starwood needs to fix this!

Room Tip: You have two choices, pool noise of parking lot view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is an older property, decent location that is convenient to the freeway system. The staff is OK, nothing special to comment on, good or bad. Attitude seems to be to do just enough to meet minimum expectations.
Internet is very slow and often down completely, at check-in, a prominent sign states limited bandwidth, only one device per room. I find this antiquated in a business hotel.
Food offerings limited, but everything is possible in a 5-10 minute drive if one has a car. Also free parking and several entrances makes it possible to park close to room.
There is airport and traffic noise at this hotel, the courtyard rooms are quieter at night, but pool noise and kids all day.
Rooms do have refrigerators and microwaves, a big plus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for one night on our spring break road trip. We used the points awarded to us for a free night here based on our poor experience with the Sheraton in Boston (see August 2012 review). This experience was no better, and probably worse.

Pros:
1. Nice lobby
2. Clean

Cons:
1. Some people kept yelling down the hallway and running down the hallway at 10:00 PM. I tried calling guest services and hung up after about a minute of ringing. I called again and was told that they already said something to the people, they were quiet when they went up there, and they were leaving at 10:30 PM.
2. We had a room next to the ice maker and you could hear the ice dispensing everytime someone got ice.
3. You could hear every singe plane take off.
4. You could hear everyone at the pool.
5. The air conditioner was very loud.
6. You had to turn the TV on and off several times before it would work properly.
7. The metal casing around the shower knob was so loose that it slid right off.
8. Unless you want to be near ASU or the Chandler Chino Bandido location, there are many other hotels that are much closer to Phoenix/Glendale attractions.

I only stay at the Sheraton when I have free nights or if it is a conference hotel I am staying at and my employer pays for the room. I have no idea why someone would want to pay $180 or so for a room with paper-thin walls, no breakfast, and no free Wifi. There are many other hotels in this category (e.g., Wyndham) or in lower categories (e.g., Holiday Inn Express) that are much nicer and give you great value for your money (e.g., see March 2012 review of Holiday Inn in north Phoenix). Simply put, the Sheraton brand continues to be a disappointment.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mead, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

It appears they invested in updating (kind of) the lobby and bar, but the rooms and hallways are a trip back to the 60s: 7 foot ceilings with popcorn finish. Some very basic maintenance has also been officially cancelled (our room had desk knobs falling off and even the hook on the bathroom wall was hanging by a thread). It looks like somewhere along the way between 1963 and 2013 they replaced the carpet although olive green shag would have gone well with the rest of the design! Yes, I realize it's a challenge to update a hotel when the basic infrastructure is so old.
BTW, no newspaper, no breakfast (although you can purchase a $15 breakfast buffet with day olde danish and cold potatoes). On the positive side they did provide one free bottle (12 oz.) of water and internet access (out in the lobby). This is not a low-priced hotel, just a low-value hotel.

Room Tip: If your company will pop for the extra cost or if you want to spring for it, they have "club ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel is close to the airport but not much else. Without a car you are very limited. The shuttle is usually being used for airport runs and corporate needs so not much chance they will give you a ride somewhere. The rooms don't seem very updated and the hallways have a distinctive motel feel. However, the staff is very nice, friendly and accommodating. The food at the hotel is pretty good as well. Try to get a room with a balcony facing the pool. Top floor rooms are club floor rooms but don't have windows that open or balconies. Go figure.
The free breakfast at the club lounge is very decent.

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floor have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellsville, Kentucky, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I arrived very late and the shuttle picked me up from the airport. I stayed all week, so we made use of the shuttle service every day. The drivers were friendly and courteous. Throughout the week, it was clear the priority for the shuttle drivers were to take guests to and from the airport. That never really posed a problem during my stay. I received a friendly greeting at the front desk as well. However, I think the gentleman behind the desk just as things were getting a bit hectic. He wasn't rude, but he couldn't give me his undivided attention (which wasn't really a big deal). He said that he gave me a room upgrade. The room was on the 2nd floor, facing the pool with a balcony. My coworker (who did not receive an upgrade) had a room on the outside, and unlike my room her room did not have a mini-fridge and microwave. The bed was SUPER comfortable. The TV was a decent-sized flat screen, but the remote was a little iffy. For the most part, the hotel was clean. However, some of the fixtures (and bathroom tiles) were getting a bit dated. I was also hoping for some sort of complementary breakfast (even if it was just continental...fruit or something), but I only had the in-room coffee maker. The Prickly Pear Sunrise Cafe had a decent breakfast, but it was a little on the pricey side. The girl that was working in the Prickly Pear every morning was friendly. A couple nights, the guest next door was having some loud conversations on his phone, which I know isn't really the hotel's fault. However, it sounded like I was in the room with him at times. Overall, it was a decent stay, but just not spectacular.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe

Address: 1600 South 52nd Street, Tempe, AZ 85281
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located to Sky Harbor International Airport, Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe is also near desirable attractions, including museums, world class dining, and Arizona State University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Tempe
Tempe Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.