We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Decent Room for a Quick Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 South 52nd Street, Tempe, AZ 85281   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Tempe
Dana Point, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Decent Room for a Quick Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

First off, this is an older property that has been remodeled. However, they didn't remodel everything and it shows in places. Lobby and pool areas are very nice. Service at the desk wasn't bad either. Carpeting in the hallways is old and needs to be replaced. Everything in my room had be redone except the shower/bathtub and fixtures. They were old fashioned by today's hotel standards. The bathroom was not very clean. I found numerous hairs on the floor and one sitting on my hand towel. Floors were not very clean either.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
4hunters,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our hotel. We are very proud of the little "oasis" our pool provides to our guests in the very dry desert! Cleanliness is one of our top priorities and not a standard we take lightly. We would appreciate it if you would take the time to give us a call at 480-967-6600, so that we can dig deeper for a remedy to your problem. If you ask for Cassie or Matt we would be happy to connect with you!

We look forward to hearing from you!

Matt Donaldson
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    117
    81
    31
    25
See reviews for
69
92
61
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

My stay here was excellent. Staff was extremely efficient. Pick up at the airport quick and convenient. The shuttle driver was friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel even had the shuttle drop me off at a nearby concert hall so I could attend an event. Quiet rooms and very clean. I'd stay here again anytime!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Julia H,

Your kind words make us even more proud of our awesome team. Roger was your driver to the concert hall, and he is very pleased to hear that you remembered him! Once again thank you for your words and we hope to see you again soon!

Matt Donaldson
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

After our group had decided to reserve our party plans with the Sheraton again we were all very excited. The staff welcomed us and made our set up and arrangements very easy to establish. They went out of their way to make sure the banquet room was comfortable for our group's enjoyment. We needed extra tables in the banquet room for our extra door prizes and in an instant they appeared with staff helping us set them up quickly before everyone arrived. Some of us decided to stay the night and we were provided with a special rate for those in our group who decided not to drive home that night. The rooms were very nice and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Lydia L,

We were just as excited to host your holiday event as well! We relish the opportunity to provide a fun but safe place for guests to celebrate. We enjoy being able to make the puzzle that is your plans come together. Thank you also to your group for being safe when choosing not to drive home after the party.

We look forward to hosting you this year!

Matt Donaldson
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

This hotel would be better suited for a Four Points makeover - it simply is not a quality Sheraton property. However, it was fine for an early morning flight the next day.

Our first room we checked into had a strong chemical smell and numerous large stains in the carpet. The front desk was quick to move us into another room, and friendly abut making the accommodation (everyone at the front desk both days seemed professional and courteous). Second room was fine - a standard hotel room. I did notice that were few outlets for charging our numerous phones and computers, but we made do.

The gym is very small, with some broken equipment. I think it would have been worth seeking out a local gym, but time was short. There is a club lounge for SPG members, but they had no diet soda for me the two times I checked, and the attendant in the lounge seemed half asleep.

I'd stay here again if I needed to leave early or arrived late on a trip to Phoenix, and the rates were significantly under $100. Otherwise, there are much better properties close by to consider.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Kyle34

Thank you so much giving us such detailed feedback. I am so sorry that parts of your stay did not exceed your expectations or ours for that matter. We strive to provide the most comforting atmosphere for our guests, but at times need to be reminded that we have much to improve on. We are proud to say that we have already started down the road of rejuvenation with the scheduled completion of our new Sheraton Fitness Center powered by Core Performance set for February. We hope that in the future you allow us the opportunity to wow you with the genuine care our staff provides.

We hope to see you soon, and safe travels!!

Matt Donaldson
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Although we had to wait 35 minutes or so for the shuttle (just after midnight), this hotel was otherwise just perfect. Beautiful room, nice restaurant (pancakes were incredible) and good service all around. We got an amazing rate on Hotwire. Stayed two night when there for the Fiesta Bowl. Recommend it highly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe, responded to this review, January 7, 2012
cdstravels,

As members of the hospitality industry, we get excited to hear that we were able to create a memorable experience for our guests. It truly was our pleasure to host your short journey to the Fiesta Bowl. Also all of us at the hotel agree that The Prickly Pear Sunrise Pear Cafe has amazing pancakes!

We hope to see you next year!

Matt Donaldson
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I would like to thank Jesse Hogan, A staff member at Sheraton, for his exceptional customer service. I had issues with the hotel placing a pending transaction on my visa debit card for our entire stay instead of just the incedentals. This resulted in the bank holding over $400 from my checking account. The hold should have been placed on my major credit card. When I brought the error to Jesse's attention he corrected the error in a very timely manner. He worked hard to make me "it right" and thus made me very happy. Thank you Jesse!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe, responded to this review, January 7, 2012
Tosha L

We are truly greatful that you took the time to write a review about one of our team members. It makes us happy to see that Jessie was able to remedy a tough situation. He is definitely a valuable member of the team!

We hope to see you in the near future!

Matt Donaldson
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Caroline
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 via mobile

This is a really nice place to stay. We were here for just one night with he family because we needed to catcha flight in the morning at Sky Harbor.

The rooms are modern and clean. Though the carpet in our room needed some spot cleaning.

The pool area is also really nice and we had a room that had a view to the pool so the kida can be at the pool and you can keep an eye on them. (We were in room 152)

I really did not like the fact that thwre was no frew wifi in he rooms. Though they did have it in the lobby for free.

Overall i woukd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Frequent_Traveler111

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel! We are very excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We are proud of the unique experience our pool provides for all of our travelers! While out at the pool did you get a chance to order from our tasty menu in FIre+Spice?

We hope you visit us again soon!

Matt Donaldson
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe

Address: 1600 South 52nd Street, Tempe, AZ 85281
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located to Sky Harbor International Airport, Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe is also near desirable attractions, including museums, world class dining, and Arizona State University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Starwood, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Tempe
Tempe Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.