We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Travelocity
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   911 South 48th St, Tempe, AZ 85281-5102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast & WiFi!
Ranked #14 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Nice stay by airport for early flight. Very friendly and accommodating. Good breakfast. Close to Arizona Mills Outlet. Only complaint was double beds instead of queen. Carpet could have used cleaning. Shuttle driver was very nice

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    102
    41
    18
    13
See reviews for
82
76
39
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Our road trip started in Las Vegas and ended in Florida for a month stay with stops along the way and then we came back with stops along the way. All of our stays were with La Quinta and we won't stay any where else from now on. I even booked a stay for my husband by himself on a trip to Phoenix in a La Quinta coming up! Room was very clean, plenty of room for our dogs dog beds and we enjoyed every stay! La Quinta is the best!!!!

Room Tip: Stay at La Quinta!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Really excellent stay. When coordinating for the shuttle, I strongly suggest communicating directly w/ the hotel. Suggest not communicating w the national reservation center. Everything re the hotel was extremely satisfactory. Watch out, however @ Sky Harbor itself-they have a horrible 40% tax on things like rental cars!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The location was a little bit hard to find, but luckily traffic wasn't bad when we arrived and we re able to quickly locate the hotel.
The 2 Queen room was spacious. The room included a microwave, fridge (not hooked up when we arrive) and table and four chairs.
The check in staff was super friendly.
There is a Denny's within walking distance, so we grabbed dinner to go there.
The bed was super comfortable. The only problem we encountered was that we saw a ROACH in the bathroom the morning we left. I notified the front desk when we checked out and they seemed horrified as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We used booking.com before leaving Ireland. The only reason we needed to book a hotel near the airport is that our international flight home had changed to 6am and we felt it would be more convenient than driving from our resort 30 minutes away so early in the morning, dropping the rental car and checking in for the flight at 4am.
It is a well known requirement to be checking in for international flights 2-3 hours before the flight time, i.e. 3am to 4am for a 6am flight. We put a comment in our booking (which is presumably passed along to the hotel - it clearly shows on our own emailed copy of the reservation), that we needed a room close to reception as we would be leaving to catch a 6am flight home and it would be handy if we didnt have to drag the luggage to the room and back to reception. We chose La Quinta as booking.com stated they had a shuttle service to the airport. Trip advisor reviews for Red Roof inn were better so we even phoned them from Ireland first, to check if they had a shuttle to the airport. Unfortunately they did not. We didnt want to pay a taxi charge as well as a room charge, as we would only be in the room for a few hours before getting up at 2.30am. Our plan was to check in, dump our luggage at the hotel, return the rental car at PHX and have the hotel shuttle bring us back asap so we could get to bed by 9pm.
Our first problem with LaQuinta was finding the hotel - even problematic for our Garmin GPS system but we got there eventually through using physical maps and our Nokia phone, along with the GPS system. The nearest place to the hotel to fill up on gas before returning our rental car took us into an unsavoury part of Phoenix, in which we felt very nervous.
As we were being given a room quite a way from reception and up on the 2nd floor, we asked Mikaila on reception if they had a lock up facility to keep our large luggage at reception for the night so that we wouldnt be 'dragging it along hallways waking other people at 3 in the morning'. She kindly let us do that but she didnt ask us how we intended to get the airport so early which would become important later.
We asked how we would get the hotel shuttle back from the car rental at Sky Harbour. She told us to get the rental shuttle to the airport, terminal 4, and to phone her and she'd have the shuttle pick us up. When we got to terminal 4, 20 minutes after dropping the car, we phoned her. She said we needed to go 'outside the door'. There are a million doors in this huge terminal and we had no idea where it was she meant. It took three phone calls to her to find where it was we were to go to meet the shuttle. That all took 20 minutes. We then waited a further 25 minutes for the shuttle!! The driver must have known we were waiting a long time and had another passenger he had obviously picked up somewhere else before the airport but didnt apologise. The van looked in poor shape; he looked in even worse shape - very untidy. When we got back to the hotel we asked him to have the shuttle pick us up at the hotel at 3.30am, to which he replied that they only started the shuttle service at 5am! We went in to ask Mikaila to order a taxi. We asked if this would be compliments of the hotel as this wasnt made clear when we were booking on the internet, to which she said no and that it was on the website. The unkempt looking van driver came in behind her and repeated to us that it WAS on the website. How rude. Mikaila then asked if we'd booked through expedia or such. We said yes, Booking.com (half the world or more now uses these sites to book hotel rooms, due to the lower costs and hotels are doing very good regular business because of them). She said that they wouldnt always give full information and said this in a condescending way, as much as to say that we should have booked directly with La Quinta and avoided this problem. I dont think booking.com will like to know that La Quinta staff look down their noses at hotel websites and the customers who book through them. Gone was our early to bed at 9pm. It was midnight before we got to bed so that we only had 2 hours sleep before getting up to go on a 24 hour journey home. We were however glad HAVE to be awake so early because there was an unmerciful and noisy fight going on in a room nearby which started at 2am, giving us even more reason to believe we were in an unsavoury part of town. It was still going on full throttle when we were leaving the room at 3.25am. As this was the week of the Boston bombings, we were extremely nervous in this motel type hotel, where to get to reception we had to traverse open hallways and courtyards. We were worried that police may have been called to the scene and we could get caught in a shootout. We gingerly stepped out of the door and rushed to the reception for our taxi. The night reception guy who was on made no apology for inconvenience after we mentioned the noise to him and the security guard who was sloped over the reception desk chatting instead of being up in the room dealing with the still ongoing issue. They said that they had 40 phonecalls from hotel residents. So why was it allowed to go on for 1.5 hours and the security guard not even dealing with it? We paid 73 dollars for the room and a further 15 dollars for the cab. Next time, we'll stay at our resort (where we'd already paid for a full 14 nights anyway), and travel to the airport from there. It would be far more convenient and far less stressful. We will never again use a La Quinta hotel and we would only use an airport hotel if it is part of the airport structure such as in Orlando - much safer.

Room Tip: Best advice is don't book one at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paro, Bhutan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed here twice this month. Very convenient to airport with a Denny's in parking lot for late arrivals. Room was Standard La Quinta. Comfortable and fairly clean.

Continental breakfast had waffles, egg, and cereal so can't complain. One watchout is you need to make a u-turn when leaving if heading back to highway. Definitely a good value close to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The place was a perfect location. The hotel staff went above and beyond! The rooms were just OK but the staff made up for the difference! Great value and location. The hotel staff will take you to places in the area like the Phoenix zoo, and Mill area. We truly enjoyed our experience and look forward to staying again! Thanks

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport

Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Phoenix/Tempe Sky Harbor Airport Hotel
La Quinta Inn Phoenix/Tempe Sky Harbor Airport Hotel Tempe
La Quinta Hotel Phoenix
La Quinta Tempe
Tempe La Quinta
Address: 911 South 48th St, Tempe, AZ 85281-5102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tempe
#11 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, LaQuinta, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.