We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, nice property, excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Phoenix - Tempe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Phoenix - Tempe to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Phoenix - Tempe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4400 South Rural Road, Tempe, AZ 85282   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Go Crazy @ AZ Mills Mall
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good value, nice property, excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This property provides escellent value for the cost. The rooms are spacious and include a refrigerator and microwave. The beds are comfortable and the towels of decent quality. The toiletries are nice, coffee and tea are provided. The complimentary breakfast is better than most, and they do made-to-order omelets and French Toast. The selection on the buffet is good and the quality of the food is good. The pool area is nice and well maintained, and the fitness center is a bit better than I would expect for this level property. Garcia's food that I had for lunch (took to go) was truly mediocre, but the food I ordered for room service one day was very tasty and was delivered quickly. I haven't yet experienced the complimentary beverages...my bad. I am staying five nights on this trip and will be happy to stay here again.

A note regarding the staff.... The people working at night when I checked in were friendly and helpful. The only comment would be that I was directed to park somewhere that was further than my room than necessary. I had to change rooms the second day as my requested configuration was unavailable when I first checked in (I updated my reservation several times, and what became my first night was a last minute add-on). The daytime staff was extremely accommodating. I had a midday conference call and they orchestrated my room move to take place early in the day so I could move prior to the call. The staff greeted me every time I went through the lobby. The housekeeping staff was also pretty top notch.

I will stay here again. I might find a property I prefer that is more luxurious, but for frequent stays where I'm trying to keep the costs contained, this will be my property of choice.

Room Tip: If possible you may want to stay away from the freeway....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    107
    48
    25
    9
See reviews for
110
53
15
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Embassy Suites markets itself as being an upscale brand. Most of their locations meet this expectation. This one did.. kind of.
I understand that it was recently remodeled. The suite had a nice appearance - granite, tile shower surround, new carpeting, new(ish) furniture, etc.
A closer inspection revealed a good amount of corners cut - white silicone along the edges of a tan shower and travertine surround, rusted fan covers for the vent system, a mini fridge that was poorly vented and constantly ran, thus was blazing hot inside the cabinet for the kitchenette, cheap furniture that was just not comfortable and too short to stretch out on really.
Also the toilet was completely loose, as in the bolts no longer secured it down and I could have picked it up had I wished. I didn't do anything about it because I didn't want to move rooms, it didn't leak or smell. That's on me for not dealing with it, but you'd think the cleaning staff would know enough by looking at the ripped up caulk job at the bottom of the toilet and realize something wasn't right.
The staff was great: friendly, responsive etc. Great location as well. Good workout room.

It's a decent place. It's not my first choice when traveling to Tempe but I'd stay here again over many other locations. However, when comparing to other ES locations, it really doesn't measure up to most others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel itself is a good location, we were in town to tour the college, it is also a nice enough place as far as rooms and restaurant and pool go, the complete downside was the attitudes of the employees and the too many to list situations where they were more then lacking......I would not stay here again......

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinetop-Lakeside, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Free breakfast, free happy hour, free airport shuttle, next to freeway for access, ....An older hotel but well maintained. We would definitely stay again. There is a Whole Foods down the block and a small frig in the room for convenience. Rural Rd leads N to Scottsdale and bus service in front of hotel. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice K, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Phoenix - Tempe, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear RJB5001,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed our amenities and location. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Sincerely,

Janice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights over Easter. The first impression of the room was it was very dark, our room overlooked the car park which was ok we didn't have any nosie issues there. The bedroom area was nice and clean and tidy as was the bathroom.
The hotel had a nice pool area and a hot tub and plenty of sunbeds were provided. We had breakfast whilst we were staying this was complimentary, they had a nice selection.
The only thing that was disappointing is that you have to pay for internet connection. You can't even get it free in the hotel lobby, only gold or platinum members get it for nothing. I think this should be changed, come on ES, most hotels provided this a standard now.....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, furnishings a little dated but fine. The rooms open to outside doors...that may be an issue for some. I thought the grounds were nice & well kept. For $99 to $110 per night....I probably would have rated it above average.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice K, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Phoenix - Tempe, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Dad05,

Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. We appreciate your candor and we look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and guest suite appearance. Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Janice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night of Easter Break. We were worried about the crowds and noise, as the pool area was literally so crowded you could hardly see the water. Our room was overlooking the hot tub. Fortunately, the rooms are very well insulated and quiet. The 2 room suite is perfect - the beds and the sheets were fantastic! Very nice facility.

Only issue when so crowded - it was difficult to do the evening reception as the lines were horrendous just to get a drink and chips/popcorn. Same thing in the morning for breakfast and the Garcias that is "in" the property. Location of the hotel is great though - just down the street is Starbucks, Chase ATM, and Whole Foods Market.... and easy access off the i-60. Great nights sleep! Pleasant staff at check-in and out as well.

Room Tip: Ask where your toom is - you could wind up walking quite a ways - it is quite a large hotel. We ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Phoenix - Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Phoenix - Tempe

Address: 4400 South Rural Road, Tempe, AZ 85282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Phoenix - Tempe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large, two-room suites suites with granite, marble and travertine. Complimentary full cooked-to-order breakfast, beverage reception each evening, airport transportation, on-site restaurant. Suites open up to a Resort Style interior courtyard with outdoor pool and hot tub. Wireless internet access throughout. Complimentary 24 Hr. Business Center and Fitness Center. Over 10,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space, including our 4,000 square foot Grand Ballroom. A perfect Tempe location for business or leisure travel. Near Arizona State University, and all major business, shopping, entertainment, sports venues, restaurants and attractions in the East Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Phoenix - Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel Phoenix
Embassy Suites Tempe
Tempe Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Phoenix - Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.