We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel--Probably going to get greater” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Phoenix - Tempe

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Phoenix - Tempe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Embassy Suites Hotel Phoenix - Tempe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4400 South Rural Road, Tempe, AZ 85282   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flying out of PHX? Save $
Ranked #5 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Hotel--Probably going to get greater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

I read positive reviews about this hotel, and I was overall pleased. Somehow I missed that rooms have an outside entry--as a general rule, I don't stay in that kind of hotel for safety reasons. Once I settled in, I felt safe in the area, and I was glad to have a room towards the back of the property. The room itself was pretty clean and modern, just showing a bit of wear and tear. (Layout can be confusing, but by the end of the trip, I could find my room quickly. Ha!)

The service is the BEST. Everyone does what they can to help--that positive energy was very visible and appreciated.

Breakfast is good, but the service there can be slow. The current breakfast area is cramped, but I hear it will be improving soon. Great food, though the potatoes were disappointing (tasted old on some mornings).

If you reserve a shuttle, be sure to follow up and make sure it's reserved. Had some issues with that, but again, service was good and those issues were resolved.

A good area and fine hotel--think I would return.

Room Tip: Choose the back area for quiet sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Phoenix - Tempe, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Dear Lovelaughtravellive......I want to thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor about your stay with us. Also, I'm glad you found the comments of others matched your experience. I think our service is the BEST and that our team here "gets it." As I'm sure you have read below and in my previous responses, the breakfast area is a pinch point but change is on the way with significant renovations and upgrades planned for this area of the hotel the spring 2012.

So thanks again. We look forward to seeing you back at the hotel in the near future.

Peter Cowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    79
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
78
40
10
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North York, Ont
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Just back from spending 4 nights. In town for family graduation. Rooms were typical for Embassy suites. Plenty of room. Good selection of tv channels. The breakfast in the morning was great. Made to order breakfast and other hot foods. Coffee was pretty good. The Wifi signal was pretty weak but understand this is being upgraded. The mangers reception at night was pretty good. It would be nice to have a couple more beer selections, but that's a minor point. Beds were great and bathroom was nice. The pool looked nice, too cold to go in. Overall was pleased with the experience I had

Room Tip: Room 102 was close to lobby, pool, breakfast/ managers reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Phoenix - Tempe, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear Sim0n76.......I appreciate you taking the time to post your positive comments about our Hotel. You have pointed out many of the great things about staying at the Embassy Suites here in Tempe. We hope to see you again very soon. Happy Holidays to you and your family.

Peter Cowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011 via mobile

I stayed here for four days during a mixed business/pleasure trip. It is super easy to get here from the airport. It has a great location that offers easy access to all parts Tempe and Phoenix. Downside is that it does show a little wear and tear. My wifi in my room was weak and the furniture worn (mostly surface scratches). But, having said that, the free breakfast was good with omelets to orders and fresh fruits and juices etc. The breakfast room gets a little full however. Lastly, housekeeping staff was excellent and the front desk folks extremely helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Phoenix - Tempe, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear Haveyouseenmyluggage.......(love this name by the way)........as with everyone, I want to thank you for taking the time to post comments about our hotel. I'm very happy you enjoyed the breakfast and found our staff helpful. I think our staff are awesome and that they really do care that our guests are well cared for.

As for your comments about wear and tear and the breakfast room.....I can tell you that we agree, and are doing something about it. We are in the final planning stages for a significant lobby renovation that will begin in the spring. Part of the renovation includes moving the breakfast into the Garcia's restaurant where there is much more space and it is better set up for the numbers of people who take advantage of our great breakfast. We also have plans for lot's of upgrades in the suites as well. This includes a brand bew WiFi network that will take our current 3 mbps to a whooping 30 mbps.

Thanks again for writing. We hope to see you back at the hotel in the very near future.

Peter Cowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drash1
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

The embassy suite in Tempe is close to the major highways like 10 and 60 and is a good business hotel.

The morning complimentary breakfast and manager's evening reception are great places to get ready for a busy day and then unwind before heading for dinner.

The hotel has a great Mexican restaurant on premises as well.

The pool is a nice size and the fitness facility though small is functional.

The only downside at this time is the crowded breakfast area and I am told they are expanding this area in the next few months.


Dr. Ash

Room Tip: Upper floor room 392-294
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Phoenix - Tempe, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Dear drash1.......thank you very much for posting on Trip Advisor about your stay with us. I'm very pleased you enjoy our hotel.

Regarding the breakfast area....you were informed correctly. In April 2012 we will begin a significant renovation to this area and turn it into a beautiful new expansion of the lobby. This will expand our meeting room pre-function area and also create a much nicer lobby and reception area. The restaurant will also undergo a significant renovation at that time. The breakfast with then move into the restaurant so we can take advantage of the much larger area and offering a much better experience overall. It's going to be awesome! We hope you will come back and see how it all comes out.

Thanks again for taking the time to write, we appreciate it.

Peter Cowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midway, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed here two nights.
Facility is excellent, with large pool as well as large hot-tub. Suite had a refrigerator & microwave. The room-rate included a full breakfast buffet, which featured home-made omlets, bacon, sausage, home-fries, and pancakes (no "Continental" chintzyness here!). For Dinner, the hotel's restaurant, "Garcia's" specializes in Mexican cusine, the portions are LARGE, the Salsa is home-made, the waitresses are friendly, and the quality is the best you will find in any hotel restaurant, anywhere, bar none.

If they could improve on anything, it would be to quit charging $10.00/day extra for internet service, when other much lower-priced hotels provide internet access for free.

-Podge

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Phoenix - Tempe, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear The_Old_Podge......(by the way, love the name!)........

Thank you for taking the time to recognize our hotel in such a positive way and especially as it relates to the rooms, amenities, great breakfast and Garcia's. With regards to the internet charges, I can tell you that Hilton is constantly evaluating the policy of charging for this service and so stay tuned. Also, we are in the process of greatly enhancing the speed and reliability of the internet and also adding wireless to the entire property.

Thank you again for posting your very positive comments. We really appreciate it.

Peter Cowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Have stayed in many Embassy Suites so know what to expect, but this one is a little different. It's more spread out into different buildings so finding our room became a challenge. We finally did, and navigated thereafter quite easily. That evening, however, we found a man wandering on our floor almost pleading to tell us where his room was located. Luckily, I had a location map in my hand and gave it to him!

Otherwise, the stay in room M284 was very good. As it faced the inner courtyard it was very quite with the windows open. King bed had a wonderful, comfy feeling so slept great (until the Road Warriors with their suitcases rolled out of their rooms in the morning, but that's to be expected as it appeared a majority of the guests were businesspeople.) Staff was very friendly, public areas were spacious and bright. Room was cheerful and lighting was fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the inner courtyard to have peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Phoenix - Tempe, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Dear higham.....Thanks for posting your review of our great hotel! You are right, we are different than most Embassy's in that we do not have the typical atrium set-up. As I have written before, our atruim ceiling is a very blue sky. :)

As new owners of this hotel we agree with you that our directional signage needs to be improved. We identified that need back in May when we took over. Coincidentally I met this morning with a signage consultant who is doing a complete signage audit with intent of replacing old signage and adding better directional signage. This will help with way finding around our property.

Thanks for recognizing our staff.....I think they are wonderful.

We hope to see you back very soon. Thanks again for writing.

Peter Cowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

On my 9th trip to this property, I note a curious law of hotel amenities: when it comes to free Wi-Fi access in hotels, evidently there is a law of diminishing returns such that some higher priced properties charge for Wi-Fi, which is free in lower price properties. A strange, juxtaposed result, a minor point perhaps, but one that causes puzzlement.

But all in all we stay at this hotel for its convenience, familiarity and friendly staff/excellent service

Room Tip: H, J buildings are adjacent Freeway 60, hearing a constant drone of commuting automobiles. But buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Phoenix - Tempe, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
BZT......I have to say we really appreciate your loyalty to our great little hotel. It's going to go through a very nice refurbishment early in the new year so when you are here next you'll notice quite a difference. Thanks again for taking the time to post your very positive ratings. We appreciate that.

Peter Cowley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Phoenix - Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Phoenix - Tempe

Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel Phoenix
Embassy Suites Tempe
Tempe Embassy Suites
Address: 4400 South Rural Road, Tempe, AZ 85282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tempe
#13 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Phoenix - Tempe 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large, two-room suites suites with granite, marble and travertine. Complimentary full cooked-to-order breakfast, beverage reception each evening, airport transportation, on-site restaurant. Suites open up to a Resort Style interior courtyard with outdoor pool and hot tub. Wireless internet access throughout. Complimentary 24 Hr. Business Center and Fitness Center. Over 10,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space, including our 4,000 square foot Grand Ballroom. A perfect Tempe location for business or leisure travel. Near Arizona State University, and all major business, shopping, entertainment, sports venues, restaurants and attractions in the East Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Phoenix - Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Phoenix - Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.