We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price point always on point” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Near AZ State University

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn Near AZ State University to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn Near AZ State University
Rodeway Inn Near AZ State University
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Near AZ State University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2101 E Apache Blvd, Tempe, AZ 85281 (Formerly AmeriLodge Tempe)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in Tempe
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Price point always on point”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

For the price I paid I am more than happy with the outcome. Having stayed in multiple hotels in the valley I would have to say that this has been one of the best! Swimming pool was nice and clean and perfect for 112 degree afternoon. Staff is friendly and always ready to serve you. Will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs. Helps with the view of the swimming pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
3
4
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Even though it was cheap it was poor. Stained chair and bedspreads. Floor so dirty it left your feet black. Owner has little grasp of the english language. No coffee pot in room as advertised. Coffee in lobby when it opens at 7 .Never again!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

As soon as we drove up, my partner stated "This place is dodgy", and I agree. Across the street is an empty lot and directly next to it are abandoned and boarded up buildings. There were always some weirdos on bikes in the parking lot. People who run this place seem nice enough, but the property is gross. Cigarette burns in sheets and blankets. And the WORST thing is that all the lights are on timers, so you can't even take a dump without the bathroom light shutting off on you!!! I would never stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

To put it simply, don't stay here. The room smelled terrible - stale with an overwhelming scent of some type of cloying air freshener, covering up a combination of bad smells that I couldn't identify. The bedspread featured what appeared to be crusty, melted candy. We immediately removed it and the questionable blanket underneath, only to discover cigarette burns in the sheet. We vowed to be in the room for as short a time as possible. The bathroom was not visibly dirty, thankfully, but I refused to touch anything in that room with my bare hand. The staff was very pleasant...I only wish I could say the same about the accommodations.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanajuato, Mexico
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

The prices are good, and the rooms are clean and comfortable, but I wouldn't stay here again. My friend and walked two blocks at about 7 p.m. to the nearest light rail station to go to the New Year's Eve block party. Along the way we were approached twice to buy drugs, and saw several prostitutes and homeless people. At the rail station, a young man told us not to ever walk around this area along after dark. I guess it's okay if you only drive in, stay in your room, and leave.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAS CRUCES
Top Contributor
416 reviews 416 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This motel is hard to find if it is dark and you are coming from the East on I-10. The Mapqwest directions said one could make a U-turn on E. Apache (which is divided), but we waited through two red lights and never got a green left turn arrow. So we drove on to where we could turn left, turned around, drove back. The motel has a high wall around the parking lot, which is good. The room was OK and the internet worked. There was no breakfast, just coffee in the morning. It is not that close to Arizona State University, certainly not within walking distance.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room toward the back, as that would make the parking seem safer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed for one night to see in gig in tempe. Staff was friendly and professional even though one group of customers were behaving rather rudely. Neat, clean, cheap motel. What you see is what you get.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn Near AZ State University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Near AZ State University

Address: 2101 E Apache Blvd, Tempe, AZ 85281 (Formerly AmeriLodge Tempe)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Near AZ State University 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rodeway Inn Near AZ State University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Near Az State University Hotel Tempe
Tempe Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Near AZ State University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;