We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Near AZ State University

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn Near AZ State University to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn Near AZ State University
Rodeway Inn Near AZ State University
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Near AZ State University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2101 E Apache Blvd, Tempe, AZ 85281 (Formerly AmeriLodge Tempe)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in Tempe
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Even though it was cheap it was poor. Stained chair and bedspreads. Floor so dirty it left your feet black. Owner has little grasp of the english language. No coffee pot in room as advertised. Coffee in lobby when it opens at 7 .Never again!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
3
4
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

As soon as we drove up, my partner stated "This place is dodgy", and I agree. Across the street is an empty lot and directly next to it are abandoned and boarded up buildings. There were always some weirdos on bikes in the parking lot. People who run this place seem nice enough, but the property is gross. Cigarette burns in sheets and blankets. And the WORST thing is that all the lights are on timers, so you can't even take a dump without the bathroom light shutting off on you!!! I would never stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

To put it simply, don't stay here. The room smelled terrible - stale with an overwhelming scent of some type of cloying air freshener, covering up a combination of bad smells that I couldn't identify. The bedspread featured what appeared to be crusty, melted candy. We immediately removed it and the questionable blanket underneath, only to discover cigarette burns in the sheet. We vowed to be in the room for as short a time as possible. The bathroom was not visibly dirty, thankfully, but I refused to touch anything in that room with my bare hand. The staff was very pleasant...I only wish I could say the same about the accommodations.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanajuato, Mexico
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

The prices are good, and the rooms are clean and comfortable, but I wouldn't stay here again. My friend and walked two blocks at about 7 p.m. to the nearest light rail station to go to the New Year's Eve block party. Along the way we were approached twice to buy drugs, and saw several prostitutes and homeless people. At the rail station, a young man told us not to ever walk around this area along after dark. I guess it's okay if you only drive in, stay in your room, and leave.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAS CRUCES
Top Contributor
416 reviews 416 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This motel is hard to find if it is dark and you are coming from the East on I-10. The Mapqwest directions said one could make a U-turn on E. Apache (which is divided), but we waited through two red lights and never got a green left turn arrow. So we drove on to where we could turn left, turned around, drove back. The motel has a high wall around the parking lot, which is good. The room was OK and the internet worked. There was no breakfast, just coffee in the morning. It is not that close to Arizona State University, certainly not within walking distance.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room toward the back, as that would make the parking seem safer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed for one night to see in gig in tempe. Staff was friendly and professional even though one group of customers were behaving rather rudely. Neat, clean, cheap motel. What you see is what you get.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, Texas
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

As a Diamond (top tier) member of the Choice Privileges frequent guest program, I stay at Choice brands frequently - of which Rodeway Inn is one. This particular property is, overall, average at best, but the existence of an arbitrary "surcharge fee" that is added to guest bills, without prior disclosure, makes this property a definite "no go." (More about this later.)

The hotel itself is older, and the rooms tend to be small - similar in size to those at a traditional Motel 6. The furniture is dated and shows its age, but the rooms themselves are generally clean, although some of the furniture fabrics had stains, including what looked similar to dried blood on the seat of the desk chair. (Note: I do not know if the stain was actually dried blood, but that is what it looked like.) The climate control unit worked properly, and I had no trouble using the free, wireless internet connection. There was also a small fridge, and a side table with a chair.

The bathroom was clean, and the shower supplied ample hot water.

The motel office is not open 24 hours a day, but there is a night bell for late arrivals. I arrived after midnight, and after ringing the night bell, it was only a short wait before someone appeared to check me in. The check-in process was quick.

There is no breakfast available at this motel. There is free coffee in the lobby in the mornings, but that is all. Fast food and family dining options are available nearby.

The hotel itself is conveniently located not far from the Arizona State University campus and has easy access to light rail. Travelers to/from the Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport can easily reach this hotel by taking the Skytrain from Terminal 4 at the airport to the light rail station at 44th Street & Washington, and then taking any eastbound train.

Now about the "surcharge fee." When I booked the reservation on the Choice Hotels website, I was given my daily room rate, plus an estimate of taxes and fees. There is a disclaimer that additional local charges, such as a daily fee for those annoying in-room safes that one often finds at these properties, would be in addition, if they existed. Upon checkout, I noticed that my bill was about $3.00 higher than the original estimate, and, upon closer examination, I found a line item for "Surcharge Fee - $3.00" on the bill. I asked the front desk person about it, and whether or not it was some sort of tax imposed by a government entity. I was told that it was not a tax but rather a fee that management applies, with no explanation of what, exactly, the fee was for.

The nature of the fee - "Surcharge Fee" - suggests that this is nothing more than a way of arbitrarily inflating guest charges, and the issue here is one of purpose and disclosure. The idea that such a fee can be arbitrarily imposed at will, without explicit disclosure when the reservation is made, or at check-in time, is offensive and comes across as nothing more than a cheap trick to inflate guest charges. And consider this ... if the hotel can arbitrarily add, say, $3.00, as a surcharge and get away with it, then what's to stop them from adding any amount? To me, any fee that does not tie to a specific purpose ought to be already built into the room rate and not simply added after-the-fact as an arbitrary line item. The amount of the fee doesn't matter; rather, it's the principle that's at issue here.

Had the "Surcharge Fee" not been applied, I would have rated this property "Average," but just barely so. But with such a fee, I must rate this property "Poor," because I believe that it is a very poor way to do business, and that there are other decent choices available in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn Near AZ State University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Near AZ State University

Address: 2101 E Apache Blvd, Tempe, AZ 85281 (Formerly AmeriLodge Tempe)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Near AZ State University 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rodeway Inn Near AZ State University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Near Az State University Hotel Tempe
Tempe Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Near AZ State University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.