We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th of July Fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Tempe Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Tempe Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Tempe Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   510 South Forest Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Training Pkg
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“4th of July Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We decided to stay in town for the 4th and this place looked appealing since it was very close to the Tempe firework show. The view from the rooftop pool deck was prefect for viewing them but it was extremely crowded with a sold out hotel. We were fortunate to get a room on the 10th floor facing the north so we were able to watch the fireworks from our room. The staff at the front desk were awesome and treat platinum members very well. They tried to meet all of our requests even when it was extremely busy at check in. Recommend getting four key cards because you need one to run the electricity in your room and one for parking garage. One complaint I do have wad concerning the breakfast area and staff. The hours on Saturday are 7-10 am and when we came down at 9:15 we barely got a waffle cooked and then looked in the small buffet area and they had put away everything by 9:30. Not acceptable to me when it was clearly posted as 10 am close on Saturdays.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff K, General Manager at Residence Inn Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had fun on the hotel's FIRST 4th of July after opening just last fall. Thank you for the feedback on the breakfast hours as well, the breakfast actually does close at 9:30 on the weekends so I'll make sure our signage correctly reflects that.
See you next time!
~Jeff (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    38
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
33
16
5
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

New property. It was about 1 year old when we stayed, and it was already showing its age. Lots of lights that didn't work, a few things were banged up, etc.. Considering it is right by ASU and probably gets lots of students, it's in pretty good shape, but could be better maintained. The good: The service was friendly and efficient and the lobby was very nice. Breakfast was nice, with the usual stuff plus fresh fruit. However, no hot chocolate. :-( There was a dinner soup and salad happy hour. Not many options (one soup - a sort of minestrone - and basic salad, with some veggies and fruit and cake), but the food was very good; it was nice to have a light option for dinner to balance the splurges earlier in the day. The room was nice, we had the double queen. Loved having the kitchen and sitting area with 2 tvs. We tuned both TVs to the same channel, and the four of us were able to spread out across the beds and couch. The room was well designed to look nice and be comfortable and functional. The reading lights over the bed were a nice touch. The Bad: Aside from burned out bulbs, not much to complain about, except they gave us only 2 towels and 1 set of soap/shampoo for 4 people. They brought towels right away when I asked, but if you're renting a room to a family of four, there should automatically be at least 4 towels in the room. It's a double queen room, so there should be enough towels and soaps for at least 2 people, even if you're not paying attention to the actual size of the party! The...strange...: The roof deck. It's lovely. The sitting area with fire pit is nice. The pool is...liluputian... It looks full sized in the photo, but in real life it's 1/2 size. The pool is 3 feet deep at the shallow end, and the deep end is...drumroll please...3 1/2 feet deep. The spa can accommodate 1 large person, or up to 4 kids. You can get 3 adults in there if they're friendly and fairly skinny. I swam in the pool with my 2 kids, and it was just big enough for the 3 of us to have fun. I did a couple of laps...it's 3 strokes from end to end. We had the place pretty much to ourselves, so it was OK, but if there had been any more people there we would not have bothered with the pool. If you want to swim, don't stay here, unless you are visiting during the off season (summer). Aside from the pool size, the deck was nice, and the view was spectacular.

Room Tip: If you want to swim, avoid the busy season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Operations Manager at Residence Inn Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and I thank you for your astute recomendations. Our goal is to make your stay as enjoyable and as flawless as possible, and your comments help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This hotel is fantastic in every way. The location is great, the rooms are new and clean, and the staff is friendly. This is the best business class hotel I've stayed at in the Phoenix area. Some comments:

The internet is reasonable, at 3Mb/s, but not what I'd call fast.
The elevators are SLOW.
Parking is easy in the attached parking garage.
The fitness room and rooftop pool are pretty nice for a hotel of this class.
The hotel was crowded, but it was graduation week, and it was never noisy or bothersome.
The best part is the location . . . lots of restaurants within walking distance and A mountain right out the back door for a jog before work!
I dinged the service 1 star because my room keys would fail frequently and a couple times they didn't work even after the front desk person "fixed" it.

Room Tip: Get a low floor or plan to wait for the elevator for a while.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Operations Manager at Residence Inn Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. I hope you stay again with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I've visited Tempe six times in the past 3 months staying at a variety of Marriott properties. This was, by far, the best of them all. I liked the newness and the contemporary feel of the rooms. But what made it extra special was the 11th floor roof top pool, hot tub, fire pit and awesome views of the area. The sunset I captured was gorgeous. Then by adding the 2 block walk to Mill Ave for many dining options, you can't beat this location.

Room Tip: Upper floors afford a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHXTD, Manager at Residence Inn Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi Michele!

Thank you so much for your outstanding comments! We hope to see you again in the future.

Aimee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This Residence Inn is new and it was opened late 2013 so everything is pretty new which is plus for hotels to appeal potential guests. The location is next to ASU and downtown Tempe and even if visiting ASU is not the reason just like I was, it still is a good location to access other areas of greater Phoenix area.

Hotel – Due to downtown location, this is 11 story building with attached garage and pool on 11th floor which is pretty neat as you can see the night scenery from the top floor. Location wise, there are many restaurants within walking distance and should not be a problem to find a place to eat. Hotel access is good considering downtown location and Freeway access is about 2 miles from the hotel. Folks at lobby are very friendly and they will try their best to accommodate you.

Parking – Attached garage is easy to access and parking is charged per night at $10. There is a gate access and it can be billed to your room. Gate access is done with hotel key but it isn’t all that convenient to swipe through the reader as I had some trouble with it. It can also demagnetize your room key which happened to me twice during my weeklong stay. I would ask for three room keys and keep one inside the car out of the sun just for garage access if you are staying for more than a few days.

Room – There are a few different rooms to choose from and studio to two bedroom is available. Room is comfortable and it is designed for longer stay with full kitchen which is always nice as you can stock up. Living room sofa was okay but no table or ottoman to kick up your feet which I found somewhat odd. It could have been the two bedroom unit layout prohibited the table. Another missing item in the room was luggage rack inside the closet which means you need to either unpack everything or put your luggage on sofa or table. I did run into problem with A/C as it would not get cold and called maintenance the following day. They said it was fixed but it never really worked properly as compressor did not engage most of the time and just fan was running. It is most likely the room I was in had a specific problem.

Breakfast – I did try breakfast a few times and they have good selections but not the best of Residence Inn as each hotel will vary. Tuesday through Thursday after 6pm, they have lobby happy hour where you can get snacks and cheap beer too.

Overall, I would definitely stay this hotel again if I need to visit Tempe or Chandler area. I would have given 5 star if not A/C problem and card key access issue. In my opinion, maintenance crew should have done more thorough job of checking A/C rather than just reset which is what I did every day to turn on the compressor. Card key access for parking garage should been RFID based rather than magnetic strip reader in my opinion. It will cost a bit more but it will make life easier or license plate recognition based access would be even better.

Room Tip: Get one with balcony if they have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari K, Assistant General Manager at Residence Inn Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you so much for takng the time to write such a detailed review! We are delighted to hear that location was satisfactory for you and you enjoyed breakfast as well as your room! We do have several types of full suites so please let us know when you are returning and we would be happy to assist you book the perfect room!

Please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Georgia, USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hotel is perfect in room size, cleanliness, sleeps 6 with pull out sofa, and is in the perfect location. Walking distance to Mill Ave and Arizona State. Minutes from the highway. Hotel is brand new. Rooftop pool and hot tub with view of Phoenix.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari K, Assistant General Manager at Residence Inn Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! As you stated, the rooftop does have an amazing view that we just cant get enough of! We hope to see you again so and thank you for staying with us here at The Residence Inn DT Tempe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Great Location, easy commute to and from Airport. Walking distance to Downtown Mill Street and also ASU Campus and Football Stadium!
Great Staff !! Airport shuttle makes it very nice ! Rooms are brand new and well kept. Great pool area with awesome view of Downtown Tempe and Football Stadium. Pool and Gym located on top floor with Full view of A Mountain .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari K, Assistant General Manager at Residence Inn Tempe Downtown, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you so much for joining us here at The Residence Inn DT Tempe! We greatly appreciate your feedback and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for mentioning our location and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Tempe Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tempe Downtown

Address: 510 South Forest Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85281
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tempe Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location-Location-Location. Next to Sun Devil Stadium, home of the ASU Sun Devils, 1 block from the notorious Mill Avenue, directly across the street from "A"-Mountain (Hayden Butte Preserve) and 5 miles from Sky Harbor International Airport. 11 Floors, 173 rooms, rooftop pool and fire pit with lounge area overlooking Tempe, Mill Ave, Tempe Town Lake and the Hayden Butte Preserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Tempe Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Tempe Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.