We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great big burger cooked in front of you on an open flame.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chuckbox Restaurant

Chuckbox Restaurant
202 E University Dr, Tempe, AZ 85281
(480) 968-4712
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 623 Restaurants in Tempe
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Fast Food
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great big burger cooked in front of you on an open flame.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

First of all, the place seems like a dump. The chairs for the tables are wooden boxes or tree stumps. The place seems to stay busy being right at the ASU campus. You can choose from burgers or chicken. I had the big cheesburger. They cook it in front of you as you keep moving down the line. You pick up the order, pay for it, then put all the fixins on yourself.
If you like burgers and are in the Phoenix area, it's worth a drive to Tempe to get a Big Juan.

P.S. if you eat outdoors kep an eye on your fries or the birds will get them.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    19
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tempe, az
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Consistant and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Screw all the fast food chains & their grinning, paper hats!!! This place grills my burger over a mesquite fire inches away from me every time! I've been going here for 10+ years & will continue to frequent it forever. I'll haunt it if I have to just for some of their amazing fries dipped in their ranch....you add your own toppings after moving down a "soup-nazi" like line and sit on crates at copper tables. Nothin' more authentic than that smack dab in the middle of a campus town!!!! I love it & I really highly recommend it. On top of their years of success & service, they didn't sell out like ALL the other businesses around them that were demolished into parking lots, so that just adds respect to respect. Please get in line, but bring bills 'cause this place is cash only!!! (or use the on-site ATM) Enjoy!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“No better burgers anywhere else in Phoenix metro area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great burgers grilled right in front of you. Small, medium, or large. Plenty of options for toppings and the fried zucchini was fantastic. Fixin's bar to finish your burger out the way that you want it.

CASH ONLY but they do have an ATM inside.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Az
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great food across the street from ASU”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The food was very delicious. You order the food at the counter and then wait for them to cook it so it's nice hot fresh food. This is a great place for a college hang out and watch an ASU game. Not many tables and the benches are hard but what do you expect from a college hangout place.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Chicken Burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The food is made to order. We have the chicken burgers which are really great. We go during the summer when the ASU traffic and crowds are minimal.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuckbox Restaurant also viewed

Tempe, Central Arizona
 
Tempe, Central Arizona
Tempe, Central Arizona
 

Been to Chuckbox Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chuckbox Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.