We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Peaks Restaurant

Four Peaks Restaurant
1340 East 8th Street Ste 104, Tempe, AZ 85281
(480) 303-9967
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 578 Restaurants in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
tempe, az
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

They really know what they're doing, so when you order a special, know you're in for a treat!!!! It's always crowded & for good reason. The parking may be a pain, but it's totally worth it! If you have trouble finding it or parking, call them & I'm sure they'll be happy to help you out! Tucked away, but in a Happy Place! :P

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    126
    29
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I come here with my friends once a week. It's not the easiest place to have a conversation, but the beer is good and the best fish and chips outside of the coast.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Never disappointing after more than a decade of serving great food and beer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have frequented the original Four Peaks Restaurant since well before it sold food or hard alcohol (i.e., since about 1997).

The trend in Tempe is generally for bars/restaurants to pop up, and have a life that's a bit like a solar flare; springing to a gentle life at the very beginning, fiery and popular in the very short heyday, and then a quick and tragic death.

Luckily, the talented management at Four Peaks has bucked the trend for well over a decade. Despite being in a college town, despite being located in an old creamery with large-scale brewing and bottling also sharing the site, and despite the challenge of time itself, Four Peaks just keeps rolling along, serving the best beer anywhere, terrific food and all the while maintaining a casual atmosphere that is welcome to just about any type of customer at nearly any (legal) age.

I had not been to Four Peaks in over 3.5 years when I made this last visit in November, 2012 (I now live in Europe, not Arizona). Having repeatedly had my expectations squashed when visiting businesses after such a hiatus, I was delighted to find that the Oatmeal Stout is still the best I have ever tasted, that the Beer Bread Sandwiches (beef or portabella mushroom) are still scrumptious, and that the staff is still attentive, friendly, and most importantly, not in a hurry to turn your table over even though there may be someone ready to take it from you.

Four Peaks is truly a bright spot in a very sunny place.

Finally, I highly recommend not only the Oatmeal Stout and the stuffed Beer Bread Sandwiches, but the pizzas, the artichoke dip starter, and the crisp, light Kolsh (now called SunBru). The bar staff knows how to make the perfect Bloody Mary for brunch and the restaurant also has specials that are unique and delightful as well.

Enjoy!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for food and beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

No comparison for the taste of food and beer, we will visit this place when we like to eat some good chicken wings. You have a wide variety of beers and all i do is try a new one on my every visit...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food and even better drinks.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Ate here a couple of nights ago and was surprised how busy it was for a Wednesday night. Off the beaten track so make sure you know where you,re going. A hidden diamond. My wife and I got a starter and main each but both agreed 1 starter between 2 people would have been enough. My wife got the shrimp brusetta and shrimp pasta and I got the garlic bread and the southwest burger. Best burger I,ve ever had and not for the faint hearted. The service is also top class and we were approached by 5 different servers to see if we needed anything. They made sure we didn,t go thirsty. Would highly recommend and will go back again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Four Peaks Restaurant also viewed

Tempe, Central Arizona
Tempe, Central Arizona
 
Tempe, Central Arizona
 

Been to Four Peaks Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Peaks Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.