We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Hotel!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Studio 6 Phoenix - Tempe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Studio 6 Phoenix - Tempe to your Saves list
Studio 6 Phoenix - Tempe
4909 South Wendler Drive, I-10 at Baseline, Tempe, AZ 85282   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
Southampton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awful Hotel!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Terrible mistake booking in here! Supposed to have a no smoking room but everything stank of nicotine! Bed base was filthy as were curtains etc. Could not sleep as they have long term boarders in their rooms which were roaming round the place with dogs and we just did not feel safe staying so were out first thing in the morning! Reported our feelings before leaving and will not be making the same mistake again with this chain of hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    8
    3
    10
See reviews for
1
4
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California Hot Springs, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Very nice place, i was there for a few days, place was very clean,Romo smell good, kitchenette very usefull, has all you need, staff is greate, housekeeping did a grate job everything day that I was there my Room got cleaned, and the location is perfect right next to the I-10.
I would defenetly stay here in my next visit to Phoenix.
And they have closets.
It is my understanding there has been a change in managment looks like is working.

Room Tip: Rooms on the center of the buildings are larger still one bed but larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Check in was fast and courteous. Night time security . But the room needs help. Prominent rust in the tub. Carpets need a good deep cleaning. Bed was ok. The bathroom towels were stained.
Good price and no frills....it's a motel 6 frills are not to be expected.
I don't think I will return

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Filthy does not convey the level of scum, rot, stains, ungodly smells from this place----inside and out. Minimal attention done to property for photo purpose only. Trash everywhere. Rancid smells and stains all over cement walks and staircases to rooms. They need to power wash all areas outside immediate room entrances and staircases. Really, you will never find a dirtier place. The "last" and "only" room available claim is to force you to accept the lack of clean sheets, counters, appliances. DO-----look at the walls, headboard, bedding, furniture, and appliances as they have all kinds of suspicious stains and often do not work properly. This place caters to sketchy, undesirable guests and their associates. Be careful --- this is not a safe or maintained property. This motel 6 chain of hotels are always less than quality, but this place takes the motel 6 people and their properties to a new low. Look elsewhere. Safety is important and so is sanitation. This is substandard housing and a sham. To take peoples money is for this place is unethical and negligent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

There is not enough space here to describe the horribleness of this property, which looks fine from the outside. (Well, not really. the corridor walkways would need a blow torch as to get rid of the accumulated scum.) Generally -- everything is old, worn out, dirty, broken or malfunctioing here. I will be somewhat kind, and save the specifics for the letters I am writing to the managers and corporate HQ's. Let's just say the room interiors have never been "refreshed" for the history of the property, which has to be at least 10 years -- or as long as the Studio 6 concept has existed. The final, crowing insult -- as I was leaving, I used the lavatory. The toilet clogged. How appropriate, how symbolic of this visit.

Room Tip: If my room was an indicator, there aren't any good rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I Have stayed here before. Good value. Nice location. Only one maid service for weekly. Petitioner friendly but i have not been charged $50 pet fee at any Motel 6 before as they advertise pet friendly. Nice pet area. Quiet nobody bothered me. Close to Arizona Mills and some conveniences. Easy access from highway. Staff has been courteous. This motel has long term guests living there. They need to update and deep clean their rooms are dirty in need of cleaning. More regular maid service would be helpful. Overall a good value.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I relocated to Tempe, AZ in August of this year from Wisconsin. I called myself doing alot of research on this extended stay hotel and saw a couple of bad reviews, but did not listen..after all the pictures makes it look amazing. Please be advised to listen to not only my review but the others that was placed this year alone. Let's start with the staff/management..horrible to say it nicely.

The Clientele, I had absolutely no idea what me and my seven year-old daughter was in for. How about several nights of Tempe police visits due to all the fights, drugs and prostitution. I feel like an idiot as I really did not pay attention. This is not a family place, please do not go there if you have a family. Trust me when I tell you get what you pay for at this place. The hotel has been in the news unnamed for all of the illegal activity taking place. I left immediately and was refunded my money so I am not writing this review out of malice. I really want other unsuspecting people to know that cheap in this case is not going to be the good way to go. Aside from the horrible air conditioners, dirty carpet, and several bed bug incidents its not worth it! Pay the extra money for the safety and better staff. I also have written and spoken to corporate, Accor, who operates this place and they are well aware of the issues.

Studio 6 needs a total make-over from the staff except shaunte! to the filthy rooms. The assistant manager lives on the property with kids, this amazes me! I am very happy that I left and just want others especially those traveling from other states to know.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Studio 6 Phoenix - Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio 6 Phoenix - Tempe

Address: 4909 South Wendler Drive, I-10 at Baseline, Tempe, AZ 85282
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Studio 6 Phoenix - Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio 6 Phoenix - Tempe Hotel Tempe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Studio 6 Phoenix - Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.