We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport at Tempe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport at Tempe to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport at Tempe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   808 North Scottsdale Rd, Tempe, AZ 85281   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nehalem, Oregon
1 review
“A home away from home!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

The management and staff at this hotel are amazing!! Very courteous, helpful, friendly and accommodating. Rooms are very clean, modern and comfortable. The location is great. Close to airport, shopping and really nice restaurants. Shuttle service at this hotel is also above and beyond what you would expect !!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    128
    40
    15
    8
See reviews for
135
89
46
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

we felt like family. The staff was awesome and made us feel at home away from home. This hotel had a great location and wonderful staff that was eager to assist in any request. Although I did not use it, the shuttle service seems an awesome addition to the enjoyment of local entertainment. I would highly recommend this hotel to all walks of life. Clean, inviting, spacious and economic. A PLUS

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

this hotel could not have done more for us if they tried! Exceptional service, went out of their way for my Ironman and the entire family. If we go back next year, this is where we will stay again

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

Have stayed at this hotel a couple of times. I have made it the benchmark that I compare all other hotels to. I have not stayed at another hotel in the price range(great value) that is better. Great staff and very clean.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, Nm
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Country Inn & Suites in Tempe is very, very close to ASU just north of the 202 Loop on Scottsdale Rd. The free airport shuttle was not available upon arrival at Sky Harbor but I was told to take a cab and the hotel would pay for it. I've heard this spiel before and have heard horror stories about this, but everything turned out fine -- the front desk clerk was waiting under the porte-cochere when we arrived after a short 5 minute drive from Terminal 4 and the driver was promptly paid. My reservation was in place and my time at the front desk was brief. The friendly folks at the front desk gave me a "goodie bag" (full of hard candy, chips & a breakfast bar) and two bottles of cold water to take to my room. Not posh by any standards but a nice gesture nonetheless.

I did not get the room I booked; it was parents' weekend at ASU and they were full and someone else got the 1-bedroom suite I booked. I ended up the first night in a "whirlpool" room, which had a spa tub in the corner. Not what I wanted but the room was large and it was clean and well-stocked with towels, bathroom amenities and -- get this -- robes. It also had a small refrigerator (which even on "max cold" never got very chilly), microwave and coffee maker. Despite the fact the hotel was full I was surprised how quiet it was. The next day (Sunday) the hotel pretty had pretty much cleared out by noon and it was very quiet for the next two days. In fact, I only encountered one other guest during the next two days. The front desk offered to move me to my originally-booked suite, which was a true suite with a door closing off the bedroom from the living room, two TV's and central air conditioning. The remotes in my new room did not work (batteries) and -- interestingly -- there was no alarm clock in the bedroom. Some might make a big deal over these things but not me; maybe I'm too easy to please, LOL. I just changed the batteries on the remotes and used my cell for an alarm clock. Best thing? The refrigerator in my suite worked very, very well and kept my drinks very cold. Unfortunately there isn't a convenience store close by (maybe a mile away) but the front desk sells bottled water for $1 and slightly larger bottles of water are available in the vending machine, also for $1. I didn't partake of the complimentary breakfast, opting to wait until 10:30 AM when the In 'N Out Burger (across the street and -- maybe -- a 1/4 mile south) would open so I could have a double double. You need to make advance reservations for the shuttle back to the airport so I'd suggest doing that the day before you leave, if not sooner.

I kept the "do not disturb" sign on my door at all times and when I'd leave my room a member of housekeeping would ask if I needed anything -- towels, bed made, floors vacuumed, trash emptied -- anything. My own needs are pretty simple so I always said, "No, thank you," which seemed to disappoint them. The only thing I asked of housekeeping was some extra towels when I moved to my new room and the housekeeper who brought them to me said, with a smile, "Are you SURE you don't need me to clean up or make the bed?" I assured her all was right with my room and I slipped her a couple of bucks for the towels, which seemed to make her happy.

I checked out at 11:50 AM on the day of my departure and front desk clerk Bryce was waiting to take me to Sky Harbor, which he did so very swiftly and efficiently. All in all? A nice stay. Look, it's not plush nor posh nor fancy and yeah, there were a couple of shortcomings that might make some people downright cranky but for a clean, large, comfortable room under $100 a night (with free Wi-Fi!) what is there to complain about? When I'm spending less that $100 I don't have high expectations but I would have to say my expectations where met and even exceeded, specifically by the front desk and housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
's-Gravenzande
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

We came to Tempe because we wanted to go to Trader Vic's and we found this hotel which wasn't too far away and besides that it was cheap. Service was good and so were our rooms. Staff was friendly. We got a welcome bag with goodies. Altho this hotel is close to the highway and airport we had a good stay and traffic/planes didn't bother us.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

I had a business meeting in Phoenix earlier that day and planned to stay in the Country Inn near the airport that night so I could rest up for an early morning flight the next day. I was looking forward to my stay because I had used, enjoyed Country Inns in other cities.

Country Inn-Phoenix Airport staff REPEATEDLY assured me via phone when I made the reservation that they offered free courtesy van pickup from, and dropoff at the airport, from early AM til late at night, so I decided to return my rental car and rely on the shuttle to take me to the hotel. BIG MISTAKE!!

When the time came, I returned my rental car to the airport around noon (weekday) and REPEATEDLY tried to call the hotel to request a courtesy van pick up. Every time I dialed the number, the phone would ring and ring, then the call would abruptly end as if a block had been placed on the phone number or someone picked up, then quickly hung up the phone. After nearly an HOUR of unsuccessfully trying to reach them on two different cell phones, I called other hotels for other options. They were either completely full or considerably more expensive. Finally disgusted with the entire experience--not to mention the Phoenix airport, which is an exercise in navigation confusion and chaos hell, I was lucky enough to book an earlier flight out of Phoenix that same afternoon.

Bottom line: Country Inns-Phoenix Airport LIE about courtesy shuttle availability. Their limited staff are either lazy or overwhelmed at checkout time and lack the simple decency to let their guests know that the shuttle is NOT available upon request. Instead, they just passively-aggressively avoid airport calls for service by hanging up or blocking their phones.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport at Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport at Tempe

Address: 808 North Scottsdale Rd, Tempe, AZ 85281
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tempe
#7 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport at Tempe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Carlson, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport at Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Phoenix Airport At Tempe
Country Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport At Tempe Hotel Tempe
Country Inn Tempe
Tempe Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport at Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.