We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and nice and convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport at Tempe

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport at Tempe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport at Tempe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   808 North Scottsdale Rd, Tempe, AZ 85281   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #3 of 46 hotels in Tempe
University Place, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“New and nice and convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We found this hotel on Trip Advisor after checking into a different property in Scottsdale that was completely dissatisfactory. This got the best reviews of those in our price range and I can see why. It's new and the room is very attractive with a good desk setup for the computer. I like having sheers on the windows as well as the darkening drapes so you can let some light in during the day without losing privacy. Breakfast is about like most places in this price range, although I think the waffle was better than average and they had REAL butter. Hurray! We come to Phoenix often for the grandchildren, and I think we'll stay here regularly since it's convenient to the airport, to our favorite Scottsdale restaurants, and a shorter drive east to the grandchildren since the hotel is right off the freeway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport at Tempe, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear AnnG629,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We really appreciate all of your feedback. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We will pass your feedback on to our staff. We really appreciate hearing your good comments. Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport at Tempe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    94
    30
    9
    5
See reviews for
107
74
38
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We flew into Phoenix around 7pm from the UK and was really hoping the hotel we chose was going to be comfortable. We booked the hotel shuttle, when we booked the hotel online. We were so pleased to see our ride arrive to take us, and the hotel had a very nice reception, the staff were friendly. Our room was what we hoped for. We went for a walk, after refreshing ourselves in our room, found lots of cafes and eatery's, if you stay on the same side of the road and keep walking, though there was somewhere to have a nice steak outside, and February in Phoenix was lovely weather. We had a lovely breakfast at the hotel in the morning, help yourself buffet, but Jean who is there, helps you out was very great, even with my Gluten intolerance and my husband had issues with allergies to black/white pepper she was kind enough to look at all the ingredients on all that we chose for breakfast. The Hotel shuttle dropped us at the Greyhound Coach station where we had booked online for a ride up to Flagstaff. Our trip to America was with no hire car so we used Taxis up in Flagstaff and Williams to get us around and Gypsy cabs (Brian) was at the Greyhound luckily, that was the only ride we had not booked from home, but we used his cab for the three day stay up there. We mention Brian's taxi on TripAdvisor a lot as our stay in America was brilliant, thanks to Trip Advisor too I might add, as all our Hotels were booked after reading on here all the reviews. So Big Thanks To "Trip Advisor".

Room Tip: as you come out of the Hotel and turn left stay on the same side of the road, there is a Restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport at Tempe, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We appreciate your feedback. We really hope you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for your review. We will pass your comments on to our staff. Thank you for your time. We really hope if your visit again that you will stay with us.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport at Tempe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at this property. Both times have been during Spring Training, and both times I got an excellent rate by booking through their website.

This particular hotel is freeway convenient, making it easy to visit more than one ballpark during your stay. It's also close to a nice outdoor mall with lots of dining options and a movie theater.

The rooms are average but clean and the staff is friendly and willing to help with anything. Breakfast is served each morning and is made up of the standard fare...donuts, cereal, yogurt, oatmeal, eggs, sausage, etc.

It's definitely become my "go to" place to stay while in the Phoenix area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport at Tempe, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Vonnie C,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We hope you enjoyed your stay during spring training. We value all guest feedback. We will pass your comments on to our staff. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport at Tempe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a great stay at the Country Inn and Suites when in Phoenix for the Buffalo Wild Wings Bowl. Complimentary shuttle to the Game and to the Airport. Lots of places to eat nearby and easy driving distance to Scottsdale.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport at Tempe, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Betsy H,

Thank you for telling us about you stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time in Phoenix. We appreciate your feedback. We will pass your comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing about their service. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport at Tempe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent 2 nights at this hotel. Our double queen room had the sink inside the bathroom. The free, hot breakfast offerings were different both days. The room was clean and snacks and the shuttle to anything within 5 miles were pluses. We were there on Easter Eve and found it surprising that the desk staff didn't work harder to help those of us at the hotel find a place to eat when we were all finding it difficult to find anything open. And the best was nothing special. In fact, it was coils; something we haven't experienced in a hotel bed in years.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport at Tempe, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear esperanzasl,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We appreciate all of your comments and concerns about the hotel. We are very sorry that you felt the front desk staff did go out of their way to help. We will pass this feedback on to them. We are sorry for any inconvenience that you were caused. Thank you so much for your feedback.. Guest feedback allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport at Tempe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Spent 4 nights at this hotel with my family to attend some spring training baseball games. Our trip was planned on rather short notice and the usual hotels we like to stay at were all booked. Based on the reviews off TripAdvisor, I decided to try the Country Inn & Suites. The location of the hotel was great for the games we were attending. Unfortunately, the disappointments outweighed the benefits of a good location. The room was clean but average. The beds weren't great but not bad. But the pillows were terrible. They were so thin, they had to be folded over and doubled up just to get a little bit of comfort. I called down to the front desk one night and asked for an extra pillow but was told the hotel doesn't have any extra pillows. Many hotels actually keep an extra pillow and blanket in the closet or dresser. Not this one. I also called down to the front desk one evening and asked for 2 extra towels. I was told they would be brought up to my room. They never arrived. On two separate occasions we tried to take advantage of the complimentary shuttle they advertised. The shuttle was chauffeured by one of the front desk staff. On our first attempt at using the shuttle, we got dropped off with two other groups of people on Mill Avenue and we were told to call the hotel when we wanted to get picked up. After finding a restaurant and eating, we called the hotel about 2 hours later and were told they would be there in 10-15 minutes. We stood outside of the restaurant and waited. 25 minutes later, we saw the shuttle park down across the street. As we were waiting for the crosswalk, a group of people got into the shuttle, closed the doors, and the shuttle was about to leave. I had my teenage son run across the street to stop the shuttle before it left. After running across the street with my wife and our 4 year old son, we managed to get into the van and make it back to the hotel. Which is better than what happened the second night when we didn't get picked up at all. My wife called and told the hotel precisely where we were in old town Scottsdale. The hotel told her they would be there in 5-10 minutes. After 30 minutes my wife called the hotel back to find out if they were coming. They told my wife the shuttle left a while ago and they have no way of getting in touch with the driver since she left her cell phone at the hotel. We waited another 10 minutes and then took a taxi back to the hotel. To be courteous, my wife called the hotel to let them know we were taking a taxi and the shuttle was no longer needed. They told her the shuttle is already back at the hotel anyway because the driver couldn't find us. The complimentary shuttle cost me $20 in taxi fare plus an additional $4 for tips to the shuttle drivers for dropping us off. What really bothered me was at no point did anybody apologize for the shuttle screw ups. All in all, if your looking for a basic hotel and you have your own transportation, you might be ok at the Country Inn & Suites. For me, our next stay in the area will be at a more reputable hotel.

Room Tip: Use the complimentary ear plugs from the front desk. The AC unit is loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I like that breakfast is included along with the free shuttle service available to transport to restaurants, area sites and venues. Some snack was always available: Bagged breakfast, popcorn, cookies, candies, apples. Pool and exercise room, frig & microwave in room. I was shuttled to and from the Desert Botanical Garden. Lovely! And the service of the driver was wonderful.

Room Tip: I believe all sides have good rooms AND there were ear plugs in a bowl at the front desk along with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport at Tempe, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear DiPDX,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. Thank you for your mention of the amenities that we offer. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Tempe/Phoenix. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport at Tempe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport at Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport at Tempe

Address: 808 North Scottsdale Rd, Tempe, AZ 85281
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tempe
#2 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport at Tempe 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Carlson, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport at Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport At Tempe Hotel Tempe
Country Inn And Suites Phoenix Airport At Tempe
Country Inn Tempe
Tempe Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport at Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.