We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1335 W Baseline Road, Tempe, AZ 85283   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in Tempe
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not what I expected.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We always stay in great hotels. This one was certainly not one of them. Firstly we arrived late and had a person outside having a cigarette tell us how to get a hold of the front staff...there is no way they know you are there unless you dial 0 on the telephone that is between the 2 doors. When she arrived she was friendly but so unkempt. It was a bit of a first impression put off. When we got to our room I was so disappointed. Being told that the cleaning staff only come once a week and we would have to make our own bed and get our own towels made me angry. It didn't get any better...I found the hotel to be in need of cleaning and some renovations.

I lost a charm in the room and when I called they advised they would check with housekeeping and call me back...they never did. I called again the next day and was put on hold for over 10 minutes.

Would not recommend if you are looking for something much more than they offer...

Room Tip: Don't expect too much from this hotel. Felt like a sleazy motel to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear TeresaA56,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I'm sorry your stay was negatively affected by the condition of the room and with the staff at the front desk. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests as these issues will be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    18
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
9
10
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I've always enjoyed my stay at the Candlewood Suites hotels. The hotel staff at Candlewood in Tempe, AZ always make me feel welcome from check in to check out and they are extremely hospitable and family-friendly. When time to depart, it's like leaving my family members. The rooms are very much suited for all my traveling needs and more. I've never met such a friendly staff who seems to generally care about their customers/occupants. I would definitely recommend and stay at Candlewood-Tempe whenever I come to town. Thank you Veronica, Maria, Carla, Ester and everyone for a fantastic stay at your hotel!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is a very hard one to review. I'll start with the good: the room. The room was very spacious (1 bedroom suite), it was very clean and the bed and linens were comfortable. There were TVs in the living room and bedroom which helps out a lot if you are traveling with kids. The front desk was very friendly and knowledgeable. Now for the not so good: The hotel smells like a cheap car air freshener. If you get headaches you will get one instantly from this smell. The good thing is the smell does not permeate the room. The hallways are in desperate need of new carpet. It is great that they offer free laundry, however, the laundry machines were one step away from gross. Do not do laundry there unless absolutely necessary. And then we come to the pool, which is situated at the end of the parking lot. It is tiny and surrounded by a few pathetic chairs about 20 feet from a major road. Not very inviting. There are also ashtrays outside of every door, so when you come into or out of the hotel you get the "pleasure" of walking through everyone's smoke.
If you are not going to spend a lot of time in the actual hotel then this place is fine for the money, if you're looking for anything "nice", this is not it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear travelwith3,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It's great to hear your positive feedback about our clean and comfortable room accommodations and helpful staff. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am very sorry that there were certain aspects of your visit that did not meet your standards in particular the unpleasant scent of air freshener and other areas in our facility. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your comments has been forwarded to the hotel management and we are confident they will take necessary actions to improve our guest satisfaction.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Overall this is an average Candlewood Suites and it came with the usual things I've come to expect. We had some problems in the room but it wasn't a big deal and it was fixed fairly quickly. I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

These towels will tear you up pretty bad if you don't rub your body gently. My torso was reddened, but after the first day, I just dabbed myself dry. They are striped and cause itching. Everything else at the hotel was excellent. The free laundry makes up for thev lack of breakfast, but they do offer free coffee (Maxwell House) in the AM and all day for that matter. They have a large amount of convenience store stuff also and that unusual honor system to pay for things. Not sure about making us pay for tea bags, but you can also cook and stuff in the room. The beds were great and it is a nice property overall.

Room Tip: 330 has nobody on both sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is not a bad hotel. The room furniture and bathroom are renovated and pretty nice. I had a "queen bed" room. The bed seems a little small - almost felt like a full size bed - for some reason. The space next to the bed is a little tight.

The location is convenient but not really close to the action of Tempe.

It seems 1/2 of the 3rd floor is smoking so beware if you don't like smoke.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the smoking section if you don't like smoke. Unfortunately the smoking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

the hotel is fine but I still can not get over when the desk staff is not trained to acknowledge a PLATINUM MEMBER......this is just a major flaw in training,,,,this is such a major part of Candlewood Suites programs, there is no excuse for this poor treatment of your best clients......TRAIN YOUR STAFF

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear glendale215,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe

Address: 1335 W Baseline Road, Tempe, AZ 85283
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. At the Candlewood Suites Phoenix/Tempe Hotel, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. Big and built for comfort, it's the ultimate suite for the business traveler. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over sized executive desk with two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD and DVD player. Borrow your favorites from our free DVD and CD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. We re a pet friendly hotel too (fees apply). The Candlewood Suites Phoenix/Tempe Hotel is located in South Tempe on Baseline Road near I-10 exit. Conveniently located just 3 miles north of the only IKEA in Arizona! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe Hotel Tempe
Candlewood Suites Tempe
Candlewood Tempe
Tempe Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.