We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1335 W Baseline Road, Tempe, AZ 85283   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
Maine
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good value, convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We selected this hotel because of its price, location to the airport and because it's part of the Holiday Inn chain. We also wanted kitchen facilities. The room was large, no frills. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful and made sure I knew what was available and also- what wasn't ( no daily maid service.) I loved the free laundry service as well as the 'grocery' items done by honor system!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    26
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
11
16
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

What a wonderful stay. This property doesnt miss a thing. All star staff KARLA KYLE AERYN are so friendly helpful with directions fun things to do resturant advice shops nereby everythihg.BBQ grills by the pool free laundrey clean stocked room and what a comfortable bed. The only negative was i had to leave so soon....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

After a 5 hr flight and 2 hr time difference. We had a HVAC system that ran loud and a refrigerator in the room that ran until we shut it off. The hotel does have a "honor system" store which was a first in 25 yrs of travel. But the price of the room was GREAT for us as we were using it in transit between PHX and sight seeing it worked out. Place was clean

Room Tip: book early to get a good rate on hold!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Dillboy,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the noise levels of the room prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the last weekend of spring training. The location is near the freeway and the mall. It is located not too far from the Anaheim Angels stadium. The staff was super friendly and accommodated our request for a larger room after the first assigned was too small for our group. The suite we stayed in was perfect for 4 people. They are a pet friendly hotel. We took our dog and I also saw people with their dogs. They have an outdoor dog station that is pretty much made of rocks. My dog was not used to doing his business on rocks but he got used to it for the time being.

About five minutes away is a Fresh and Easy and a little up is a Whole Foods Market. The hotel also has free movies that guests could borrow. Laundry is free, you just need to provide your own soap. There is a small snack area filled with items you can take back to your room. I would highly recommend this hotel when you are in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Isabella, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed for three days from Friday-Sunday. Maybe there is more staff on weekdays, but there was only one front desk guy the entire stay. I expected no housekeeping (not a problem for me), as they inform you on their website, but they also had no extra maintenance person. There was no TV remote in my room, and I had to go back down to the front desk to obtain one, since the front desk guy was alone.

The ironing board was so bent out of shape, it wouldn’t stand up by itself. Since I was traveling with a friend, I just swapped with the one in his room. Also, my friend never made his own coffee, because the instructions on his coffeemaker were rubbed out. I couldn’t help him, because I had a different model in my room. They need to pay more attention to details like this, and make sure everything is in working shape. They do have freshly brewed coffee always in the ‘cupboard’ area, so that was nice for him.

On the website, they advertise a fully stocked ‘cupboard’, which is like a mini-mart, complete with frozen items. The entire time I was there, the frozen food shelves were completely empty. Perhaps they only supply stuff for the weekday guests, but isn’t my weekend money just as good?

Now, those horrible towels. They literally felt like drying yourself with a rug. Roughest towels I have ever felt. Luckily, my friend had some towels he uses for camping, and we used them for the duration of the stay. I suggest bringing your own!

The fan in the bathroom turns on automatically with the light, and it is so loud, you have to blast the TV in order to hear over it.

The only reason I would possibly stay there again is the full refrigerator with freezer, and the very nice mini kitchen. That part was excellent. Oh, and the recliner was pretty awesome. However, if I can find another hotel in the area with those same features, I think I would stay there instead.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Rubybear9,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed here on Business which is located near the Arizona Mills mall in Tempe. The staff was superb and this is a no frills perfect hotel for long term stay. The room was spacious with full kitchen facility. TV had several channels and internet service was great. Hotel is slightly away ( about Two Blocks ) from the hustle and bustle of the area directly express from the West entrance of the mall where there are several small businesses and shops, so it was very quite as well. The rooms were clean and I liked their honor bar system for snacks & sundries. At departure, I asked for an extended rate package, since my associates were scheduled to be here I this area for the next few months and the Director of Sales was excellent and had great customer service skills. Good Hotel- Stay with confidence

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Olmsted
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This location has a friendly and accommodating staff. They are always asking how everything is and if there was anything they could do to help. Candlewood is a little different you are responsible for your own linen and trash but that what helps keep the cost down. The pool and sauna are very nice after a long day at work.

Room Tip: If your in the Tempe area possible to catch a couple Spring Training Games and need a low cost place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Terry M,

Thank you for posting a review regarding your stay with us. We are so happy to hear you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel. Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe

Address: 1335 W Baseline Road, Tempe, AZ 85283
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. At the Candlewood Suites Phoenix/Tempe Hotel, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. Big and built for comfort, it's the ultimate suite for the business traveler. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over sized executive desk with two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD and DVD player. Borrow your favorites from our free DVD and CD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. We re a pet friendly hotel too (fees apply). The Candlewood Suites Phoenix/Tempe Hotel is located in South Tempe on Baseline Road near I-10 exit. Conveniently located just 3 miles north of the only IKEA in Arizona! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe Hotel Tempe
Candlewood Suites Tempe
Candlewood Tempe
Tempe Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.