We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1335 W Baseline Road, Tempe, AZ 85283   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Tempe
Iowa
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The area is fine. Not a ton to do here but there is a mall just across the street and ASU within a few miles. Great spring training hotel just off the 60 and I-10. Rooms were clean, pool was small but nice and hot tub was warm. Best value in the entire area in my opinion.

Dependable stay with great customer service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    18
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
9
10
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mirabel, Qc
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
314 helpful votes 314 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great location for visiting the Phoenix area and also not too far from the Sky Harbor airport. Easy accesses to many highways. There is a nice mall (Arizona Mills) for doing some shopping (there is also an aquarium in that mall), just across the street.
This hotel is excellent and well taken care off.
Our room had a living room area, a full kitchen being well equipped and furnished (which is not the case most of the time with hotel's kitchenett) with plenty of seating space and a distinct closed bedroom. Flat screens in the living room and bedroom. I think the sofa was also a sofabed (if needed to accomodate more).
The area, the hotel and the room were clean and quiet.
The staff was friendly and helpful.
There is a small heated pool and a hot tub.
Two grills are available at your convenience for cooking and are situated in the pool area.
All of this for a very good price.
We stayed there for only one night but really enjoyed our stay and will be back at this hotel when returning to the Phoenix area

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a good place to stay for trips over a week, and you have a limited budget. The rooms are equipped with as small two glass top burner stove, and a coffee maker, toaster, and a nice size refrigerator, plus dishes, silverware, cups etc. There is also a small pool, with a grill, and a small fitness center. The down side is that there is no breakfast, and room cleaning. Linen changing is done once a week, and you will need a car to stock up. There is also, no ice machine, and the in room fridge make about 12 ice cubes every 5 hours. I did move to a different hotel after two days; it was just not for me.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear pjriccio,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. We are glad you liked the amenities in your room. We apologize for the over-all issues you had during your stay and any inconvenience you may have experienced. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 10 days on business trips this last month. The rooms were clean and were recently remolded last year. Flat screens with remote control, large table / desk for those who need to spreadout with two laptops in both studio and bedroom suites. The towels are much better condition....big plus. The staff is courteous and make every effort to upgrade room. The hotel is centrally located close to I-10, Shopping Mall, several banks and groceris stores on Baseline Rd, close to the Diablo Stadium (for Spring baseball), Mesa, Chandler, Guadalupe and Phoenix. The rates are reasonable, I dont understand why some hotels would rather have empty rooms with high rates. The taxes for the rooms (Tempe, AZ) are the lowest of any hotels in the Phoenix area.

The internet connection was great in the first two rooms, I was able to download large work files and watch a movie on Netflix....really great. However on the third room, I had connectivity to the router downstairs but was unable to get beyond the hotel. The staff member in the evening is new and suggested I try the wireless connection which is now secured via password. I hope hotel management will continue to support the ethernet acces for business travelers. For me, having reliable ethernet connection is a big plus when selecting a hotel.

I recommend this hotel when staying in the Phoenix area and will contiue to stay at this hotel (as long as they continue to support the ethernet access to the internet).

Room Tip: Studio rooms have ample desk area for work
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 6 nights on a business trip in January. The property and my room were very clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel includes an outdoor hot tub and pool that I used a couple of times and they were great. Although I didn't use, the property also includes complimentary laundry machines and well as gas grills for outdoor grilling. The location was very convenient, just a couple of blocks off the interstate with several restaurants nearby. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany. NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Wow....what a gem. Seriously, i had my doubts as i got a phenomenol room rate for one night. When i pulled in a 11p fri night (12/13/12) the front desk girl was sooo nice. She was sweet as could be and i was shocked when i went to the room. Huge, clean, nice bedding...even a complimentary bag of microwave popcorn in the microwave. Really nice!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This place was in a good location for my business travels. It was very clean and what I liked the most was that it was mostly business folks as there were no door slamers. There was a problem with the control for the AC / Heater but I didn't bother with it. Yes, I would recommend this place as I plan on returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe

Address: 1335 W Baseline Road, Tempe, AZ 85283
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. At the Candlewood Suites Phoenix/Tempe Hotel, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. Big and built for comfort, it's the ultimate suite for the business traveler. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over sized executive desk with two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD and DVD player. Borrow your favorites from our free DVD and CD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. We re a pet friendly hotel too (fees apply). The Candlewood Suites Phoenix/Tempe Hotel is located in South Tempe on Baseline Road near I-10 exit. Conveniently located just 3 miles north of the only IKEA in Arizona! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe Hotel Tempe
Candlewood Suites Tempe
Candlewood Tempe
Tempe Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Phoenix Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.