We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Friendly, Safe, Clean and Close to PHX” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Phoenix Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Phoenix Airport to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Phoenix Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2135 West 15th Street, Tempe, AZ 85281   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Budget Friendly, Safe, Clean and Close to PHX”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I have stayed a half a dozen times at this location. LOVE the entire hotel is NO Smoking! AND it doesn't have that "we-are-trying-to-cover-up-smoking" air freshener smell happening. Clean, tidy well kept. I have never had availability issues, room issues or otherwise. It is basic, clean and a great place to spend the night or week. Wifi is free and available BUT be aware that it is slow...no netflix or email reading. Windows can open so you can enjoy the AZ nights. Also, they charge 1.50 a night for the safe that no one uses. Make sure you ask the morning you leave to have it removed. Great place to stay if you are on a budget or in a pinch.

PS: Have microwave and minifridge.

The best part is walking over to Sheraton Tempe Airport hotel for breakfast buffet. That would be my suggestion. Amazingly fresh fruit. $10 might be steep for continental ($15 for eggs made your way- I never order that) but you have just stayed at a budget hotel so Splurge on breakfast. Look for my review on that next.

Room Tip: Go for a 2nd or 3rd story room to enjoy sleeping with the window open when its cool at night, great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redroof265, Manager at Red Roof Inn Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review and sharing your experience. It is nice to know that the no smoking policy was a benefit to your stay along with a clean room at a reasonable price. My staff takes great pride in their work and each review we receive, makes their day.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    78
    37
    9
    7
See reviews for
35
50
48
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

I was a late check in; Nora was helpful and very professional. I appreciated the care and respect that was given to me and my family so late at night. Thank you Nora for making my stay a great one, and thank you Red Roof for a clean peaceful stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redroof265, Manager at Red Roof Inn Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
On behalf of our staff, I am writing to let you know how delighted we were to receive your words of praise about the cleanliness and service. The staff members (like Nora), have a goal to provide outstanding service, each and every day. It is good to hear when our guests recognize their efforts and take the time to say thank you!

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Third stay at this hotel. The room I was in great shape. Most of the staff is very friendly – all very professional. No problem with check- in or check-out. Clean room and super reasonably priced for a metropolitan area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redroof265, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. It is our goal to provide excellent service and a clean room at a reasonable price. It is nice to hear that my staff was professional and friendly during your stay and the location was is what you were looking for.

Again, thank you and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The place is a bit ghetto as their is an car with its hood open and disabled is in the parking lot and a few interesting folks wandering about. Property isn't cleaned up either as I saw the same Starbucks Cup in Lot for three days. As for the rooms, they are decent, but not alot of TV channels if that matters and check your towels as big black hairs were on half of mine. Beds are still cozy though and coffee in the morning is good. The damn SAFE charge is a bunch of BS and as usual I forgot to tell them to remove the $1.62 per night charge, so I donated a few bucks to the Roof.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redroof265, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
I would like to apologize for the experience you had at our inn. Each and every guest puts their trust in my staff to deliver outstanding dependable service and we make it our priority to exceed guest expectations and provide a safe and comfortable place to stay while you are our guest. As soon as you brought your issues to my attention, I have taken care of the problems and hope that you will give us another chance the next time you are in the area.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo, ny
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This inn was clean, very conveniently located, and a great price if you need a place to sleep after a late arrival into Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport.

Pros: price, convenience (close to airport, highways, and easy to find), coffee maker in room is the extent of an amenity; clean, decent bed; great to sleep, shower, and head to your destination

Caveat: there is nothing 'wrong' with the inn. But it is very basic both in what it offers and the quality of what it offers. No iron or blow dryer in room (available at front desk). No toiletries other than Pantene combined shampoo & conditioner and a bar of soap. Small rooms. Dated.

I would not stay here if I were staying for a few days unless it is strictly to sleep and shower. And then I would bring my own toiletries etc.

No fitness center, and food available at lunch and dinner...we were gone before that so can't comment.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redroof265, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your review. Our goal is to provide outstanding dependable service at a reasonable price. I am glad that you were happy price and at a location that fit your needs. During your next visit with us, our Deluxe Doubles & Superior King rooms do in fact come with a full size ironing board, iron, & blow dryer but those are always available at the front desk.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MINNEAPOLIS
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Tough to find safe areas around the sky harbor airport. We had reservations at a days inn and if you don't mind smoking rooms and used syringes in the parking lot it's for you. This red roof inn is in a cluster of hotels five miles from the airport and even closer to the car rental return area. In this cluster all the hotels are newer and area is clean and safe. The Sheraton is in this cluster with an extended stay America hotel. I would have stayed at the Sheraton had I known. The red roof is the newest design. Very friendly staff. Rooms are basic like a motel six. No breakfast. Coffee in the lobby is good. Plenty of parking near the door. No airport shuttle. For the price $89 this was not a great value but it was very clean and safe.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redroof265, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for your words of praise. It is truly rewarding to know that you were satisfied with the location of the Inn, friendly staff, and close to where you needed to be. Our goal is to provide outstanding dependable service at a reasonable price.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Elgin, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed for one-week at this hotel. Everyone there did everything they could to make us happy. The original room we were in was not perfect (no shower curtain and had a very musty smell) but they quickly moved a refrigerator into another room and moved us without question.
Not a 4-star hotel, but very comfortable and worth the price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redroof265, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Phoenix Airport, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Red Roof Inn Phoenix Airport. It is truly rewarding when our guest recognize the efforts of the staff and take the time to tell about it. It is reviews like yours that makes their day!

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Phoenix Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Phoenix Airport

Address: 2135 West 15th Street, Tempe, AZ 85281
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tempe
#15 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Phoenix Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Phoenix Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe
Red Roof Inn Tempe
Tempe Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Phoenix Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.