We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant - Relaxing - Great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1413 West Rio Salado Parkway, Tempe, AZ 85281-2406 (Formerly "AmeriSuites Tempe/Phoenix Airport")   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #22 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Apache Junction
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant - Relaxing - Great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

So I had need of a hotel for a business trip to Phoenix. I wasn't real impressed by the Phoenix hotels by the airport and thought I would try one in Tempe AZ. I was very pleasantly surprised!
The staff was exceptionally friendly!!! The hotel was clean and nicely decorated. The dining area was small but quaint and the food was very good. The room I had was not large, but roomy enough for 2 people. Large Screen TV. Excellent Desk for work.
Very convenient location and they offer free local shuttle. Great area to walk/jog, just a couple blocks from Tempe Town Lake.
I would pick this hotel for my next stay for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing North.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    66
    28
    8
    7
See reviews for
40
25
28
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
American Southwest
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We generally steer clear of chains, high end or low end. But we've always made an exception for Hyatt Place. It is the same place where ever we've stayed. But in this case, that's a good thing. This location suited our travel plans. It was identical to other locations we've visited. Attractive informal lobby and check in. Attentive personable staff. Same room, same level of cleanliness and maintenance. While not a true suite, separate living and sleeping areas. Great desk and chair, flat screen with high tech extras, very clean bathroom. All what we've come to expect. Pretty good continental breakfast as well with one hot dish and lots of healthy choices.

We like the chain and this property certainly was up to their high standards.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Checked in fairly late, the gentleman at reception was very personable. He was even there when I left in the morning - still cheerful and all smiles. The room was better than expected - really liked the functional work/relaxation space and the input panel on the wall to hook in HDMI/etc to the TV (great for watching Netflix/etc). Internet was very quick (perhaps the fastest of any non-boutique hotel I've frequented) and didn't require multiple annoying logins. Breakfast was the tastiest and most balanced I've seen from other hotels in this price range. This is my new favorite hotel in the Tempe area, will certainly frequent it again when visiting for work or pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, RI
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a great location for the airport. We dropped our rental car off the night before and took the shuttle to the airport in the morning. So easy! Staff was very friendly. Not much in the area, but you could use the shuttle to get around. We had a nightcap and some soup at the little hotel bar in the lobby, which was handy. Our room was what you expect from a Hyatt Place. It was clean and a good size.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East coast
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed one night at the Hyatt Place Tempe hotel. It is near the airport, and our room on the south side was away from the landing/takeoff pattern, so there was no airplane noise.

We have stayed in other Hyatt Place hotels, so the layout of the room was very familiar. We enjoyed the free Wifi, and the spaciousness of the room. As with the other Hyatt Place hotel, the toilet/shower room has a door which is difficult to open and close without moving around in that room.

We had our own rent-a-car, so we didn't use the complimentary shuttle. As others have said, there is nothing really close by, so transportation is needed for local restaurants, etc. But we again enjoyed the free breakfast before our early morning departure.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belwood, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our family of seven stayed there the last night of our week long holiday to beautiful Arizona and the Grand Canyon and we very impressed. Not knowing the area, coming from Canada we just chose this hotel on line because of the webpage and closeness to the airport and they didn't disappoint us. From the cleanliness, to the happy staff that greeted us, to Eric the complimentary drivers that took us to the mall and then to Monti's Steakhouse that night (complimentary shuttle within 5 miles to hotel- excellent stress free service), to the great breakfast with a good assortment not to mention the reasonable price. If we are ever this way again we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midreshet Ben-Gurion, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is outstanding by any standards. A courtesy shuttle picked me up at the airport and conveyed me to various business meetings for the following 3 days, and to downtown restaurants in the evenings, and finally, back to the airport - not from the hotel but from the venue of my meeting: All free of charge! Service was friendly. Continental breakfast contained a rich assortment of offerings. Desk service was friendly and unusually helpful. Room was excellent in every way. The first time I've stayed at a hotel with absolutely nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport

Address: 1413 West Rio Salado Parkway, Tempe, AZ 85281-2406 (Formerly "AmeriSuites Tempe/Phoenix Airport")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe
Hyatt Tempe
Tempe Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.