We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant - Relaxing - Great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1413 West Rio Salado Parkway, Tempe, AZ 85281-2406 (Formerly "AmeriSuites Tempe/Phoenix Airport")   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Up to 15%
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
North Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pleasant - Relaxing - Great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

So I had need of a hotel for a business trip to Phoenix. I wasn't real impressed by the Phoenix hotels by the airport and thought I would try one in Tempe AZ. I was very pleasantly surprised!
The staff was exceptionally friendly!!! The hotel was clean and nicely decorated. The dining area was small but quaint and the food was very good. The room I had was not large, but roomy enough for 2 people. Large Screen TV. Excellent Desk for work.
Very convenient location and they offer free local shuttle. Great area to walk/jog, just a couple blocks from Tempe Town Lake.
I would pick this hotel for my next stay for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing North.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    94
    53
    12
    9
See reviews for
74
40
30
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
American Southwest
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We generally steer clear of chains, high end or low end. But we've always made an exception for Hyatt Place. It is the same place where ever we've stayed. But in this case, that's a good thing. This location suited our travel plans. It was identical to other locations we've visited. Attractive informal lobby and check in. Attentive personable staff. Same room, same level of cleanliness and maintenance. While not a true suite, separate living and sleeping areas. Great desk and chair, flat screen with high tech extras, very clean bathroom. All what we've come to expect. Pretty good continental breakfast as well with one hot dish and lots of healthy choices.

We like the chain and this property certainly was up to their high standards.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Checked in fairly late, the gentleman at reception was very personable. He was even there when I left in the morning - still cheerful and all smiles. The room was better than expected - really liked the functional work/relaxation space and the input panel on the wall to hook in HDMI/etc to the TV (great for watching Netflix/etc). Internet was very quick (perhaps the fastest of any non-boutique hotel I've frequented) and didn't require multiple annoying logins. Breakfast was the tastiest and most balanced I've seen from other hotels in this price range. This is my new favorite hotel in the Tempe area, will certainly frequent it again when visiting for work or pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, RI
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a great location for the airport. We dropped our rental car off the night before and took the shuttle to the airport in the morning. So easy! Staff was very friendly. Not much in the area, but you could use the shuttle to get around. We had a nightcap and some soup at the little hotel bar in the lobby, which was handy. Our room was what you expect from a Hyatt Place. It was clean and a good size.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East coast
Level Contributor
163 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed one night at the Hyatt Place Tempe hotel. It is near the airport, and our room on the south side was away from the landing/takeoff pattern, so there was no airplane noise.

We have stayed in other Hyatt Place hotels, so the layout of the room was very familiar. We enjoyed the free Wifi, and the spaciousness of the room. As with the other Hyatt Place hotel, the toilet/shower room has a door which is difficult to open and close without moving around in that room.

We had our own rent-a-car, so we didn't use the complimentary shuttle. As others have said, there is nothing really close by, so transportation is needed for local restaurants, etc. But we again enjoyed the free breakfast before our early morning departure.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belwood, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our family of seven stayed there the last night of our week long holiday to beautiful Arizona and the Grand Canyon and we very impressed. Not knowing the area, coming from Canada we just chose this hotel on line because of the webpage and closeness to the airport and they didn't disappoint us. From the cleanliness, to the happy staff that greeted us, to Eric the complimentary drivers that took us to the mall and then to Monti's Steakhouse that night (complimentary shuttle within 5 miles to hotel- excellent stress free service), to the great breakfast with a good assortment not to mention the reasonable price. If we are ever this way again we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midreshet Ben-Gurion, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is outstanding by any standards. A courtesy shuttle picked me up at the airport and conveyed me to various business meetings for the following 3 days, and to downtown restaurants in the evenings, and finally, back to the airport - not from the hotel but from the venue of my meeting: All free of charge! Service was friendly. Continental breakfast contained a rich assortment of offerings. Desk service was friendly and unusually helpful. Room was excellent in every way. The first time I've stayed at a hotel with absolutely nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tempe hotels
1.4 mi away
Tempe Mission Palms
Tempe Mission Palms
#3 of 47 in Tempe
4.5 of 5 stars 779 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Tempe Downtown
1.8 mi away
Graduate Tempe
Graduate Tempe
#6 of 47 in Tempe
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn Tempe Downtown
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Phoenix Tempe/Airport
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Phoenix Airport at Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport

Address: 1413 West Rio Salado Parkway, Tempe, AZ 85281-2406 (Formerly "AmeriSuites Tempe/Phoenix Airport")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Tempe
#12 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport Hotel Tempe
Hyatt Tempe
Tempe Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Tempe/Phoenix Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.