We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by it's cover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Inn & Suites Tempe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Inn & Suites Tempe to your Saves list
Red Lion Inn & Suites Tempe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1429 N Scottsdale Road, Tempe, AZ 85281 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by it's cover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I pulled up to check-in and was not liking what I saw...construction barriers and workers to the south and no place to park. I walked into the lobby and told staff I wasn't happy with what I was seeing. They gave me a key to check out a room and if I still wasn't happy, they would cancel my reservation. BTW, I had three rooms reserved. After checking out the room, which required a walk through the property, I was liking the cozy feel of Red Lion. I told them I wanted to check some other places but soon returned as this location was good for our purposes, close to the 202 and Scottsdale Road.

We spent three nights at Red Lion and could not have been more pleased. There was a turf area where my granddaughters could practice with their volleyball. They enjoyed the pool. Two of our rooms were suites. The living area was very adequate but the bedroom was a little tight. Supposed to be two queen beds but seemed more like expanded full size to me. Breakfast was typical hotel fare.

The staff all three days was very courteous, helpful and accomodating. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on second floor, near Scottsdale Road, but didn't hear road or construction noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar S, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Tempe, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We try to minimize the construction noise as much as possible so our guests can have an enjoyable stay. I am happy to hear you and your family enjoyed the common areas of the hotel. Thank you for choosing to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    93
    41
    21
    9
See reviews for
81
77
43
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Covina, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

One of the least expensive hotels in the area, but don't let that scare you away! Clean room with crisp sheets on a comfortable bed, lots of great options for breakfast. Front desk person wasn't always around to answer questions during normal business hours, but that was the only negative thing we experienced during our stay. Would definitely stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper M, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Tempe, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for your review: I was glad to hear your stay was pleasant. I have spoken to the front desk about their attention to detail when it comes to our guest. We would love to see you in the future.


Thank you
Jasper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I used the 30% promotion , so the room rate great! The only thing that turned me off was the bathtub, it was gray on the bottom , not sure if it could be cleaned unless they resurface the tub. Otherwise the room was clean

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper M, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Tempe, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hello gigspa51 first I'd like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was glad to see you take advantage of one of our promotions. I was a little remised to here you had problems with our tub. Since your stay I have addressed the "tub problem" with our maintenance director. We look forward to having you as a guest in the future. It was a pleasure serving you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
az
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Very convenient to PHX airport, 10 minute drive or use their complimentary van. Many nearby restaurants. Room was clean, well designed and well maintained. Comfortable bed. We stayed in a suite and had a microwave, refrigerator and extra room. Good complimentary breakfast. Reception Staff is helpful. Great value in a pricey city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar S, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Tempe, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for staying with us again! We are happy to hear you found our hotel clean and convenient. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

great place to stay with great prices. Will definitely be staying here again. Thanks for the fantastic service! Very clean and great customer service!! We had a great time while visiting from Florida!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar S, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Tempe, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are so happy you enjoyed your time in Tempe. We strive to provide our guests with a clean and comfortable room with great service and are happy to hear when we have done so. Hope to have you stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Booked a kitchenette from March 18-25 to catch some Spring training baseball games. I have been here previously when it was a Hampton Inn and I loved it. Nothing has really changes as far as I can tell but here is a rundown:
Rooms- large, clean, well furnished with modern appliances and televisions but surprisingly, no utensils??? In a Kitchenette???
Property- clean, well manicured grounds. Did not check out the pools but from what I remember, they are good.
Amenities- complimentary breakfast buffet with good coffee, juices, fruits, oatmeal, waffles, eggs, assorted pastries and otherwise a great way to start your day.
The hotel shuttle bus can take you anywhere within a five mile radius. Thankfully, Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport is within the five miles, as are many of the Spring Training Facilities in the Cactus League
Staff- one word... AWESOME. From the front desk clerk on admission to the shuttle bus driver they were all very professional and courteous.

All in all, I would have absolutely no reservations about coming back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonTempe, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Tempe, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed your Spring training trip. Thank you for taking the time to reveiw your stay with us. Hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

On our last night staying at the red lion we were locked out of our room! We came back from getting food and our key card did not work. After telling the man at the front desk he "fixed" our key. We went back to our room and the door still would not open! We then went back to the front desk where he preceded to tell us how to use the key card (as if we had not been using them all weekend!) and made us two new keys. We went back to our room where surprise neither of the keys worked. The security guard came to help us and very rudely accused us of either having someone in the room or having something hanging on the back of the door, we of course had neither. He then told us he was going to the airport and would figure something out when he got back! It was cold outside and we were told to just wait for an hour while he "figured something out??!!" Finally the guy at the front desk just gave us a new room and said we had to wait for the maintenance guy to get there at 7 in the morning. So now we have a new room with none of our things! I didn't have my contact solution, glasses, or medication.... Then the next morning the maintenance guy had to take the whole keypad off the door as it was completely broken! Not to mention we had a bill in our room for the whole time we stayed. No mention of trying to rectify the whole mess of the night before! I am super super upset with the whole situation as we really enjoyed the room and were planing on staying at the Red Lion when we go to Disneyland later this year. Doubt that now!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonTempe, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Tempe, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello Alisha, I am so sorry for the experience you had at our hotel. It is not a usual guest experience. I am happy that I was able to compensated you for the troubles you experienced. I sincerely hope you will give us another chance to extend our usual hospitality. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Tempe

Address: 1429 N Scottsdale Road, Tempe, AZ 85281 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Tempe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a three-tier Resort style destination centrally located in the heart of the Phoenix Metro Area, 1 mile north of Arizona State University, 2 miles south of Old Town Scottsdale, 1 mile west of the brand new Tempe Marketplace, and less than 4 miles east of the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX).The Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix/Tempe – ASU is conveniently located one mile from downtown Tempe and Arizona State University. With 162 beautiful guestrooms and suites, our hotel offers central location, diverse amenities and a friendly staff with in-depth knowledge of the region. Whether you’re travelling to Arizona for business or pleasure, we are the ideal destination for anyone visiting the Phoenix/Tempe area. If you’re looking for world-class shopping, recreation and entertainment, you’ve come to the right place. Watch the Cactus League Spring Training featuring 15 MLB teams. Golf at top notch courses like ASU Karsten Golf Course, Arizona Grand Resort or the Legacy Golf Resort. Paddle a kayak around Tempe Town Lake and afterward, take in a Broadway performance at the ASU Gammage auditorium. Shop at Old Town Scottsdale, just four miles away and one of the biggest destinations in the greater Phoenix area. Relax in one of our guestrooms featuring signature Red Lion beds, complimentary wi-fi, work desks and flat screen TVs. Suite options include rooms with an oven, dishwasher, refrigerator and microwave. Our resort-style setting offers a complimentary breakfast, fitness center, 24-hour convenience store, news stand, outdoor swimming pool, 15-person whirlpool, tennis court and a putting green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Phoenix Tempe - Asu
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix Tempe - Asu Hotel Tempe
Hampton Inn Tempe
Tempe Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Asu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Inn & Suites Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.