We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, will Return.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Inn & Suites Tempe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Inn & Suites Tempe to your Saves list
Red Lion Inn & Suites Tempe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1429 N Scottsdale Road, Tempe, AZ 85281 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Monday Sale
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
Garden Grove, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay, will Return.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My family & I have a wonderful time staying at Red Lion Inn & Suites on 08/27/13. Check in was so fast & friendly. The Clerk was very nice & helpful. He told me I have an automatic upgrade to a full suite with kitchen. He shows me actually where my room is on the map, which is 25 steps away. I park my car right under my room. I can see my car from my room. The staff are very friendly. Breakfast in the morning is ok. The most fancy thing my niece & nephew love is the pancake. Everything else is just regular continental breakfast.

The room was very clean, beds are clean & pillows very comfortable. The kitchen is very clean & the fridge is huge. It is very nice to have the kitchen we went to Fry supermarket & brought corns to cook & green grapes to washed in the sink. The pool was small & kinna dirty. The room is quiet. We will return to Red Lion Inn & Suites if we return to the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonTempe, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Tempe, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our full kitchen suites are great for guests on long stays or guests with kids. I am sorry to hear the pool was dirty while you were here. We try and clean both pools every morning. I will share your comments with our maintenance staff. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    72
    32
    18
    5
See reviews for
59
67
31
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
AZ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Terrific rate...cheaper than parking at phx for 9 days!! Had a great suite eith kitchenette...nice safe parking location too. Friendly staff. Lovely pool in middle of complex...hot tub too. 5 mins to airport.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonTempe, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Tempe, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. Our park and fly is a favorite among locals and residents of AZ outside of Phoenix. Hope you had a great trip and choose to park, stay and fly with us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

My gf and I spent the weekend in one if the kitchenette suites and had a BLAST!! The beds were clean and comfortable, the service was awesome, and the breakfasts were delicious (waffles with the hotel logo...a must see!!). Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonTempe, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Tempe, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
I am happy to hear you had a great staycation!! We have lots to offer at our property, 2 pool, jacuzzi, putting green... And our free shuttle will take guest anywhere in a 5 mile radius. Enjoy dinner and night life in Old Town Scottsdale without worring about driving or paying for a cab. Hope you choose your next staycation with us. Thank you for reviewing our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed here before a flight. It is located close to the airport. My first surprise was how great the room was. Everything was much more than I expected. The hotel has 2 swimming pool and a putting green and most likely has more but I didn't see all of the property. There was prompt service to and from the airport and I was able to park my car for free. They had a great breakfast. A computer in the lobby as well as WIFI. There was nothing more to ask for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonTempe, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Tempe, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our property. We like our hotel too :) And it's only getting better. We are starting a lobby and breakfast remodel as well as upgrades to the rooms. We are scheduled to done by November 7th. Hope you will visit again to see he exciting changes. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I made a trip to meet my family in Phoenix (as we do annually) and we have always stayed in the same area and since the last few years stayed in the same hotel, which was a Hampton Inn, but this year we were confused and skeptical to learn it was a new chain, the Red Lion. We called and since it seemed so similar we took a chance and stayed.

We are so happy we did! The people were the same. Great service and same happy and helpful people.

I actually like the new feel and my family and I had such a great time here.

It's in such a great location and when my travels bring me to Scottsdale once a year, this is our family's home away from home!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Tempe, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hello Caligirlontheroad,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I am very happy to hear your stay was enjoyable and our staff provided great service. We look forward to seeing you and your family again in the future!
Thank you again.
-Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YUMA
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Staying with a sleep park fly deal made this worthwhile, but otherwise I would not return. Solid service cannot make up for the serious ant problem in our room. Good size room with terrible bathroom, including the always unpleasant pubic hair on shower wall from previous guests.
Also, not a great area and a ways till you can find restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

The Red Lion Inn was previously a Hampton Inn that is associated with the ParkSleepFly website. We always choose this hotel when we are flying out of Sky Harbor. The staff, shuttle service, parking, breakfast, and facilities are great. We've been upgraded to one of the kitchenette suites recently and really liked the experience. We will continue to stay here.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Tempe

Address: 1429 N Scottsdale Road, Tempe, AZ 85281 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#9 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Tempe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a three-tier Resort style destination centrally located in the heart of the Phoenix Metro Area, 1 mile north of Arizona State University, 2 miles south of Old Town Scottsdale, 1 mile west of the brand new Tempe Marketplace, and less than 4 miles east of the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX).The Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix/Tempe – ASU is conveniently located one mile from downtown Tempe and Arizona State University. With 162 beautiful guestrooms and suites, our hotel offers central location, diverse amenities and a friendly staff with in-depth knowledge of the region. Whether you’re travelling to Arizona for business or pleasure, we are the ideal destination for anyone visiting the Phoenix/Tempe area. If you’re looking for world-class shopping, recreation and entertainment, you’ve come to the right place. Watch the Cactus League Spring Training featuring 15 MLB teams. Golf at top notch courses like ASU Karsten Golf Course, Arizona Grand Resort or the Legacy Golf Resort. Paddle a kayak around Tempe Town Lake and afterward, take in a Broadway performance at the ASU Gammage auditorium. Shop at Old Town Scottsdale, just four miles away and one of the biggest destinations in the greater Phoenix area. Relax in one of our guestrooms featuring signature Red Lion beds, complimentary wi-fi, work desks and flat screen TVs. Suite options include rooms with an oven, dishwasher, refrigerator and microwave. Our resort-style setting offers a complimentary breakfast, fitness center, 24-hour convenience store, news stand, outdoor swimming pool, 15-person whirlpool, tennis court and a putting green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Loews Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Phoenix Tempe - Asu
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix Tempe - Asu Hotel Tempe
Hampton Inn Tempe
Tempe Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Asu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Inn & Suites Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.