We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tempe/ASU” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix/Tempe-ASU

Save Saved
You added Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix/Tempe-ASU to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix/Tempe-ASU
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1429 North Scottsdale Road, Tempe, AZ 85281 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Free Night Offer
Ranked #5 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Alamogordo, United States
1 review
“Tempe/ASU”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Poor directions given in the Hampton Inn guidebook. TAKE I-10 WEST TO THE 202 LOOP EXIT 7. Good value and nice pools, despite constant air traffic overhead. Nice staff, except the college kid at the desk who has a lot to learn about the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    66
    29
    16
    4
See reviews for
50
63
29
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I was in town for business (triathlons) and was housed at this hotel. I am female, traveling alone, and felt completely safe on the premises. Bed was very comfortable; I had a couple of nights of good sleep even in an unfamiliar setting. The shuttle service is great. They took us and picked us up from Monti's Restaurant with zero issues. The room was a bit small but traveling alone it was perfectly-sized for me. I would not have wanted to be in that room with my family of 4, though.
There was quite a bit of noise from the celebrating triathletes but that's not the hotel issue....and I didn't hear anyone after 11 pm or so, so it may have been dealt with by the staff. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I am always pleased with my stays at Hampton Inn and once again I was happy. We had a suite which was a decent size, but not particularly large. Clean, comfortable, plenty of amenities. We enjoyed the pool which was heated (took no time to "get used to it"). The jacuzzi was nice too! There were lots of little places around to sit and enjoy the outdoors and the nice grounds. It was also very convenient to ASU if you are visiting the campus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Arizona
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed here in preparation for an early flight out of the Phoenix Airport the next morning, but notice I said "stayed" not slept! I should have asked to be moved to a different room, but I was all settled in and didn't feel like packing back up. They supposedly did me a favor and upgraded me to a suite but the bedroom backed up to busy Scottsdale Rd and I heard the traffic all night! Additionally, the on/off of the air conditioner was an irritant too. One good thing is you can park here and catch the shuttle to the airport, but I won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Room #203, it backs up to Scottsdale Rd and there is traffic all night long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempe_hampton_andrew, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix/Tempe-ASU, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
PasssionateTraveler,
I sincerely apologize for the noise issue encountered during your stay. Our guests’ comfort and safety is my number one concern. Your review will assist in correcting issues in the future. I do hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider staying at our property again and we will be more than happy to find a quiet room away from the street.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We checked in on Sat 4/20 with a family group of 15! Everything was fine and the staff were helpful. Kids loved the pool. We had a "red-eye" flight to NY late on Sunday night. Three of us returned rental cars to Hertz at PHX and used the shuttle to get back. We checked out on Sunday, bags were securely stored for us, and we used the shuttle to get us to the Zoo and back. Everyone was very helpful: particularly the shuttle drivers and the young lady who was on duty at the front desk both Sat and early Sunday. I say thank you for a good stay, good service and at a fair price. We would recommend this Hampton Inn in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We needed instructions on how to avoid road closures for "Pat's Run" yet still get to ASU on time for an all day workshop the day of the run. The front desk staff mapped it all out for us the day before so that we could do a test drive the evening before the workshop. They were 100% accurate. We would never have made it on our own!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We almost always choose a Hampton Inn when we travel and we are generally happy with this chain's hotel rooms. However, this Hampton Inn was significantly below expectations and appeared to be older than others we have stayed at. We reserved a King Bed room. The room was very small and there was no refrigerator or microwave in the room (a downgrade from other Hampton Inns we've stayed at). The air conditioner was exceedingly noisy. Walls were thin and I could hear the person in the next room snoring. About the only positive thing I can say is that the bed was comfortable and the room was generally clean although there were scuff marks on the bed headboard and on the room's entry door (inside and out). I went to the front desk that night to ask if they had any earplugs and an eye mask. I was told that housekeeping would send them up if they had these items. There was no follow-up and no visit from housekeeping. I would have expected at least a phone call to say that these items were not available. Breakfast was adequate but nothing special. The next morning I was sitting on the bed and periodically the entire room, including the desk and bed, would vibrate rapidly, as if there was some large machinery that was shaking the building. Never found out what it was and it kept happening on and off during the morning. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempe_hampton_andrew, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix/Tempe-ASU, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear RMCTucson,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry for the condition of your guest room. We will take your comments under consideration as we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will come visit us in the future.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix/Tempe-ASU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix/Tempe-ASU

Address: 1429 North Scottsdale Road, Tempe, AZ 85281 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#5 Family Hotel in Tempe
#10 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix/Tempe-ASU 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a three-tier Resort style destination centrally located in the heart of the Phoenix Metro Area, 1 mile north of Arizona State University, 2 miles south of Old Town Scottsdale, 1 mile west of the brand new Tempe Marketplace, and less than 4 miles east of the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX).The Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix/Tempe – ASU is conveniently located one mile from downtown Tempe and Arizona State University. With 162 beautiful guestrooms and suites, our hotel offers central location, diverse amenities and a friendly staff with in-depth knowledge of the region. Whether you’re travelling to Arizona for business or pleasure, we are the ideal destination for anyone visiting the Phoenix/Tempe area. If you’re looking for world-class shopping, recreation and entertainment, you’ve come to the right place. Watch the Cactus League Spring Training featuring 15 MLB teams. Golf at top notch courses like ASU Karsten Golf Course, Arizona Grand Resort or the Legacy Golf Resort. Paddle a kayak around Tempe Town Lake and afterward, take in a Broadway performance at the ASU Gammage auditorium. Shop at Old Town Scottsdale, just four miles away and one of the biggest destinations in the greater Phoenix area. Relax in one of our guestrooms featuring signature Red Lion beds, complimentary wi-fi, work desks and flat screen TVs. Suite options include rooms with an oven, dishwasher, refrigerator and microwave. Our resort-style setting offers a complimentary breakfast, fitness center, 24-hour convenience store, news stand, outdoor swimming pool, 15-person whirlpool, tennis court and a putting green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Loews Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix/Tempe-ASU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Phoenix Tempe - Asu
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix Tempe - Asu Hotel Tempe
Hampton Inn Tempe
Tempe Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Asu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix/Tempe-ASU, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.