We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Airport; Clean; Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Phoenix Tempe/Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Phoenix Tempe/Airport to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Phoenix Tempe/Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 West Rio Salado Parkway, Tempe, AZ 85281   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
Hinsdale, IL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Convenient to Airport; Clean; Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2007

Flew into Phoenix late in the evening on the start of a 2 week long Arizona vacation. Couldn't have been more pleased with our experience at this location. The front desk clerk working when we arrived around 10:00 p.m. accomodated a special request promptly- we asked for foam (not feather pillows) due to allergies. The King bed was very comfortable. Our 14 year old slept on the Hide A Bed and said it was "o.k." Nothing real fancy about the hotel or the location but you will not be dissapointed. It was very clean; the breakfast provided was adequate; and the service exceeded expectations for a Spring Hill Suites. We would stay here again if we needed a hotel close to the airport.

  • Liked — Location close to airport; cleanliness
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    51
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
26
27
6
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2007

We stayed at this property for one night at the end of a vacation in Arizona. It is close to Sky Harbor Airport and convenient to restraunts and other activities.

The only drawback could also be considered a positive to some. Because of the proximity to the airport, the hotel is located just south of the glide path of Sky Harbor's southern-most runway. It is a bit noisy (we had a room on the 6th, and top floor), but you can also watch the planes land if you have a room on the north side of the property. The noise was not a problem at all in regards to sleeping, but it was there during the day.

The staff of the hotel was friendly, and the property was extremely clean.

We would definitely stay here again as a very good airport property.

  • Liked — Proximity to the airport
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2007

SpringHill suites was amazingly quiet for a hotel near a major university and under the flight path from the airport. Even though we ended up being there on homecoming weekend, the hotel's policy of no alcohol on the property certainly contributed to lack of loud parties.
More than that, I always had the feeling that they were monitoring the
hotel very well. The room was well furnished and the in-room coffee maker and small refrigerator were convenient, but probably not necessary given the breakfast served in the lounge each day. The only draw back was the lack of a restaurant and bar because the hotel is several miles from the area where most restaurants are located. This would not be a convenient location for someone visiting ASU but not having a car--the hotel provides a shuttle, but that really can't take
everyone to diverse locations.

  • Liked — Quiet clean rooms
  • Disliked — No nearby restaurants
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortuna, ca
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2007

My husband and I stayed in a king size suite. It was very comfortable. There was a sink, microwave, and refrigerator in the living room area with a work desk. We had a sofa and chair and a coffetable. There was a sink outside the shower and toilet area. We were in the path of the airport. But we did not hear the airplanes until the morning. Our only complaint were that the sheets kept popping off all night. Which was a bid bothersome. Breakfast was good. Lots of hot and cold choices. There was also free use of the computer in the dining area. There was always fresh fruit to eat in the lobby. The front desk was so very helpful. They gave out maps and helped find places we needed to go. Quick check in and check out. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2007

We stayed here for Ironman Arizona in 2007. The hotel itself is not the nicest place I've ever stayed at. But the staff and the service make up for all of that. The hotel took care of all the athletes by providing "to-go" bags of breakfast early the morning of the race (water and fruit.) They shuttled us to and from the race site all weekend, and they shuttled my family to and from the race all day Sunday. They are about a mile from the race site and are almost on the run course. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone competing in IM-Arizona, especially for the price, and I would also recommend the hotel for anyone staying in this area of town.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — world's slowest elevator
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Wi.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2007

After an extensive search and reading dozens of reviews for lodging on our recent trip to the southwest, we decided to stay at Springhill Suites for our first night on the road. Surprised by its close proximity to the airport, we were a little concerned when we first arrived. Turned out to be unfounded!
The rooms are wonderful, large and well laid out. We had a double queen room and the beds were actually queen size, compared to others we've booked in the past. The bathroom was very roomy with a well-lit tub/shower with curved shower bar. Nice amenities to boot! Counter was spacious as well.

Everything was extremely clean. The beds were very comfortable; cushy with extra pillows...didn't want to get out in the morning. Unlike most hotel beds, it didn't feel like hundreds of guests had stayed in them, very plush, fresh and crisp! The complimentary breakfast left nothing to be desired with a multitude of hot and cold choices! Juice wasn't watered down as in most chains. Chek-in and out was easy and without a hitch.

We are very choicy when it comes to accomodations. We don't like to pay a lot, especially for a one night stay, but always look for something that will live up to our expectations. This hotel did in a big way! We even tried to get a reservation here our last night before flying out but couldn't get a room because of the Ironman competition. Would rate this one of the best hotels we have stayed at in the last several years and recommend it highly to any traveller.
We also strongly believe in this site for good information regarding lodging and attractions. Take the time and read several reviews and balance the good and the bad. It is a great place to use for comparisons. Thanks to all who chose to share their personal experiences...it was valuable to us!

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2007

I've stayed in a lot of SpringHill Suites and they are usually great staff, great value and great breakfast. The SpringHill in Phoenix is now one of my favorites. They always had fresh fruits available to all their guests. I lost an item during my stay and the staff's customer service was exemplary. They found my item within 5 minutes for me. Next time in Phoenix I'll definitely be staying in the same hotel.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Phoenix Tempe/Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Phoenix Tempe/Airport

Address: 1601 West Rio Salado Parkway, Tempe, AZ 85281
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Phoenix Tempe/Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Phoenix Tempe/Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Phoenix Tempe/Airport Hotel Tempe
Springhill Suites Tempe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Phoenix Tempe/Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.