We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe to your Saves list
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2301 East Southern Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85282 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #23 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great value for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My sister and I came to Tempe with the intention of spending a lot of time at Chase for Tigers/Diamondbacks games. I found this place on Expedia for a great nightly rate and saw reviews were rather favorable (and let's be serious...the photos of that hot breakfast buffet...hard to turn down, am I right?) We stayed for two nights, and I'd definitely recommend it if someone I knew were staying there and the price was right. It isn't the best place I've ever stayed...I saw that a couple of the tiles near the floor were falling off of the wall, but it didn't feel unclean. It was nice to have the mini fridge, microwave and sink in the suite. The bed was comfortable, I didn't have any issues with "paper thin" walls as others have mentioned, and the breakfast selection was wonderful! The potatoes were our favorite :) My main upset being there was that when we left for hikes each morning before sunrise, the coffee was never out in the lobby...the time when I really wanted it most. But it was nice to have coffee there during the day, and at night there were even delicious cookies! It's definitely a place I'd stay again if we went back to Tempe. Thanks for a great stay! I didn't have an issue with the wifi...I'm not going to complain if it's a little slow when I'm not being charged an extra $5-$15 a day for it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempehawthorn, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Ashleymm 1020,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about our Hawthorn Suites Tempe. We appreciate your honesty, loyalty and business! I am glad you enjoyed our wonderful breakfast selection and our comfortable beds. We will have to look into having coffee available earlier in the mornings, especially if you return!

We thank you again for staying with us and hope to see you return real soon!

Sincerely,
Alyssa C.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    111
    44
    22
    19
See reviews for
137
60
31
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tempe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

For the price - fabulous room. Our room window faced the freeway exit. Never heard the cars... a very quiet room

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempehawthorn, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Lorretta B

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our Hawthorn Suites in Tempe. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay!

Sincerely,

Alyssa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Im checking in tomorrow somewhat late..so i called to ask if they have any rooms by the pool since im disabled and can't walk far and plan on spending alot of time at the pool..Cameron was all to happy to assist me and made sure my room by the pool would be ready for my late arrival..He made me even more excited for my visit.I haven't even checked in and i love this place already!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempehawthorn, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Juanita N,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor prior to your stay at the Hawthorn Suites in Tempe. I appreciate your kind comments regarding Kameron. I will be happy to inform him he has yet another guest comment!! We are very thankful he is apart of our team.

We hope you enjoy your stay!

Sincerely,

Alyssa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe

Address: 2301 East Southern Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85282 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tempe
#4 Best Value Hotel in Tempe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/Mesa/Phoenix Located just off 101 Price Freeway near Route 60, Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe hotel, near Sky Harbor International Airport, combines southern hospitality with the comforts of home. Our Tempe, AZ, hotel provides easy access to all major highways, including Interstate 10 and Loops 101, 60 and 202, and is convenient to Mill Avenue District, Arizona State University and Sun Devil Stadium.Start each morning with a free hot breakfast buffet, then workout in our fitness and exercise center and unwind in our spa. Make a splash in our outdoor pool or enjoy a relaxing soak in our hot tub. All suites feature free high speed Wi-Fi Internet access, two 32" LCD TV's in each room, microwaves, refrigerators and in-room safes. Handicapped-accessible suites are available, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Tempe Hotel Tempe
Hawthorn Suites Tempe
Tempe Hawthorn Suites
Hawthorn Suites Phoenix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.