We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improvements needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe to your Saves list
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2301 East Southern Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85282 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #23 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    111
    44
    22
    19
See reviews for
137
60
31
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hawthorn Suites in Tempe, Arizona from June 25th to June 30th, 2013.
The accommodation was very good. The room was spacious and very clean. It had small
kitchenette. Due to the hight temperature in Tempe ( 126 degrees F ) the A/C was running at
full tilt all day and never gave up.
The complimentary hot and cold breakfast served was delicious. The hotel is doing a lot of
upgrading, the swimming pool, although small in size, has been newly renovated.
The staff is very upbeat, helpful and very friendly. We enjoyed our stay and will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempehawthorn, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review on TripAdvisor. We are overjoyed to know that your stay was enjoyable and that you will be returning! We strive to provide the most comfortable and clean spacious guest suites, a delicious breakfast with choices for everyone, and the friendliest service. You can expect these accommodations whether you’re stopping by for one night, or taking a week’s long relaxing vacation. It is true- we have recently renovated our pool and spa, put beautiful new tile in our restrooms and laundry facility, and provided the most luxurious Simmons Cape Breton Beautyrest pillow top mattresses in our suites. It was a pleasure having both of you; we look forward to seeing you again next time you’re in Tempe! Thanks again for choosing Hawthorn Suites.
Warm Wishes,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana, Usa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed at Hawthorn suites 3 nights. Fit our needs very nicely. Good location, friendly staff, room more than adequate for our stay. Breakfast one of the best we have had. Will stay here again. Great value!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempehawthorn, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Larry,
All of us here at Hawthorn Suites in Tempe thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your three nights with us. We strive to provide a fantastic hotel experience at a great value, including that delicious hot breakfast. Our central location right off the 101 freeway does make getting around the valley is a breeze. We’d love to have you back here next time you’re in Tempe. Thanks again for choosing Hawthorn Suites!
Warm Wishes,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I knew we would be staying overnight in Tempe and had done a bit of research on a good, reliable hotel close to my Mother's house which led me to Hawthorn Suites. We didn't book the room online and kept our fingers crossed that there would still be rooms available at the price we had found online when we went to check in. We were very happy when we walked in and the front desk rep Devon was able to not only get us a room but get us a room for the super price that I had found online a few days prior.

When we got into the room it was great! Plenty of room and very nice and clean. The best part was the bed...it was AMAZING!!! So much so that I asked the front desk girl what the brand of mattress was because I had not slept that good in months. We were excited to hear that the breakfast buffet was open until 10am so we got to sleep in. The breakfast was perfect for what we wanted...eggs, bacon, sausage, yummy potatoes and lots of cereals, breads and pastries. We didn't hit it until around 9:20am and it was still nice and warm with lots of things to choose from.

If you are needing to stay in Tempe or just on the way through, I would highly recommend staying here. Friendly staff, clean rooms, good breakfast and a bed that I wish we could have strapped to the top of the car and taken home with us! Thanks Hawthorn Suites for a great nights sleep!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempehawthorn, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Wow, thank you for your awesome review on TripAdvisor! It is a joy to know that you had a wonderful stay here at Hawthorn Suites in Tempe. Our valued guests can always expect superior service- even with low affordable rates. We’re glad you enjoyed our new Simmons Cape Breton Beautyrest pillow top mattresses- you are not alone! After a great night’s sleep, what better way to start your day then with our delicious hot breakfast? There’s plenty for everyone, even after sleeping in on the weekends. Thank you for your recommendation and kind words. It would be our pleasure to see you again next time you’re in the Tempe area!
Warm Wishes,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Loved the breakfast, staff was great but rooms not as clean as I wish they would have been. My shower was gross, ring around tub and black! Bed was nice and clean. When I made reservations I made sure to ask if pool was available and I was told yes and given hours of pool, I get to hotel and pool says closed, pool not a deal breaker I would have stayed there anyway I just feel I was lied to so I would reserve. Again breakfast was simple but good, bagels, muffins, scrambled eggs, bacon and potatoes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempehawthorn, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Desiree,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear your overall experience here at Hawthorn Suites in Tempe was a great one! We take pride in serving our guests a delicious, fresh, hot breakfast every morning- perfect way to start your day. We do have brand new Simmons Cape Breton Beautyrest mattresses in all of our guest suites, for the most comfortable night’s sleep. We are sorry to hear about unsatisfactory cleaning in the bathtub- this is something we do not condone, and wish to make right for you immediately during your stay. In preparation for pool and spa renovations, it was listed clearly on our website for online reservations, such as yours. We do apologize for the inconvenience, but hope you will return so that you and your family may enjoy our beautifully finished pool. Thank you for choosing Hawthorn Suites!
Warm Wishes,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe

Address: 2301 East Southern Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85282 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tempe
#4 Best Value Hotel in Tempe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/Mesa/Phoenix Located just off 101 Price Freeway near Route 60, Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe hotel, near Sky Harbor International Airport, combines southern hospitality with the comforts of home. Our Tempe, AZ, hotel provides easy access to all major highways, including Interstate 10 and Loops 101, 60 and 202, and is convenient to Mill Avenue District, Arizona State University and Sun Devil Stadium.Start each morning with a free hot breakfast buffet, then workout in our fitness and exercise center and unwind in our spa. Make a splash in our outdoor pool or enjoy a relaxing soak in our hot tub. All suites feature free high speed Wi-Fi Internet access, two 32" LCD TV's in each room, microwaves, refrigerators and in-room safes. Handicapped-accessible suites are available, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Tempe Hotel Tempe
Hawthorn Suites Tempe
Tempe Hawthorn Suites
Hawthorn Suites Phoenix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.