We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Value Suite Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe to your Saves list
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2301 East Southern Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85282 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Green Bay
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very Good Value Suite Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Very good value in a suite hotel. A bit noisy being right next to the 101, but not too bad. Clean comfortable rooms. Basic hot breakfast fare. Convenient location.

It is fairly low priced, but you trade off for a lack of posh upgrades. If you don't plan on doing much beyond sleeping in the rooms, this hotel is totally worth it. Attentive staff.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempehawthorn, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Jack,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor. At Hawthorn Suites in Tempe, we provide clean and comfortable suites at affordable rates, and we are delighted that you recognized this and enjoyed your time here. You are spot on when it comes to our convenient location, and are happy to hear your satisfaction with our hardworking staff. They are here 24 hours a day, ready and willing to assist you. Thank you for choosing Hawthorn Suites, and we hope to see you again soon!
Warm Wishes,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    135
    67
    45
    43
See reviews for
188
81
36
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dousman, Wisconsin USA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

When looking for hotels in this area (and there aren't any others in this immediate area), we were a little concerned by some of the reviews that we read about street noise. So we requested a room facing the parking lot. When we checked in about 10 pm, the clerk was sorry to inform us that our request had not been noted in time to save us a room facing the parking lot for that night but that we could move the next day so our next 4 nights would be in a different room. So we did get to "test" the noise levels in different areas. The hotel is located on a busy street and a frontage road so there was road noise the first morning. But the hotel is really very well sound proofed and with the air conditioner/fan running, the noise was not a big issue, and I am used to sleeping where it is very quiet. We did move to a different room the next day and had no issues at all with noise--except for a misfunctioning fire alarm that went off 4 times the next night. Very disconcerting but I cannot blame the hotel. We called the front desk and were told it was happening throughout the hotel and they were working to fix the problem. The interior was so well sound proofed that we couldn't even hear other smoke detectors going off.
The following 3 nights were uneventful. The rooms are well appointed and the breakfast buffet is adequate. Since this hotel is so close to our relatives and so convenient, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempehawthorn, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Kathy,
Thank you kindly for taking the time to share a detailed review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your patience, with getting you into your requested room, and of course the fire alarm. Unfortunately there was a malfunction that was fixed promptly the next morning. We strive to do everything possible to keep our valued guests comfortable, and in this situation beyond our control, your understanding and patience is something we are grateful for. Our friendly staff is here 24 hours a day to assist you. It is great you were able to get around easily, as we are near major freeways: the 101, 60, I-10, and 202. Convenience is a priority while travelling! We do look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Tempe! Thanks for choosing Hawthorn Suites.
Until Next Time,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We traveled with our son and found the room plenty big for our family. the service was great and we felt very well take care of. The room was very clean and if you know your way around the Phoenix area, it is easy to get to. We are not from the area and did struggle in rush hour traffic. This can be a problem with any hotel in any city - not unique to Hawthorn in Tempe.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempehawthorn, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you kindly for your positive review on TripAdvisor. All of us at Hawthorn Suites in Tempe are glad to hear that your needs were well met, and that you recognized superior service. It is our goal to keep our valued guests comfortable- providing not only a clean and spacious suite, equipped to meet your family’s needs, but somewhere you can feel at “home” away from home! Our friendly and knowledgeable staff is always ready and willing to answer questions, make recommendations, and provide directions- maybe even alternate routes for during rush hour! Thank you for choosing Hawthorn Suites, and we hope to see you on your next trip to the Tempe area.
All the Best,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe

Address: 2301 East Southern Avenue, Tempe, AZ 85282 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe/Mesa/Phoenix Located just off 101 Price Freeway near Route 60, Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe hotel, near Sky Harbor International Airport, combines southern hospitality with the comforts of home. Our Tempe, AZ, hotel provides easy access to all major highways, including Interstate 10 and Loops 101, 60 and 202, and is convenient to Mill Avenue District, Arizona State University and Sun Devil Stadium.Start each morning with a free hot breakfast buffet, then workout in our fitness and exercise center and unwind in our spa. Make a splash in our outdoor pool or enjoy a relaxing soak in our hot tub. All suites feature free high speed Wi-Fi Internet access, two 32" LCD TV's in each room, microwaves, refrigerators and in-room safes. Handicapped-accessible suites are available, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Tempe Hotel Tempe
Hawthorn Suites Tempe
Tempe Hawthorn Suites
Hawthorn Suites Phoenix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.