We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, awesome, awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SEA LIFE Aquarium

SEA LIFE Aquarium
5000 Arizona Mills Circle, Ste 145, Tempe, AZ 85282
1-877-256-3960
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 28 attractions in Tempe
Type: Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Dive in to SEA LIFE Arizona Aquarium! Be wowed by the many strange, beautiful and fascinating creatures of the deep as you journey through an amazing underwater world. Prepare for astonishingly close views of everything from sea stars to sharks, rays, octopus and a new sea turtle! To get any closer you'll have to get wet!-Over 5,000 sea creautres in 30 displays-Interactive touch tanks and quiz trail-Amazing 360 degree ocean tunnel-Informative talks and feeds throughout the dayAnd much more!
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Awesome, awesome, awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This little jem is well worth a visit. I took my two year old son for a spur of the moment day trip and was really surprised that it was such a great experience. I had mistakenly thought that it would be a tiny, lame aquarium because it was tucked into a shopping mall, but boy was I wrong! It is huge facility and has a large variety of exhibits and animals and was a good value for the ticket price. It wasn’t crowded like a lot of other aquariums, so we were able to get up close and actually see all they had to offer. We had so much fun that we will definitely be back!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven R, Guest Relations Manager at SEA LIFE Aquarium, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your reveiw and sharing your awesome photos! We are really happy you enjoyed your visit. Your 2 year old son is free until he turns 3 years of age so be sure to come back and visit more. Annual passes are available for purchase for just $45 online or at our admission counter. This is the best deal to bring your son to visit unlimited times all year long for one low price. Be sure to follow our social media accounts for more exciting updates and event information!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    53
    38
    14
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Super cool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I loved spending an hour in there looking at all the fishies. We learned a lot, and my favorite part was seeing the turtles and getting to touch some starfish. We were 18 when we went and we still loved it, and it seems like a great place to bring children.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven R, Guest Relations Manager at SEA LIFE Aquarium, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are happy you and your boyfriend enjoyed your visit! Our touchpools are always featuring new creatures to touch. Come back and visit soon to touch the variety we have such as Slipper Lobsters and cleaner shrimp!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Collection of Fun to Look at Sea Animals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

My family have been big fans of aquariums and we have so far seen the biggest one in Atlanta, Georgia and the ones in Smithsonian and Baltimore. When we moved to Arizona in 2012, we come to visit the AZ Mills Mall maybe once or twice a month. Sea Life Aquarium is within the mall but we didn't really pay too much attention to it until today. We went on a Sunday and the mall was too busy with some last minute Christmas shopping but the aquarium was really not crowded. I think it was nice that my 11 year old and 5 year old got the chance to take their time in taking a closer look at the animals in the tanks ( usually aquariums that we've gone to were too crowded). The fish collection were nicely presented and there were a couple of open tanks where visitors are allowed to dip their fingers in to touch the starfish and shells. Overall, it was a fun day for the kids!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven R, Guest Relations Manager at SEA LIFE Aquarium, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your review! We are happy you enjoyed your visit! Although our aquarium size may not compare to the Georgia or Baltimore aquarium we take pride in the variety of creatures we have as well as many of our interactive features for all to enjoy especially our young visitors. If you havent already be sure to follow us on any of our social media accounts for updated information and events. Be sure to come back and visit us in the spring time for the opening of our new traveling exhibit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Too Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Finding an aquarium in AZ is not easy so we went to this one even though it is in an outlet mall. It had some neat things to see, but not enough for what you pay to get in.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven R, Guest Relations Manager at SEA LIFE Aquarium, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. Although we are not as large as other aquariums throughout the country we strive to provide our guests with a diverse selection of creatures to see here in the desert. We are constantly updating our displays with new exciting creatures all year long. For your future visit please call us to inquire about coupons and discounts in the marketplace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wow, first-rate aquarium right in Tempe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Looking for a fun outing, we brought out-of-town guests here expecting something small-scale. Were we surprised! The quality of the exhibits is high and the displays and sea life are varied, and this labyrinthine facility seems outsized for a corner of a mall. Really a magical experience. There was some crowding as it was a Saturday, so we look forward to going back during the week. Be aware that tickets can be purchased online at a discount. Good value for the money, and seems the aquarium is part of a network concerned with species and habitat survival. Wonderful to have in Tempe.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven R, Guest Relations Manager at SEA LIFE Aquarium, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We appreciate the wonderful review! Thank you for thinking of us as a destination to bring your out of town guests. We are happy that you and your guests had such a wonderful experience. As you mentioned, we like to encourage all of our guests to purchase their tickets online for the discounted rates! Be sure to "like" our facebook page and check our website periodically for upcoming events and new creature additions. We look forward to seeing you sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SEA LIFE Aquarium also viewed

 
Tempe, Central Arizona
Tempe, Central Arizona
 

Been to SEA LIFE Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SEA LIFE Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added SEA LIFE Aquarium to your Saves list