We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Funky” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Graduate Tempe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Graduate Tempe to your Saves list
Graduate Tempe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 E. Apache Blvd., Tempe, AZ 85281 (Formerly Twin Palms Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Midweek Package Promotion
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Pinetop-Lakeside, Arizona
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fun and Funky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Was a bit wary when we checked in as the desk person was slow and disinterested. But the room, theme and amenities won me over. Will stay again. Highly recommend eating at the attached 'Normal Diner'. Retro comfort food themes w a new twist. Overall will lighten your mood!

Room Tip: We were right next to elevator but did not hear a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    36
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
28
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

As an alternative to the usual property I use while in Tempe, I tried the Graduate for two nights to see if I might like it better. The decor was fun, very campus/dorm-like (except very neat and clean!), the crowd energetic (it WAS cinco de mayo and the end of the spring semester) and easily accessible. The lobby was a bit cool feeling and the front desk staff somewhat hit-or-miss. A couple of the staff were very friendly and helpful while another was loathe to mutter more than two-word replies to any of my questions or comments. The room was not huge but not tiny, the bathroom more than adequate (liked the walk-in shower sans door/curtain), all was clean and the balcony a nice vantage point. The biggest issue was the noise. As typical for the environment I expected a good deal of street noise given I had requested a view of campus (the property is on Apache near the Gammage Theater) but the noise from the roof-top air conditioner several stories below was unbearable. It made it impossible to sleep with the door open which was unfortunate given the perfect night temperatures. As a result, the room became stuffy overnight as it was not possible to run the A/C since that blows directly onto the beds.
There is a diner next door that supposedly servers good food although I didn't care for my meal and even less for the margarita. There were only a couple other patrons so the ambiance was dull. The bar, on the other hand, has a nice energetic vibe and very upbeat waitstaff.
While I am glad I gave this one a try, I will return to my regular property on my next trip to Tempe.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent C, General Manager at Graduate Tempe, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the feedback and will be sure to use this as a training tool for improvement moving forward. We hope you’ll consider staying with us again in the future. I’m confident we will have greatly improved on this experience.

Trent Collicott
General Manager

--Graduate Tempe is a part of a well-curated, well-crafted collection of hotels that reside in the most dynamic university towns across the country—
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This newer remodel of a different hotel is very 70s hipster - by design. Very colorful and a fun change of pace from the traditional corporate hotels, It is literally right across the street from ASU and Gammage Auditorium. We were there for my son's graduation and it was great! They have a small pool area but it is very festive and has a restaurant/bar that opens right onto the patio. The room was so interestingly decorated. The beds were comfortable. My only small concern was that the bathroom was very small and there was not a full length mirror. But there was a magnifying make up mirror which is always a plus. They have bright red and yellow bikes to rent and a nice looking restaurant attached.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent C, General Manager at Graduate Tempe, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review! We appreciate the comments and are so glad to hear you enjoyed our unique, vintage vibe here at the Graduate Tempe. Congratulations to your son on his graduation! We hope to see you again next time you are in the area.

Trent Collicott
General Manager

--Graduate Tempe is a part of a well-curated, well-crafted collection of hotels that reside in the most dynamic university towns across the country—
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our family of four checked into The Graduate on advice from my niece who just graduated last week. Our room overlooked the ASU campus. We stayed in a double queen room. The room was filled with fun references to "vintage student" only nicer and more comfortable, and with everything you expect and need for a comfortable stay. The lobby too has many fun and subtle features along the theme that are worth a closer look. The peg-board wall of art in particular had many old images I had in my own room as a teen. The Normal cafe served us breakfast on 2 mornings. Many fun touches in the restaurant as well as good food.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent C, General Manager at Graduate Tempe, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this excellent review! We appreciate the comments and are so glad to hear you enjoyed our attention to detail and delicious dining options here at the Graduate Tempe! We hope to see you again next time you are in the area.

Trent Collicott
General Manager

--Graduate Tempe is a part of a well-curated, well-crafted collection of hotels that reside in the most dynamic university towns across the country—
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring Harbor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Was very convenient for graduation w/shuttle and were happy with the location. Smiling faces and clean and pleasant atmosphere. Rooms was very comfortable. Keep up the good work. We would recommend to others and certainly try to visit again.





  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent C, General Manager at Graduate Tempe, responded to this review, 3 days ago
We appreciate the time you took to write this review and greatly appreciate the feedback provided. We're so glad we could provide comfortable and unique accommodations for you during ASU's graduation. It’s great to hear, and we hope to see you again next time you are in the Tempe area!

Trent Collicott
General Manager

--Graduate Tempe is a part of a well-curated, well-crafted collection of hotels that reside in the most dynamic university towns across the country—
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a 1 night stay before my sons graduation. Very clean hotel with a old town college feel to it. Cute rooms although the garden view left a little to be desired. Fortunately didn't need to sit on the balcony much. Small bathroom with little place to put all your girlie stuff and just had a shower. It was perfect for our 1 night. Bed was very comfortable. All modern amenities. Great breakfast/coffee place attached and a Taco bar by the pool. Staff were excellent!

Room Tip: If you are picky about views take the city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent C, General Manager at Graduate Tempe, responded to this review, 4 days ago
We appreciate the time you took to write this review and greatly appreciate the feedback provided. We pride ourselves on having a helpful and knowledgeable staff and are glad to hear they made a positive impression on you! Congratulations to your son on his graduation, and we hope to see you again next time you are in the Tempe area!

Trent Collicott
General Manager

--Graduate Tempe is a part of a well-curated, well-crafted collection of hotels that reside in the most dynamic university towns across the country—
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Loved the hotel. It was the perfect location for my nieces graduation. everything was wonerful,from the food to the rooms. The rooms are not large but the are clean and the decor is fun. The food at the restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent C, General Manager at Graduate Tempe, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review! We appreciate the comments and are so glad to hear you enjoyed yourself at the Graduate Tempe. We hope to see you again next time you are in the area, and congratulations to your niece on her graduation!

Trent Collicott
General Manager

--Graduate Tempe is a part of a well-curated, well-crafted collection of hotels that reside in the most dynamic university towns across the country—
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Graduate Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graduate Tempe

Address: 225 E. Apache Blvd., Tempe, AZ 85281 (Formerly Twin Palms Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Graduate Tempe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find us serendipitously situated across the street from Sun Devil central - the famed Arizona State University. We are also located within walking distance to all of the bustling Mill Avenue stops and shops, as well as the Tempe Town Lake action. You can take in "A" Mountain from your campus view room - after all, why not observe perfection from every angle. Here at Graduate Tempe we serve up two delicious dining spots, sure to please day and night. The laid back vibe of Tapacubo, our Mexican street food spot flows with signature leaded and unleaded margaritas perfectly paired with walking tacos and visiting food trucks are sure to satisfy every little hand crafted craving. The pool scene will add just the chill you're in town for! Check in and check out The Normal, where diner-chic meets mom's homemade favorites all under one cozy cool roof. From breakfast-all-day to homespun soups, share-worthy sandwiches, and tasty shakes - we're always up for serving up a little slice of virtue. Enjoy weekend brunch, a tasty business meeting or Founders' Day suds and classics, just let us know when you're coming. So whether you're dropping in for a show, showing off the alma mater or have a to-do here in town, we're here to make it memorable. Our warm, friendly and whip-smart staff (#humblebrag) can guide you to and around Tempe's finest - so that you feel like a local, at home again - even if it's your first time here. Our rooms are ready for a night like you've never had before, where little moments of surprise and discovery will meet you down every corridor and around each corner. This is Graduate - get ready to be inspired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, T4B, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Graduate Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Graduate Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.