We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Close to ASU” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Graduate Tempe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Graduate Tempe to your Saves list
Graduate Tempe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 E. Apache Blvd., Tempe, AZ 85281 (Formerly Twin Palms Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy 10% off
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
Lakeville
1 review
“Great Hotel Close to ASU”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Great hotel. Reason we chose is because it looked different and fun. Had no resort fee. Bed was very comfortable. Showers need upgrading, but not big deal. Pool area nice. Restaurants great. Walkable to anything that you need.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    14
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
17
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very close to ASU, you can walk and we did. Expensive but fairly nice, almost $200 a night with taxes. Concept of the dorm a bit overboard as no full door on shower causing water to go everywhere. They did not clean our room while were were out for the day. However, in general, a nice hotel great location, pricey.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really liked the renovations made at this property. Beds are very comfortable and the staff so very helpful. My only suggestion is try not to get the room next to the elevators. A little noisy. The diner next door is a little pricey and the menu not very extensive but the food and the service is excellent.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, wonderful accommodations and stay during a racquetball tournament. Within walking distance to the tournament and other restaurants. The Diner and Tapacubo were great to hang out at and enjoy food, beverages and socialization! Would stay there again in the future!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed here for a racquetball tournament located at ASU. The room wasn't the biggest but the bed was very comfortable and the only complaints with housekeeping were not restocking the coffee and not leaving more than one washcloth. I really liked that the shampoo, conditioner and body wash were in large pumps rather than small bottles which are a huge waste! I believe one reviewer recommended not staying in any rooms ending with 16, however we were in 416 and did not notice the noises coming from any service elevator. The ice machine was by our room which we could hear, but I've been able to hear those machines from nearby rooms in pretty much any hotel I've stayed in.

The pool and hot tub are clean and the staff from Tapacubo will come take your order during their open hours.

This hotel is within walking distance to a variety of shops and restaurants. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 1 week....all staff were very attentive,helpful and friendly. Very clean and comfortable...loved the balcony..."The Normal" restaurant had a great breakfast and the young folks that worked there were always very pleasant....the pool and hot tub were very clean and always lots of towels....comfortable loungers and hot tub encouraged relaxation after a round of golf ... one small suggestion...our AC was located right beside our bed...a plastic shield to redirect the air upwards would be more comfortable than having it blowing directly on us all night....other than that I would definitely return in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Graduate in Tempe and it was everything I was looking for. The design of the hotel is centered around reliving the college years and while there are many parts of college I certainly can't (and probably shouldn't) relive, the Graduate had me covered for the rest.

All the details were thought of even down to the keycards which are old student IDs and the front desk which has an ant farm. The rooms have Crosley radios that maintain the old aesthetic while still allowing you to play your own tunes with an Aux cable. The TVs were sleek and had a good channel lineup (showtime, encore - all HD). The bed was incredibly comfortable, like sleeping on a cloud and my balcony had great views which was perfect for relaxing.

They've managed to have the college vibe come across as youthful and fun, rather than tacky. The hotel is incredibly clean - from the common areas, like the pool/hot tub and lobby to the rooms themselves. The staff was very friendly an attentive to any request I had. While you're there, you should definitely try the tortas at Tapacubo and order a margarita which is served out of an old gas station pump! For breakfast, stop by The Normal Diner and have their Green Bowl which has all the goodness that the super-fruit Acai can offer. As you can tell, I was pretty jazzed about the food.

All in all I had an excellent stay at this cool, unique hotel that's located pretty much on ASU's campus and only a few blocks away from Mill where all the action is. I'd highly recommend checking this place out next time you're traveling or looking for a staycation in Tempe.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Graduate Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graduate Tempe

Address: 225 E. Apache Blvd., Tempe, AZ 85281 (Formerly Twin Palms Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Graduate Tempe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find us serendipitously situated across the street from Sun Devil central - the famed Arizona State University. We are also located within walking distance to all of the bustling Mill Avenue stops and shops, as well as the Tempe Town Lake action. You can take in "A" Mountain from your campus view room - after all, why not observe perfection from every angle. Here at Graduate Tempe we serve up two delicious dining spots, sure to please day and night. The laid back vibe of Tapacubo, our Mexican street food spot flows with signature leaded and unleaded margaritas perfectly paired with walking tacos and visiting food trucks are sure to satisfy every little hand crafted craving. The pool scene will add just the chill you're in town for! Check in and check out The Normal, where diner-chic meets mom's homemade favorites all under one cozy cool roof. From breakfast-all-day to homespun soups, share-worthy sandwiches, and tasty shakes - we're always up for serving up a little slice of virtue. Enjoy weekend brunch, a tasty business meeting or Founders' Day suds and classics, just let us know when you're coming. So whether you're dropping in for a show, showing off the alma mater or have a to-do here in town, we're here to make it memorable. Our warm, friendly and whip smart staff (#humblebrag) can guide you to and around Tempe's finest - so that you feel like a local, at home again - even if it's your first time here. Our rooms are ready for a night like you've never had before, where little moments of surprise and discovery will meet you down every corridor and around each corner. This is Graduate - get ready to be inspired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Groupon, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Graduate Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Graduate Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.