We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tempe visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Graduate Tempe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Graduate Tempe to your Saves list
Graduate Tempe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   225 E. Apache Blvd., Tempe, AZ 85281 (Formerly Twin Palms Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy 10% off
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
“Tempe visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Good location Apache can be busy with traffic. We had a king bed very small room. Very tight quarters even for 2 people. Room was clean but missing cups and coffee. Housekeeping needs a tune up. Normal restaurant was okay. Long wait for food in the morning. Not sure what the delay was.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    11
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
13
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Completely recommend.
The location is perfect, specially if you want to be close to the campus, the design amazing, without being pretentious, and the restaurants add good quality and variety to the experience.
The staff is great!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Here are our thoughts, yours may vary:
Don't email night before with a modification to the reservation that's 200 dollars more than the price specified at booking time.
Needed to request toilet paper and shampoo after room cleaning had left.
Grout in shower needs to be cleaned.
Staff has limited knowledge of surrounding amenities.
No sound proofing.
"Deluxe Gym": three machines in a windowless gym.
Ant Farm: Dead ants and crickets.
Don't have a policy that you don't clean every day.
Refill the coffee.
Extremely loud fan.
took the tip, didn't clean.

Thanks.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy D, General Manager at Graduate Tempe, responded to this review, today
Dear Mike,

Thank you for the feedback and I apologized you had some challenges with your stay with us. Certainly some areas we can improve on that you mentioned and we've addressed those areas with our team. Just a couple items to follow up on with you, our ant farm feeds on crickets, so given they would struggle with live crickets, they are frozen and placed in the colony every couple days as a main food source for the ants.

Thank you again for your feedback, we'll be sure to put it to good use in improving future stays for our guests.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Dougherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The location of this hotel is perfect if you are doing anything ASU-related. It is across the street from campus and you are about a 15-20 minute walk from Mill Street where all the shops and restaurants are located. The service was great, I found all of the staff to be friendly, and enthusiastic. Especially considering the place has only been open for a few months, they are doing a great job.

As others have mentioned, the decor is a quirky throwback to the 70's. The bed was super comfy, and the Malin and Goetz toiletries were an awesome surprise. So why 3 stars? The hotel is basically what you would imagine your dorm to be like if you had a hispter roommate who decorated a la Urban Outfitters; cool to look at, but at the end of the day, still a dorm. In this case, the Graduate has a nice veneer, but it's still a Howard Johnson's. The walls were super thin, I could hear the ice machine, doors opening and closing, neighbors' showers/toilets, and dogs outside barking. The paint behind all those interesting tapestries was haphazardly applied, and in the bathroom, tiles were misaligned and grout was already peeling and cracking.

So, would I stay again? Sure, if I needed to be on campus. The price was right, service great, and decor fun. Just know what your getting into--it's not a luxury boutique hotel.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a great night at the Graduate in Tempe. This is a new hotel that is fun, hip and cool. I really enjoyed everything about it- the décor was great, food and margaritas at Tapacubo were yummy, staff was friendly and helpful, and the location across the street from the ASU campus can’t be beat. I especially liked how well they carry the whole retro College theme throughout the hotel. From the vintage student IDs as key cards, the composition notebook as the services menu, to the pennant for the do not disturb sign - all of it is just really fun and clever.

I highly recommend this hotel for anyone who appreciates boutique hotels that offer something different from the standard big chain brands. The Graduate is definitely the place to stay in Tempe!

Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice boutique hotel, very modern and warm. Great staff, and really comfortable beds. Rooms are amazing! The service was great since I've had some packages delivered to the hotel. Packages were waiting for me, wake up calls were on time and just the whole atmosphere was great.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Would stay there again in a heartbeat. This hotel is fresh, fun, unique and quirky. The rooms are clean and the beds very comfortable as far as hotel beds go. Loved the bikes that you can rent. Two thumbs up!


  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Graduate Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graduate Tempe

Address: 225 E. Apache Blvd., Tempe, AZ 85281 (Formerly Twin Palms Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Graduate Tempe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find us serendipitously situated across the street from Sun Devil central - the famed Arizona State University. We are also located within walking distance to all of the bustling Mill Avenue stops and shops, as well as the Tempe Town Lake action. You can take in "A" Mountain from your campus view room - after all, why not observe perfection from every angle. Here at Graduate Tempe we serve up two delicious dining spots, sure to please day and night. The laid back vibe of Tapacubo, our Mexican street food spot flows with signature leaded and unleaded margaritas perfectly paired with walking tacos and visiting food trucks are sure to satisfy every little hand crafted craving. The pool scene will add just the chill you're in town for! Check in and check out The Normal, where diner-chic meets mom's homemade favorites all under one cozy cool roof. From breakfast-all-day to homespun soups, share-worthy sandwiches, and tasty shakes - we're always up for serving up a little slice of virtue. Enjoy weekend brunch, a tasty business meeting or Founders' Day suds and classics, just let us know when you're coming. So whether you're dropping in for a show, showing off the alma mater or have a to-do here in town, we're here to make it memorable. Our warm, friendly and whip smart staff (#humblebrag) can guide you to and around Tempe's finest - so that you feel like a local, at home again - even if it's your first time here. Our rooms are ready for a night like you've never had before, where little moments of surprise and discovery will meet you down every corridor and around each corner. This is Graduate - get ready to be inspired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Graduate Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Graduate Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.