We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly staff, clean accomodations, excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5300 South Priest Drive, Tempe, AZ 85283   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Learnbiz
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Super friendly staff, clean accomodations, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

This hotel is wonderful! Very nicely located near the Arizona Mills Mall, the Airport, and ASU. It's convenient location right off of the freeway makes it a great property. The friendly staff were chosen by Best Western International to exemplify their commitment to service. In fact, all Best Western property staff train here.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    149
    41
    5
    11
See reviews for
107
127
39
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

Room was nice, seemed very newly refurbished. Great value and close to the highway and a large, large mall. Free breakfast and wifi were good too.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

I actually never even got a chance to stay at this hotel. They would not honor the price that is posted on the website for a non- pool view room with a AAA discount, even though they confirmed that their were non-pool view rooms available and there are NO date exclusions listed on the website; First the girl told me that all the rooms for that price were taken up, then she said they weren’t, then she said that there is no AAA discounts for that day. I asked to speak to the manager and all the manager could say to every single question I asked was, “I’m sorry I cannot help you” over and over again and then she hung up on me! I couldn't believe the horrible service and treatment.

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

Just spent a night here as we wanted a base near the Mall to shop in general and eat at Claim Jumper. The location was perfect - just across the road from both. I had reservations as one report mentioned dodgy looking people in the car park. We did not have any trouble but there were a few possible 'street' people when we left in the morning. They could well have been waiting for a bus and been mistaken as 'undesirables'. We were told of gang and gun problems around Phoenix in general. Not uncommon in any big city these days, sadly.
There was a pleasant pool area which our room overlooked and it was very quiet at this time of year. The check in staff were particularly friendly and chatty and the area was light and airy. Good hot and cold breakfast choices. 2 internet terminals available in the lobby. 100% non-smoking hotel. Room was a good size with iron, coffee, fridge, microwave and of course TV. Comfy and clean. Typical Best Western.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

The property is clean, the staff personable, the showers are awesome, but the beds are rock hard.

To me, the most important things about a hotel are comfortable beds, strong showers, decent towels, cleanliness, and sound proofing. This hotel hit everything but the beds. I added a foam pad and a sleeping bag under the sheet, and I still felt as though my hips were getting bruised. Granted, I'm somewhat thin and bony with wide hips and I always sleep on my side, but almost everyone in our large group (I think we had about 30 rooms) was commenting on how hard the beds were.

The shower head in our room was so wonderfully strong and the hot water was plentiful. The towels were decent and the paper products were good.

Our room was on the fourth floor right next to the elevator, and we never heard anyone coming or going, nor did we hear either of our neighbors.

The breakfast was a bit odd - cold sausage, eggs and bacon that you microwave. They also had cereals, fruit and make your own waffles. There was enough variety that we didn't feel the need to go out for breakfast.

The wireless internet was down most of our stay, but they had cat5 wiring in the room and two computers in the lobby as well, so we didn't even let them know it was down, since we could get on anyway.

The hotel is conveniently located on the other side of the freeway from the Arizona Grand Resort (which was the venue for the competition we were in town for), and well as walking distance from many restaurants, and a short shuttle from the airport.

I wouldn't stay here again simply because I couldn't sleep due to the firmness of the mattresses, which is unfortunate since the property was fine in all other respects.

  • Liked — Staff, location, showers
  • Disliked — Rock hard beds
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

Read the favorable reviews on this hotel before we left the UK and was not dissapointed on our arrival in PHX.
Rooms were large enough and had a m/wave n fridge for snacks drinks etc, and were kept v clean by the maids daily.
Front desk staff were v helpfull and informative of things to do in the local area.
Slightly worried about some reviewers saying that this hotel was in a slighty dodgy area, but can say i walked all over both day n night, also walked to Arizonia Mills shopping mall both in the day and the evening and had no trouble whatsoever, asked a few locals and they had not heard of any trouble either, so not quite sure where the other travellers got their ideas from.
Overall had a great stay in this hotel and would go back again without a thought.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

OK, let's get one thing straight, this is not a 5 star luxury hotel. If you are expecting 500 thread count sheets, thick terrycloth robes, and obsequious bellboys, this is not the place for you. If, however, you need a clean comfortable place to stay after a long day of travel, this hotel is a great economical choice.

While returning from a driving trip to California, my wife and I needed a place to stay for the night. After reading the reviews on this web site, I chose this hotel and booked a room one day in advance on the web. The staff were friendly and efficient!! It was one of the fastest check-ins I have ever experienced. After getting to our room, the front desk called to inquire if the room was satisfactory(it was). The room was not large, the 2 queen sized beds took up most of the space, with room for a microwave, refrigerator, 2 chairs and a computer desk (with complimentary high speed internet). The bath was normal size with a shower/tub combo. All were very clean!

There were half a dozen restaurants within a block or two. The hotel is older, and there is a little wear around the edges, but it is well maintained. The pool and patio area were clean and inviting, as was the lobby.

Checkout the next morning was just as efficient and painless as check-in. The complimentary breakfast was not gourmet food, but it was well stocked and there was a larger than average selection of both hot and cold items. Considering that the hotels similar neighbors charge almost twice as much for the same sized room, this is a particular bargain.

  • Liked — Clean comfortable rooms.
  • Disliked — I have no complaints.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Address: 5300 South Priest Drive, Tempe, AZ 85283
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#3 Family Hotel in Tempe
#4 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel guests will enjoy our 24/7 Sky Harbor International Airport shuttle service, Park-N-Fly rates and appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options in and around the Tempe area. Complimentary hot breakfast and Best Western Reward members will be provided USA Today newspaper daily. Won Director's Award for Quality last 4 times in a row. Housekeeping Excellence Award for the 5th time in a row!**The BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall hotel is located across from Arizona Mills Mall and centrally located for business or leisure activities in and around the Phoenix/Tempe areas.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall hotel is three miles from the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport, downtown Phoenix and is near the Arizona State University campus. This renovated interior corridor hotel, with its casual Southwestern elegance offers 158 well-appointed rooms featuring free direct connect high-speed or Wi-Fi Internet access, cable television with over 70 channels, a microwave, refrigerator in all rooms and many other amenities. A Guests can take advantage of the outdoor heated pool, whirlpool spa and exercise facilities. This BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall hotel is near the sites of major sporting events in the Phoenix/Tempe metro areas including all ASU sporting events, the Diamondbacks, and Insight Bowl and offers several and unique guest stay packages. Make an online hotel reservation today and save at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall Hotel Tempe
Best Western Tempe
Tempe Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.