We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great beginning to a great vacation.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5300 South Priest Drive, Tempe, AZ 85283   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great beginning to a great vacation.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Very comfortable hotel close to the mall (very cool mall), amenities and major transportation. There was enough room, the beds were comfortable, the microwave was there as we asked and the fridge was spacious. The staff were very friendly, and helpful. They seemed to know our needs and were able to accommodate them all even without our voicing them. We were able to get early check-in and check-out was very speedy. There was some literature in the hotel room to see what events and attractions were in the Phoenix area. Their internet worked great and their pool wasn't overly full. It was also cool which was a bonus since some pools there are warm. Perhaps the only downsides to the hotel for those expecting high quality would be there were some peeling of the fixtures in the bathroom. The TV remote was a little hard to figure out as it had both satellite and cable. Also the area might not be what some people are looking for. We had a fantastic time and enjoyed the staff, the hotel and the area however.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS_BWPT, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking time out of your day to write a wonderful review of our hotel. We are excited that we were a great start to your vacation. Thank you for all of the kind references to the amenities that we offer and we all love and take advantage of the cool mall located across the street from us. Please stay with us again when traveling to our area. We look forward to your return soon!

Kellie Williams
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    165
    44
    5
    11
See reviews for
120
140
43
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

A great Hotel to use if you are flying to or from Phoenix Sky Harbour International Airport. Great Shuttle Service with Great Drivers and great helpful staff at the Hotel. I use Best Western both for Business & Please both here in the UK and especially when in the USA. Using Best Western takes the worry out of pre booking a hotel you have never visited in an area you have never been, you can be assured they are always good quality and always seem to be perfectly situated.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS_BWPT, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking time out of your day to write a great review of our hotel as well as speak so highly about the Best Western Brand! We appreciate our guests that Park n Fly with us. We try to make our guests travel plans run as seamless as possible. The less you have to worry about the better your experience will be.

Please stay with us again when in our area. We'd love to have you back!

Kellie Williams
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloela, Australia
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here for one night when travelling from Australia to Mexico. Free pickup by hotel shuttle from airport. Very friendly reception.

Had a room on the 4th floor. It looked like there was plenty of parking outside.
Hotel was within walking distance to shops and restaurants and there was also a petrol station close by. Room had 2 double beds, flat screen TV, decent sized bathroom. One really good thing that I was impressed with was that there was a sanitized TV remote - good to get away from all those people who may not wash their hands enough. Breakfast was included for the $107, but we did not have a lot of time to enjoy it as we had an early start. Breakfast was ready in the dining area just prior to 6am. I can recommend Claim Jumpers restaurant near the mall. See separate review.
I would stay at this property again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS_BWPT, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your great review of our hotel. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while traveling from Australia to Mexico. We take great pride in all the wonderful things you mentioned about our hotel cleanliness, airport shuttle and location to things to do and places to eat. We hope that when you return to our area you stay with us again.

Kellie Williams
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Conveniently located near the 10 freeway, this Best Western is very clean and well maintained. We stayed here in November last year and again October 2013. Rooms are clean with nice furniture, lobby is nice and the breakfast was great. Front office staff very personable. There were two staff persons working the breakfast so the food was kept stocked and the area was clean. Will stay here again next time we are in the area. The only thing I would suggest is to bring your own pillow unless you like to have pillows that are hard and don't flatten out or contour to your head.

Room Tip: We always request a room with no one above us and near the end of the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the loyalty to our hotel. We are sorry the pillows were too hard, some are actually really soft. Please ask us next time for a softer pillow, because we do have them. On the other hand, we are glad to hear that you found our rooms clean and that you would come stay with us again. We appreciate your honesty and look forward to your visit soon.

Make it a Great Day,

Diana Rodriguez
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We are building a new home in the Phoenix area and needed to visit with contractors and suppliers for a few days. We selected this Best Western because of its location. It is in an light industrial area so we were just expecting a place to sleep. We were very pleased to find our room to be spacious, well appointed and had comfortable beds. The check in clerk and night manager were very courteous and helpful on our Sunday check in. The free breakfast was very good with a good selection including hot waffles. We will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
First of all congratulations on your new home and good luck with that exciting process. Secondly, thank you for your review and we are happy that we pleasantly surprised you with our accommodations. The hot waffles are definitely popular and we are glad you enjoyed them. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,

Diana Rodriguez
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Convient location to freeways. AZ Mall is across the street. Restaurants, movies are very close. Even a large electronics store. Golf is a block away. Rooms clean. I have already recommended this hotel to family coming to town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we appreciate your referrals. Your referrals are our greatest compliments. We are pleased that our location met your needs and look forward to serving you and your family soon.

Sincerely,

Diana Rodriguez
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

This is such a nice place to stay. My room was spotless and very comfortable. I used the shuttle several times and the drivers were very courteous. They had a beautiful decanter of water - one day with citrus slices , the second day with cucumber slices- at the entry to the breakfast area. This was so refreshing after a busy day of meetings and shopping. The front desk personnel were helpful, and friendly. I really enjoyed staying here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the detail to your review(decanter of water). We are able to serve our guest best when we know exactly what they like and don't.

Thank you for choosing us and please stay with us again soon.

Diana Rodriguez
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Address: 5300 South Priest Drive, Tempe, AZ 85283
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Tempe
#3 Family Hotel in Tempe
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel guests will enjoy our 24/7 Sky Harbor International Airport shuttle service, Park-N-Fly rates and appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options in and around the Tempe area. Complimentary hot breakfast and Best Western Reward members will be provided USA Today newspaper daily. Won Director's Award for Quality last 4 times in a row. Housekeeping Excellence Award for the 5th time in a row!**The BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall hotel is located across from Arizona Mills Mall and centrally located for business or leisure activities in and around the Phoenix/Tempe areas.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall hotel is three miles from the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport, downtown Phoenix and is near the Arizona State University campus. This renovated interior corridor hotel, with its casual Southwestern elegance offers 158 well-appointed rooms featuring free direct connect high-speed or Wi-Fi Internet access, cable television with over 70 channels, a microwave, refrigerator in all rooms and many other amenities. A Guests can take advantage of the outdoor heated pool, whirlpool spa and exercise facilities. This BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall hotel is near the sites of major sporting events in the Phoenix/Tempe metro areas including all ASU sporting events, the Diamondbacks, and Insight Bowl and offers several and unique guest stay packages. Make an online hotel reservation today and save at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall Hotel Tempe
Best Western Tempe
Tempe Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.