We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5300 South Priest Drive, Tempe, AZ 85283   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Good hotel in great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have stayed many times at this property and once again the staff was great. Of note are the staff and the breakfast fare. The people here care and the food is better than most places elsewhere. The hotel is convenient to shopping, great restaurants and the freeway. If you are looking for interesting Mexican fast food consider El Polo Loco, which is within walking distance just down Priest Street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. We are so happy that you enjoyed our breakfast and staff. We do truly care and are glad that reflected from us, during your stay. Please visit us again soon and when you do, check out our Facebook page to see if there are other restaurants featured, that are recommended. facebook.com/bwtempe.

Sincerely,

Diana Rodriguez
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    149
    41
    5
    11
See reviews for
107
127
39
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel is located right across the street from arizona mills mall and really close to a brand new outlet mall as well...while I dont remember that being the best neighborhood when living in the phoenix area, on this trip I found it to be the perfect location. I was about 15-20 minutes from anywhere I needed to be, which in phoenix area is great! While the hotel is on the older side we found it to be very quiet and very friendly staff. When we asked to switch rooms when we first got there they didnt give us any problems whatsoever. The staff was all smiles. And you gotta love the complimentary chocolate chip cookes. YUMM. We didnt hear much noise and slept great. It wasnt really a busy season either so we basically had the dining room all to ourselves for breakfast. breakfast is also included in this hotel which is harder to find these days. Its a great breakfast at that with a variety of foods. I would definitely recommend this hotel if its in the vicinity you need to be in on your trip.

Room Tip: as all hotels, the highest floor is the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hello Shira K,

Thanks for the review. It is always nice to know that our staff is doing what they can to accommodate our guests. You are not the only one who loves our Chocolate Chip Cookies! That is just another thing we like to do for our guests and we are glad you enjoyed them. We hope to see you back soon.

Diana Rodriguez
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I've stayed a number of times at this Best Western and like it's location.....just on the outskirts of Tempe and a short drive to most anywhere you might want to go. The price is right too as it's a bit less than other hotels in the area. The hotel itself is clean along with the rooms and the staff is very friendly. The breakfast was the usual fare with cereals, breads, juices, eggs and a meat.....not what I'd call outstanding, but good enough to start your day. I did have an issue with my TV and it was resolved within a few minutes. My one complaint on this trip was their Internet connection. I'm not sure what was going on, but it seemed as though their setup could not handle the number of people trying to make a connection. Even though I was connected to the wifi, the Internet connection would come and go and finally, late in the evening, it finally seemed to stabilize. I called the front desk about it and the usual response was a suggestion to reboot my computer or disable my firewall. I even called a Tech Support line and they determined the issue was at the hotel and not with my computer. Hopefully the hotel can figure out what the issue is.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for staying with us recently. We want to apologize for the internet issues. We did get those resolved and do not anticipate to have the same issues again. Good to know you liked our location and our rooms were clean and staff was friendly. Please come and stay with us again soon.

Thanks again,
Diana Rodriguez
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Arriving late Thursday night, we were dissapointed to find out that the pool was undergoing renovations. The following morning, I shared our disappointment with the manager, Gerrard. I explained how I hated to let down the other members of my party that chose this hotel on my recommendation. He was kind and creative in finding a way for our gymnasts to swim during their weekend away from cooler Utah. Heidi, another member of the staff, personally delivered the means for us to swimm on a warm Saturday afternoon. The hotel was clean and comfortable and located conveniently near the outlet mall and just a few blocks away from a delicious, authentic Caribbean restaurant. I recommend the hotel (and the restaurant) to anyone. Thanks for saving the weekend!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hello,

The days you were with us, we had our pool under renovation and Jerrold did in fact come up with a nifty solution. We are so glad that it all worked out for you and your gymnasts. Those are the things we like to do for our guests because we really do Care.

Thank you,

Diana Rodriguez
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel was excellent , no complaints I arrive at the hotel early they pick me up let me check in early. Room was clean . The breakfast was excellent a lot of different choices. The guy at the front desk was very excellent. There was a big shopping mall across the street, a lot of stores and places to eat in walking distance, and there was bus lines in walking distance if you need to travel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
It is great to hear that we were able to accommodate your early check in. We do try our best to satisfy those requests and with advance notice it makes it easier. We are happy to know that our shuttle was helpful and our breakfast provided many choices. Please visit us again soon.

Thank you,

Diana Rodriguez
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheney, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The management of this hotel bent over backwards to help us out of a bind. Despite a flood of stranded travelers from a cancelled flight, they found us a great room at a great price. The front desk staff and the Manager never stopped until the job was done - and domne to our satisfaction.

Kudos to all for a comfortable stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We are glad to hear we were able to help you during your stay. Our staff is always glad to help and management is available as well, for your support. Please visit us again soon.

Thank you,

Diana Rodriguez
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Address: 5300 South Priest Drive, Tempe, AZ 85283
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#3 Family Hotel in Tempe
#4 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel guests will enjoy our 24/7 Sky Harbor International Airport shuttle service, Park-N-Fly rates and appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options in and around the Tempe area. Complimentary hot breakfast and Best Western Reward members will be provided USA Today newspaper daily. Won Director's Award for Quality last 4 times in a row. Housekeeping Excellence Award for the 5th time in a row!**The BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall hotel is located across from Arizona Mills Mall and centrally located for business or leisure activities in and around the Phoenix/Tempe areas.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall hotel is three miles from the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport, downtown Phoenix and is near the Arizona State University campus. This renovated interior corridor hotel, with its casual Southwestern elegance offers 158 well-appointed rooms featuring free direct connect high-speed or Wi-Fi Internet access, cable television with over 70 channels, a microwave, refrigerator in all rooms and many other amenities. A Guests can take advantage of the outdoor heated pool, whirlpool spa and exercise facilities. This BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall hotel is near the sites of major sporting events in the Phoenix/Tempe metro areas including all ASU sporting events, the Diamondbacks, and Insight Bowl and offers several and unique guest stay packages. Make an online hotel reservation today and save at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall Hotel Tempe
Best Western Tempe
Tempe Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.