We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5300 South Priest Drive, Tempe, AZ 85283   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here in January 2013 for a "girls shopping trip." Location was close to the Arizona Mills Mall, probably not walking distance. Good couple of blocks away. Hotel was average. Rooms were not overly large, but beds were super comfy. Bathroom had very large vanity. Breakfast was ok. Pool was clean and plain. Not a lot of eating choices close other than fast food. The mall does have 2 restaurants. The Rain Tree is very good, but expensive, the mexican restaurant was good and reasonably priced. Would not stay at this hotel again. The area to the south seemed very rough. We were uncomfortable walking across the street to the Circle K after dark.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your response. We are glad you thought our beds were comfy and our vanities were large. We apologize that you felt uncomfortable walking accross the street. We do have Courtesy Patrol on property in the evenings, in an effort to provide security. If you do consider visiting us again, please call me directly. Thank you again for taking the time to complete a review.

Diana Rodriguez
Assistant General Manager
480-820-7500 x 2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    187
    52
    10
    13
See reviews for
141
164
44
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my husband and my young daughter for 6 nights.. The rooms were clean and spacious. All the staff are so nice and friendly. They are very attentive and helpful. The complimentary airport shuttle is a great service, the guys will also take you over to the mall if you wish. It's a very easy 5 minute walk. There is also a nice grocery store which is an easy 20 minute walk away. Would definitely stay there again if we were to visit Tempe.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We appreciate you for writing a review and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our staff really cares about you and the experience you have with us. It is great to hear our front desk, shuttle and nearby stores contributed to your positive experience and we look forward to your future visit.

Thanks again and Make it a Great Day.

Diana Rodriguez
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel has a good location, close to Interstate 10, Baseline Road in Tempe, shopping, gas, and easy access to Phoenix and surrounding cities. The staff were friendly enough, and the food during the breakfast was well-stocked and had a nice variety....bagels, waffles, cereal, fruit, yogurt, coffee, milk and juices.

Our room air conditioning did not work, in fact, the heat came on. Even though it was January, it was very warm and stale smelling inside. The room was clean, and a nice feature of this hotel is the body wash, shampoo and conditioner dispensers in the shower, instead of the little bottles. I was only there for one night, so didn't get a chance to try the pool or the workout room.

I would probably try another place, like the Holiday Inn Express right across the street before I stayed here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. I am happy that you found our location good for your stay and our breakfast well stocked. I am very interested in finding out what difference we could have made, that would change your mind about trying another hotel, next time. Please reach out to me directly as I am always looking for an oppotunity to improve our guests' experience. You may reach me at 480-820-7500.

Diana Rodriguez
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, as a one night staycation. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and comfortable. I will be recommending the property to anyone who asks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for taking time out to write about your stay with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time here and we welcome any of your family and friends you send over. Our greatest compliments, are Your referrals. Make it a Great Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The hotel is staffed with well trained staff, friendly. The hotel itself is clean, good condition, pleasant enough. there is a very good coplimentary breakfast.
The down side is construction was done on a limited budget. There are sound transmission issues. There could be some weather strip on interior hall way doors to keep hall way sounds out of the rooms. The direct exterior doors to fire escape are used for direct access to interior corridors have very fast acting hydraulic door closers, doors slam, rooms can hear the noise! Simple upgrades would make this a better facility. Toilets are short, not at all senior friendly.

Room Tip: choose a room away from fire escapes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Best Western PLUS Tempe by the Mall, four story interior corridor Hotel with hot deluxe breakfast,two lobby business computers, hard wired and wifi room access,Best Western Member welcome bags with bottle of water,Fitness center, pool and spa with USA Today newspapoers and rated 4TH out of 47 Phoenix Hotels by Trip Advisor over the last three years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Very nice staff ran into a couple small problems and Elliott at the front desk took care of them immediately. Employee of the month just saying .. im hard to please and they made it seem like a brezze . Thanks again see you. In a week

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
We are very happy you found our hotel to be a " Good Deal"
We look forward to your return. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was so pleasantly suprised by this hotel. The staff were fantastic, Bobby, the shuttle driver was so helpful and friendly; Elliot the front desk guy was super helpful with discounts cards to local restaurants etc. My room was clean, comfortable and quiet, which was really important to me, since this vacation was entirely about rest and relaxation. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We are all excited that you enjoyed your vacation with us
We look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Address: 5300 South Priest Drive, Tempe, AZ 85283
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#3 Business Hotel in Tempe
#3 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel guests will enjoy our 24/7 Sky Harbor International Airport shuttle service, Park-N-Fly rates and appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options in and around the Tempe area. We are a Green Hotel, and received 2015 Green Key Certificate. The Green Key Eco-Rating Program is the first of its kind to rank, certify and inspect hotels and resorts in North America based on their commitment to sustainable “green” operations. Complimentary hot breakfast and Best Western Reward members will be provided USA Today newspaper daily. Won Director's Award for Quality last 4 times in a row. Housekeeping Excellence Award for the 5th time in a row!**The BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall hotel is located across from Arizona Mills Mall and centrally located for business or leisure activities in and around the Phoenix/Tempe areas.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall hotel is three miles from the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport, downtown Phoenix and is near the Arizona State University campus. This renovated interior corridor hotel, with its casual Southwestern elegance offers 157 well-appointed rooms featuring free direct connect high-speed or Wi-Fi Internet access, cable television with over 70 channels, a microwave, refrigerator in all rooms and many other amenities. A Guests can take advantage of the outdoor heated pool, whirlpool spa and exercise facilities. This BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall hotel is near the sites of major sporting events in the Phoenix/Tempe metro areas including all ASU sporting events, the Diamondbacks, and Insight Bowl and offers several and unique guest stay packages. Make an online hotel reservation today and save at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall Hotel Tempe
Best Western Tempe
Tempe Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.