We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place - But Terrible Smell” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5300 South Priest Drive, Tempe, AZ 85283   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Place - But Terrible Smell”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The staff were friendly and the breakfast area was clean, the food ample and hot.

Our room (441) and the floor in general had the nastiest of chemical smells. It's like they had carpet glue or something that was just used somewhere. It was not pleasant to breathe all night. Thankfully, we could open the window a little.

Room Tip: Before you plunk down the money your stay, go see the room and make sure the air is decent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your positive comment on our hotel.
We apologize that we were refinishing some bathtubs
during your stay and there was an offensive odor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    165
    44
    5
    11
See reviews for
122
140
43
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I was very pleased with the staff, my room and the breakfast in the morning. I even topped my oatmeal off with fresh strawberries and whipped cream. Also, the coffee was delicious! This hotel represents a great value! I am saving about $30 per night from where I usually stay by PHX and not don't feel like I'm missing a thing. I found out that they offer an airport shuttle every hour on the hour. Also, you can park your car there while you're away! I plan on taking advantage of this feature in the future. I live in Tucson and sometimes take an early AM flight out of PHX. Not worth getting up so early when you can stay at the Best Western Plus- Tempe by the Mall instead and have them drop you off at the terminal. Hotels like this are making me think of the "Best Western" brand now when I decide on hotels in other cities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Superior customer care includes keeping our hotel ultra clean for all our guests.
Thank you for recognizing that we are doing that for all our guests.
Our staff appreciates your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel exceeded my expectations. I've only stayed at a Best Western once previously and swore off the brand. However, having been sent here for work I didn't have a say in my hotel. What a pleasant surprise. The drivers and front desk staff were so polite and professional. The room itself had newer furniture and a huge tv. The wallpaper and carpet were the only things that betrayed the fact this wasn't a more upscale brand. A really great thing was a variety of pillows, I loved that.

The breakfast hot items changed daily. Every evening there were cookies. On the second floor was an area that had a small library which was a lovely touch. The exercise room didn't have a huge variety but the equipment seemed newer and served its purpose. The mall is about a 5 minute walk, but they also run the shuttle to and from.

I honestly cannot find a fault with this hotel. They have done an exceptional job there!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We are very happy that we exceeded your expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed Oct 1-3

On arrival at Sky Harbour Int’l Airport, please CALL the hotel and they’ll send a shuttle for you.

Check in was quick with Dianna (in charge) assisted by an enthusiastic Fernanda.

I was too tired to pay too much attention to what Dianna said, but recall she mentioned good eatin’ at a restaurant called ‘garcia’ in the nearby Arizona Mills Mall. I planned to visit that outlet mall on my first day in town so thought ‘great, eat there’.

And I was not disappointed. There are many places to eat in the Arizona Mills Mall and without guidance one can easily eat poorly. The food at Garcia was excellent value: quesadilla with chicken and a Dr Pepper for $12! And it was as good as Mexican food one can find in say New York City.

The hotel room is very good. There is a lap tray table so you can surf online while in bed without balancing your computer on your lap. Internet in the room is free and without the gawd awful login/password two step that most hotels require. Here you just plug in and surf away!

The room is spacious and the bed outstanding. In case you missed it: outstanding.

I have NOT slept this good in years! The bathroom is well-appointed, good water pressure and (unlike many hotels) a shoeshine sponge is available. What was lacking however are cotton buds.

Laundry is available (coin op) in the lobby.

B/fast – hard-boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, toast, bagel, cereal & juices are all good.

An internet terminal in the front lobby is available and requires your room key to activate it. I logged on, surfed and left, forgetting my key inside the slot used to fire up the terminal. I realized this only when I returned to my room a few hours later and couldn’t find my key. Luckily the plastic keys are coded and not numbered so there was little chance of theft from my room.

There is a pool at the hotel but I didn't use it, so cannot comment.

The hotel is called ‘by the mall’ but is really a good 20 min walk and in the heat that is not what I recommend. The hotel offers a free shuttle to/from the mall and to/from the airport. Note while the shuttles leave on the hour for both the mall and the airport, you MUST book them at least 30 mins ahead as the driver is also a maintenance employee of the hotel and needs to arrange his schedule.

If you have a car then getting to/from everywhere in Tempe or nearby Phoenix and Scottsdale is a piece of pie. If like me you’re like me, an e Australian (or for that matter from any Commonwealth country) you may hesitate about driving on “the wrong side of the road”. In this case you have two options: (a) cabs or (b) public transport.

With respect to cabs, note there are two main companies: APACHE and YELLOW CABS. The former being cheaper. But in both cases you must call ahead and book. They do not scour the streets looking for customers.
If you’re into public transport note that Tempe/Phoenix is huge. Think of Los Angeles. Now think bigger.

The city is aid out in a grid: with roads going north south and east west. Buses travel along the grid: i.e. north south or east west. If you want to travel across the grid then either change buses or take the Metro Light Rail. The best way to plan public transport rides is at http://www.valleymetro.org/
but note that using public transport is VERY frustrating and time consuming. Sadly buses north-south do not connect with the east-west buses in a timely manner.

I chose the hotel because of the many favourable reviews on tripadvisor. It was even mentioned as Phoenix/Tempe’s #1 hotel. In my experience it deserves recognition as outstanding good value for money. Many thanks to Diane and Shayna, both on the front desk of what surely is Tempe’s #1 hotel!

And while you’re there visit the Desert Botanical Gardens (dbg.org). By car it’s a so easy. Exit the property, turn left onto Priest Drive, drive north and never get off it. In 20 mins you’ll see a turn off for the Phoenix Zoo, do not turn right towards the Zoo instead keep driving ahead and the DBG is 2 mins away. Give yourself 2 hrs minimum there. Cost $18 plus $3.50 for the Butterfly exhibit. The latter was not worth the price of admission. There was perhaps 2 types of butterflies to see and one of them was visible outside the ‘special’ exhibit.

Please take a hat AND water. When I was there I saw one vending machine and it was out of order. I was told – as I exited – that there were a few others in working order, but I never saw them.

Memo to the management and staff of the BW Tempe By the Mall: you sure know how to run a fine hotel. And I'll be back. Count on it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for your very positive comments.
We do care about all our guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed twice at this hotel last March on our way to Tuscon, having landed late on the outward trip and needing to leave very early when we were homeward bound. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and, although it was pretty crowded at breakfast, we were able to find a table outside in quite a pleasant temperature. It is very convenient to the airport and there's a Joe's Crab Shack just a five minute walk away. I would not hesitate to stop there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for your brief stay.
We appreciate your positive comments on our location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Very nice pool and hot tub
Hot breakfast that was complimentary was excellent. Elliot at front desk was pleasant, helpful, excellent service.short ride to the airport. Would not hesitate to stay there again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind words of praise for our property and shuttle service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed at the hotel using Best Western Points. We were disappointed with the room, I fined the curtains myself since they did not work. We had a pool side room and were woke up at 2:15 am by people in the pool.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWT03144, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Our pool closes at 10PM. We are sorry that you experienced
noise after that hour.because of unathorized use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall

Address: 5300 South Priest Drive, Tempe, AZ 85283
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
#3 Business Hotel in Tempe
#3 Family Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel guests will enjoy our 24/7 Sky Harbor International Airport shuttle service, Park-N-Fly rates and appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options in and around the Tempe area. Complimentary hot breakfast and Best Western Reward members will be provided USA Today newspaper daily. Won Director's Award for Quality last 4 times in a row. Housekeeping Excellence Award for the 5th time in a row!**The BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall hotel is located across from Arizona Mills Mall and centrally located for business or leisure activities in and around the Phoenix/Tempe areas.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall hotel is three miles from the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport, downtown Phoenix and is near the Arizona State University campus. This renovated interior corridor hotel, with its casual Southwestern elegance offers 158 well-appointed rooms featuring free direct connect high-speed or Wi-Fi Internet access, cable television with over 70 channels, a microwave, refrigerator in all rooms and many other amenities. A Guests can take advantage of the outdoor heated pool, whirlpool spa and exercise facilities. This BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall hotel is near the sites of major sporting events in the Phoenix/Tempe metro areas including all ASU sporting events, the Diamondbacks, and Insight Bowl and offers several and unique guest stay packages. Make an online hotel reservation today and save at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Tempe By The Mall Hotel Tempe
Best Western Tempe
Tempe Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Tempe by the Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.