We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, attentive staff, very clean, excellent experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Tempe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Tempe to your Saves list
Aloft Tempe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   951 East Playa Del Norte Drive, (Opens April 1, 2009), Tempe, AZ 85281   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #26 of 48 Hotels in Tempe
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great, attentive staff, very clean, excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Have stayed on business trips multiple times - the staff is attentive, the rooms very clean and the beds extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    83
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
22
36
24
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, CA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

I was en route to a doo wop show in Mesa and had no idea where to stay. One friend told me to stay in Mesa and another was waxing rhapsodic about the Starwood hotel brand, so I chose the Aloft as a decently economical choice. I can best describe the hotel as austere hip. It's the apparent anchor of one of those strip malls that has a nail salon, a fast food place and (thank God) a Starbucks--not that I needed it and, despite a few reviews to the contrary, I could not hear the speaker voice at the fast food place. Everything's loft and module, from the lobby in which the XYZ Bar was sitting at the wall (great wine list) to the "coffee shop," which wasn't one but rather a Horn & Hardart (gad, that dates me) type of vending wall where you could get food (I opted for a breakfast place in Scottsdale). The "front desk" is located at one of those bank table-type--again, modules. The staff was accommodating when I was there--equally young and hip, with the feeling that they're laughing up their sleeve at whatever you're wearing. No big deal--when I couldn't find the iron (everything's located in little hidey-holes around the room--there was a space behind the bed that had the iron on a shelf). The bed was comfy, the shower was great, and most of all , it was clean and quiet. If you're easily amused or stoned, the floor of the elevator consists of panels with some liquid under them, and you can move your feet around and watch the pretty bubbles and patterns, The only problem I had was at checkout, when they seemed to charge me twice for one glass of wine (they may have thought that I was too drunk to remember having ordered a second glass). We straightented it out. If you don't mind being in the middle of nowhere--not a bad area--just nowhere--it's great. Bring your car--Mesa's around 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
362 helpful votes 362 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

Based on the reviews on this site, I stayed here for one night. Mistake! Only time TripAdvisor reviewers have ever led me astray in five years.
I've seen this "hotel" from the freeway and thought, you know, it looks pretty good. I'm a Starwood member and decided I should check out the aloft brand as the price was very reasonable. I was very, VERY disappointed. Though it is newly built, they totally cheaped out on the A/C (a loud wall unit that keeps shutting down and turning back on) and sound insulation (not nearly enough). It's on the extremely busy 202 loop (both sides of the hotel face it) and directly under the flight path to Sky Harbor Airport. Every flight in the morning woke me up. If I didn't have a lot of generic Ambien on hand, I would not have slept at all.
The room is configured well if you like to stay in bed and watch TV. Otherwise, it's just a big bed with a desk and chair. I liked the style overall, but it's only a year old, feels older and you can see it was done on a tight, tight budget.
For the price I paid, I'd recommend it if I could have gotten better sleep. I didn't so I can't.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Great location if you need to be near the airport or Arizona State. Plenty of shopping and restaurants nearby. We were finishing off a "staycation." Room we stayed in was very nice, had everything one might need for a quick stay or for several days.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

This hotel was more than any of us could have anticipated! It was just so beautiful and clean. You can tell it's a new hotel because it's very modern and has a very cool style. The pool was really nice ands there is a lot of places to sit outside and just relax.

They don't have complimentry breakfast but you can buy snacks and stuff in the lobby. The rooms were extremly well kept and the beds were comfortable.

Basically we loved it!!! It was close to everything we wanted to do and for 5 girls traveling together we felt very safe!

Stay at this hotel, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

I've been staying regularly on a weekly basis at the Aloft Tempe for several months now on business travel. I have to give Jamie and his staff kudos on their outstanding service. They really do all they can to make you feel "at home" while traveling on business. From remembering your schedule, making sure you are always hydrated in the Phoenix summer heat, nearly guaranteeing the same room every week, to even giving me a ride to the airport at 4:30am when a cab no-shows. They really go out of their way to make you feel comfortable at the hotel.

As for SPG Platinum benefits, there are no upgrades at any Aloft, however, the staff has done a great job of recognizing Platinum members and providing outstanding service.

I highly recommend this hotel to business travelers looking for good value, yet not wanting to sacrifice service and overall quality.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

I have been staying at the aLoft Tempe on a weekly basis for the past five months while on a project in Arizona. The staff here is fantastic! They are willing to do whatever they can to ensure you have an enjoyable stay and they make you feel as much at home as possible, coming to know you by name, striking up conversation, helping you with your travel plans and on an on and on. In particular, a couple of the hotel managers have been exceptionally accomodating - Jamie Metzger and Mandy Jericho. In addition to being such a close distance to ASU and downtown Tempe, it is good to know you'll be more than taken care by the people at the aLoft. I'd highly recommend for personal or business travel!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Tempe

Address: 951 East Playa Del Norte Drive, (Opens April 1, 2009), Tempe, AZ 85281
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Tempe 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located near Arizona State University and Sun Devils Stadium. Onsite, enjoy w xyz bar, free wifi, an onsite gym, and an outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Aloft Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Tempe Hotel Tempe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.