We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, beautiful and such an amazing location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Tempe

Save Saved
You added Aloft Tempe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aloft Tempe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   951 East Playa Del Norte Drive, (Opens April 1, 2009), Tempe, AZ 85281   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #17 of 46 hotels in Tempe
Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, beautiful and such an amazing location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

This hotel was more than any of us could have anticipated! It was just so beautiful and clean. You can tell it's a new hotel because it's very modern and has a very cool style. The pool was really nice ands there is a lot of places to sit outside and just relax.

They don't have complimentry breakfast but you can buy snacks and stuff in the lobby. The rooms were extremly well kept and the beds were comfortable.

Basically we loved it!!! It was close to everything we wanted to do and for 5 girls traveling together we felt very safe!

Stay at this hotel, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    68
    20
    2
    4
See reviews for
19
30
20
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

I've been staying regularly on a weekly basis at the Aloft Tempe for several months now on business travel. I have to give Jamie and his staff kudos on their outstanding service. They really do all they can to make you feel "at home" while traveling on business. From remembering your schedule, making sure you are always hydrated in the Phoenix summer heat, nearly guaranteeing the same room every week, to even giving me a ride to the airport at 4:30am when a cab no-shows. They really go out of their way to make you feel comfortable at the hotel.

As for SPG Platinum benefits, there are no upgrades at any Aloft, however, the staff has done a great job of recognizing Platinum members and providing outstanding service.

I highly recommend this hotel to business travelers looking for good value, yet not wanting to sacrifice service and overall quality.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

I have been staying at the aLoft Tempe on a weekly basis for the past five months while on a project in Arizona. The staff here is fantastic! They are willing to do whatever they can to ensure you have an enjoyable stay and they make you feel as much at home as possible, coming to know you by name, striking up conversation, helping you with your travel plans and on an on and on. In particular, a couple of the hotel managers have been exceptionally accomodating - Jamie Metzger and Mandy Jericho. In addition to being such a close distance to ASU and downtown Tempe, it is good to know you'll be more than taken care by the people at the aLoft. I'd highly recommend for personal or business travel!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

When traveling for business it's nice to have great accommodations, but it's the staff at the Aloft - Tempe that make the hotel superior. The always friendly and willing staff ensure the accommodations are ready upon arrival, as well as throughout your stay.

The in-shower Shampoo/Conditioner & Soap dispensers are recognized for being part of their superior "GREEN" initiative which I appreciate and respect. Personally it's the convenience aspect of having the amenities at your immediate disposal.

The location is near the airport, major freeways, but most importantly minutes from a Mall with a diverse selection of restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

I originally booked into the Sherator Four Points on Rural Road. It was so insanely noisy from truck traffice and a nearby train crossing, I had to relocate. And the Aloft was the hotel recommended to me. And I couldn't agree more, though also near to Rural Road, it's on a much, much, much quieter stretch of Rural Road. While the hotel is near to a freeway, the insulation in the rooms is excellent, and my room was extremely quiet in the night hours. I loved that there was a Yogurtland, a good Mexican resaurant, an In n Out, and a sub sandwich across the road. Tempe tends to be a very congested part of town and not a place you'd particularly want to stay if you're looking for quiet. But the Aloft is a great retreat, an excellent retreat in Tempe. It's very cool and hip in design, it's got a great food store within the hotel, where you can get gourmet cookies for 2 bucks, great fresh brewed coffee, wraps to go, bagels you can toast, really good. The bar in the hotel has a cool night scene with a view of the cool fountains by the pool just outside the door. Free Internet throughout with excellent Wi Fi connectivity, which was poor at the Four Points Hotel. The staff here is crazy friendly. David at the Front Desk was extermely affable, and people just liked saying hi to him. He and his colleagues exude friendliness and give the place a feeling of being home away from home. The pool scene is very cool and the photos on line are accurate. The bed are sssssssssssssuper comfy. I pulled the sheets back to find they use the same plush Sealy Posturepedic mattress I have at home. The desing of the place is Japanese minimalist in a totally cool way. They have a free business center where you can print out your boarding pass, no problem. The gym was very good and was a nice spot to work out. The shower was extra room and hot water aplenty and gotten quickly. The comforter on the bed was really comfy as well. I just really liked this place and was sorry it was not the first hotel I checked into when visiting Tempe. I would say this property is one of the two best hotel properties in all of Tempe. The whole lobby and bar are designed as a greet meeting place for people to socalize and hangout. The rooms again are probably the quietest in Tempe. I just relaly liked this place a lot and really liked all of the staff, most notably David. And by the way, they have a GREAT board room in which to hold meeting, it was excellent. Thank you Aloft, thanks David, and thanks to the rest of the staff. You are first-class, all of you. You will not be disappointed by Aloft Tempe, just check out the over 90 percent approval rating, it's not by accident.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

My buddy and I stayed here while in Phoenix - great central location for our needs of golf. Location is great - $10 cab ride to MIll Avenue and less than $20 to Fashion Square Mall (had to pick up gifts for our wives!!)

The lobby/bar is pretty cool and gets a good mix of travellers and people from the condos next door.

You can get your fix with an IN and Out Burger right across the street and you're early morning coffee from Starbucks.

I love the room set up - more than enough room for us and it was exceptionally clean.

Overall, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

Stayed for three nights at the Aloft Tempe between Christmas and New Years. Convinced that we were one of three guests in the entire hotel due to ASU being out and the hotel catering primarily (so we were told) to business travelers. While it was odd to rarely come into contact with anyone other than the friendly guy at the front desk, it resulted in a peaceful, quiet place where the only sound we heard was the late night scene at the burger place across the street on Saturday night. This probably can be avoided by asking for a room not facing the entrance. Wished for a paper to be delivered in the morning and for better quality in-room coffee, but this isn't a Westin or a W after all (and considering it was only 7500 for a free night, I'll be happy to forego those amenities). Don't miss the frozen yogurt place across the street!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Tempe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Tempe

Address: 951 East Playa Del Norte Drive, (Opens April 1, 2009), Tempe, AZ 85281
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Tempe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Tempe 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located near Arizona State University and Sun Devils Stadium. Onsite, enjoy w xyz bar, free wifi, an onsite gym, and an outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Aloft Tempe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Tempe Hotel Tempe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Tempe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.